We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strategic location, clean and luxurious, and very competent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Topaz Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanoi Topaz Hotel
Ranked #464 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Strategic location, clean and luxurious, and very competent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

No question about it: if you're tired of the expensive backpacker-style hotels and want a fair priced luxurious hotel smack in the middle of Hanoi's heart, look no further.

The rooms of this hotel are beautiful, clean and roomy, and have their own computer (and fast internet). The bathrooms were a breath of fresh air after some of the scruffy ones we encountered during our trip!

The trip they offer to Halong Bay was great, and considering the many rip-off tours that we heard about, we were glad we booked through the hotel. The staff was even able to adjust our reservation to suit the tour, so we could go for the two day variant. I suppose you might save a dollar or two finding your own tour agent, but with all the horror stories we heard, I'd definitely suggest the hotel's own tours!

A special tip of the hat goes to the excellent staff. They were competent, friendly and very helpful in advising us in trips, food, prices, local customs and where to go in Hanoi. They were very professional about all things concerning our stay, and very down to earth and amicable when we were just chatting.

I didn't even mention the personalized reservation confirmation (containing helpful instructions and example prices for how to get to the hotel), the nice breakfast, the fact that everybody speaks English very well, the awesome room upgrade after we returned from our tour, the fact that the heart of Hanoi is a 10 second walk away... and the funky elevator jingle.

This hotel is clearly trying to establish a good reputation for the long run. If the room price is anywhere near your budget, stop looking, book a room and enjoy Hanoi!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rule1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
41
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

The most friendly and kind people we have encountered during our Vietnam stay. They went above and beyond to help us and make our stay as easy and relaxed as possible. Kevin was a kind man and took us out for dinner in Hanoi to a beautiful restaurant and treated us to some beautiful food. We were a little sad when leaving and to finish off our stay with them we were assisted by two of there staff to the train station and all the way into our train carriage. I would stay with them every time I went to Hanoi. Thank you.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel is small but meets all our requirement! The rooms for all of us (7 in the group) are located in the same floor (only 3 rooms per floor anyway) & we are close to each other with no disturbance from other guests. My children & my nephew were so happy coz there are computers in each room with wifi access. Even my room is equipped with DVD player. Room amenities are good & complete. Breakfast - small restaurant & not many choices but we are happy with the choices available i.e. omelette, toast & fruits especially for us Muslim. The staff are very helpful - from the day I made my 1st inquiry via email (Jonny attended to all my subsequent emails until my confirmation of booking/tour at Halong Bay) till my arrival time, he's there with Bella welcoming my family & I, patiently attending to our every needs & inquiries.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akuamarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel is a real gem. Right in the heart of the old quarter it is close to everything that needs to be seen in and around Hanoi. The staff and service were exceptional, they remembered our names, took an interest in what we were doing each day and would fulfil any request that we made when shopping, looking for restaurants and tours to do. The front desk staff are wonderful, even with difficult tourists and we found that nothing was too much bother. This is a "boutique " hotel by Hanoi standards but leave your western images at home. It is small and comfortable but not high end. However, it is very clean, is well maintained and they supply extras which make your stay a memorable one. The price cannot be beaten in terms of the value you will get. We loved our 5 day stay.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room on the street, it is pretty to watch and double glazing means the outside no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDayMateAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenslopes Q
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

From the moment I sent my first email to this hotel I was impressed by the professionalism and the obvious attention to detail in their service. Every email was answered and nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived we were once again stunned by the friendliness and amazing service. Bella, Sophia and the boys attended to our every need. We stayed on level 5 in the family room which was perfect for our family of 4. Nothing was too much for them. They organized our trip to Halong Bay which all went perfectly. They even sent staff with us too the train (which they booked for us) to load our bags into our cabin. As first timers in Vietnam our stay in Hanoi could not have been better thanks to the staff at Hanoi Topaz. Thank you!!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MirandaJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I had a short and packed stay with Hanoi Topaz in April where my packaged included a Hanoi City Tour + accomodations + airport transfers. Requests were attended to promptly by reservations and everything was planned accordingly from our arrival till our departure. Receptionist are very attentive and friendly, one even went all the way to get my father lily bulbs from her hometown. Another point out the places on the map and where to find what. It was much simpler from then. The bellboy also showed us to a Pho bo shop not far which was very delicious we went back again before we left! Overall, the hotel was worth the money spent, and it was situated in a MUCH quiter side of Old Quarter. There is no gurantee it will be entirely quite though! My parents and I had a great experience, we would definitely be back to this hotel if we would visit Hanoi again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M. Vanessa Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel has changed its name,it makes things a bit confusing when the taxi driver pulls up in front of the hotel and starts getting your bags out of the car.
The management and staff were very helpful,the room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast not a lot to choose from but quite good.
The hotel is in the Old Quarter of Hanoi,a short walk to the lake area and the centre of Hanoi,a number of markets and restaurant and things to do.
When getting a taxi,before you get in check the price,some will try and rip you off.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionelfargher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Golden Palace Hotel
Golden Palace Hotel
#39 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#110 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icon 36 Hotel & Residence
Icon 36 Hotel & Residence
#200 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#58 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milton Boutique Hotel
Milton Boutique Hotel
#114 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Topaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Topaz Hotel

Property: Hanoi Topaz Hotel
Address: 96 Lo Su Str, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Asia Pearl Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #464 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter, just few minutes’ walk away from Hoan Kiem lake, the newly Topaz Hotel Hanoi is an intimate Oriental – style, luxury boutique hotel, featuring a magnificent Asian decor and accommodations. The hotel offers luxury boutique interiors, personalized hospitality and incomparable value money for both leisure and business travellers. Set in a quiet street of Hanoi Old Quarter, Topaz Hotel Hanoi is surrounded by many restaurants, bar, shopping malls and markets. It is the ideal starting point to explore Hanoi ancient capital. All of 36 rooms and mini - suites at our luxury boutique hotel offer you functional design, latest update facilities and highest comfort. At the Topaz Hotel Hanoi, our accolades center from our stand out personalized service that comes from having an exceptionally friendly staff, supreme comfort, and dedication to privacy and hospitality that makes us outshine ordinary Hanoi boutique hotels. Our exceptional staff and generous wealth of complimentary amenities are the reason so many of our guests say the Topaz Hotel Hanoi offers the ultimate travel experience for those looking for a luxury boutique hotel in Hanoi Old Quarter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing