We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Legend Hotel
Ranked #39 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful and friendly!”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We arrived in Hanoi as our first city in Vietnam. It was absolutely a culture shock and we were so wary after seeing the massive amount of people on the crowded small streets and the crazy driving and beeping. I think the hotel people could tell we were a little surprised and they were really helpful the entire time. We stayed for 4 nights and the room was very very basic but clean and central. It really is a great location because you were close to a lot of stores and food and could walk to anything. It is also close to the lake. Hanoi is such a smoky city and more dirty than I expected. There is a computer in the room which made it very convenient.

The staff was the best we have encountered on our trip. They are super nice. They went with us to get a sim card and showed us good places to eat. This place is definitely worth staying at and they truly helped us to get comfortable. When I arrived in Hanoi, I wanted to leave. By the end of my stay when it was time to leave, I didn't want to go and I miss it now. Breakfast was good too. They make it fresh for you. It's not a five star property and if you want luxurious rooms, you should probably look elsewhere. 5 star service here though. Thanks for taking care of us!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tx412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    135
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
203
403
55
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed in rooms 701and 702 for 2 nights before Halong Bay and 1 night afterward. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, so the set up was perfect. Price was $100 nett total per night. Communication with Mrs. Hue was prompt from the very beginning.

The staff makes this hotel. They are all unfailingly friendly and professional. And all love little kids! Beyond that, Mr. Hung actually walked with us to a nearby stamp shop so he could explain what we wanted done (we wanted to by 10 stamps engraved with my son's friends' names on them). And he picked them up for us the next day!

Location was on a smaller street close to the cathedral, so we actually didnt venture too much to the northern part of the lake. We walked around the western part of the lake...the streets we walked on had lots of silk shops, galleries, and praying accoutrements.

The room is as expected for this hotel level. Everything is clean and works. My biggest gripe is some of their towels barely dry you off at all! As we are on the 7th floor, we could also hear tables from the breakfast area being moved around in the morning, as well the staff talking to each other.

Breakfast room in on the 9th floor and fits 4-5 tables. It doesn't look like much, but we feel like we get a good breakfast everyday. baguettes, croissants, toasts, 5 kinds of fruit, ham, butter and cheese are on the buffet table. You can also order hot food such as eggs, pho, rice rolls, pancakes as well as juice. So overall, a satisfying start of the day.

Airport transfer was at $18 one way, contracted to an outside driver. But everything went smoothly.

There is nothing that would stop me from recommending a stay in this hotel. But Hanoi is filled with these mini hotels. And should I visit Hanoi again, I might try a different hotel just to try!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel is a gem, the staff are well trained and very helpful, the hotel is in prime location in the old quarter in a quiet side street. Walking distance to the the lake which is the hub of tourism, the cathedral and many shops and restaurants nearby. I went with my parents who where also very happy. Mrs Hue organised our Halong Bay 2 night boat cruise for us which was perfect for our taste and arranged the dates over a public holiday so we where in Hanoi when the shops where open, Perfect as we only had 3 nights. This hotel very clean, they organise airport pick up and I even got a lift of the back of a motorbike from the staff to the market which was great fun,The breakfast menu is simple and very tasty, Vietnamese or western, lots of fruit on offer.it is a small hotel and I highly recommend it for any travelers wanting to experience the old quarter. Great experience and will stay there again Thankyou Mrs Hue and staff!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aab70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed 1 night in a superior room in December prior to going to haloing bay and sapa. We chose this hotel based on the reviews on TA and can say that this hotel is as fabulous as others have mentioned. The service is second to none - hotel helped us book our train tickets to sapa, gave us a room to shower in when we got back from halong bay before having to catch our night train to sapa. The breakfast was generous and the best we had in Vietnam. The selection of fruit was awesome and included fresh dragon fruit, lychees, mangoes, pineapple, etc. The room was very comfortable with lots of natural light. We wish we had an extra night to spend in Hanoi just so we could stay at this hotel again! We will definitely be recommending this hotel to our friends and family and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMksWorkWorthIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The hotel itself is what you would expect from a three star hotel, basic but clean and comfortable. However, what really makes this place stand out is the staff. All, not just the front desk, are extremely friendly and actively go out of their way to make sure that your stay is one to remember. It's not unusual to find one person who stands out, but at the Legend all of them have a bit of spark to them.

The room is sizable and very clean. Apart from the first night, the rooms were pretty quiet however if your neighbors want to party, you may as well go join them as it sounds as though they are in your room anyway.

For a first timer into Hanoi, the location was great - close but not too close to the full on Hanoi.

For the price, location and overall service this place would be difficult to beat.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be pretty much the same, only two per floor so one is very much like the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Honeymoon suite. The room was big and spacious. There was a new bathtub in the bathroom and a blowdryer. When we arrived the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Our tour company had called them earlier in the day to make arrangements for picking us up in the morning and they had all the information ready for us. For an additional $17USD they picked us up from the airport. They also arranged a car to take us back to the airport when we arrived back in Hanoi 3 days later. They also told us there was a new rate for our room which ended up saving us $10USD off the regular price. The room also had it's own computer and internet, a honeymoon cake, fresh fruit and a bottle of a local red wine. Across the street was an excellent traditional Vietnamese restaurant which was very nice and had a beautiful atmosphere; it was called Madame Hien. The location of the hotel was good, right around the corner from the church and close to all the shopping. We only stayed for one night but we would stay there again the future.

Room Tip: Stay in the honeymoon suite for some added perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The name of this Hotel is called the 'Golden Moment Hotel' It is a basic 3 star hotel,
The rooms have all things expected of a s star. Yes there are better hotels to stay but not in the areas you really want to stay in.

The breakfast and meals area is on the top floor, and at first look, We where a bit concerned that it was very small, old, and not well maintained. There is not enough room if every quest had breakfast at the same time. Saying this it was quite nice being forced to share tables with other quest and shareing travel stories! No one has there breakfast all at the sametime anyway. The meals served where very good and cooked and prepaired fresh daily.

The staff here are the most friendly and funny we encounted on our 22 day holiday, always a pleasure to see them and joke around with them after the days sight seeing. Could not help us enough with anything asked of them, This is why I would stay here again if ever we are in Hanoi again.

Night market 5-10 minute walk, walk in any direction you are in the old narrow streets of the old Quarter, Just amazing on how good this area is! Have fun getting lost walking around here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripmanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Legend Diamond Hotel & Travel
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#19 of 592 in Hanoi
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
#57 of 592 in Hanoi
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#52 of 592 in Hanoi
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#25 of 592 in Hanoi
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Legend Hotel

Property: Golden Legend Hotel
Address: 10 Chan Cam Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Legend Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the wider, but nevertheless calmer streets in Hanoi’s Old Quarter, Hanoi Golden Legend is located at the heart of this mysterious and beautiful city. Perfectly designed in each detail of architecture, guests will feel like staying at a very special place. All the rooms in the hotel face the front street and are equipped with large European windows which make the rooms particularly bright and airy. From the lobby to the 9th floor where the restaurant serves breakfast, it offers panoramic views of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing