We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Legend Hotel
Ranked #48 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel 3 times over the space of 2 weeks and found the staff exceptional every time. As 2 couples travelling together we were in rooms adjacent to each other (there are only 2 rooms per level). The hotel is in a great location in a very quiet street in the Old Quarter in Hanoi and everything is within walking distance. We had arranged for pick-up at the airport and were given this free on our final return as we had stayed longer than 3 nights in total. The rooms were clean and a reasonable size with free water and snacks. Breakfast was on the 9th floor overlooking the street and included a great buffet of fruit, yoghurt, crispy baguettes and cooked eggs, pho or other Vietnamese specialities. Ask for fresh juices as the mango one was amazing.
The highlight, however, was the wonderful staff. They were ready with suggestions, very helpful, looked after our bags when we went to Halong Bay (even taking a bag of dirty washing I had inadvertently carried out of the hotel and ensuring that it was clean and pressed in our room on our return) and extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Lift goes to the 8th floor then you must walk up the stairs to the breakfast room. Quieter rooms nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    132
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
186
385
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights (deluxe room), with a 2 days tour to Halong Bay in between. Since our very first e-mail contact for the booking process, Mrs. Hue had always kind, accurate and efficient answers for all my questions (and I asked a lot of then).
Beside the hotel accomodation itself, which was split in 2 parts, she managed to arrange our airport pick up (what was very convenient regarding Hanoi Airport taxi touts) and our 2 days tour to Halong Bay at a boat of our choice (Dragon’s Pearl), both at reasonable prices.
The hotel is not big at all: it is a 9 storeys building (with elevator), but has only 2 rooms each floor, all of then with windows facing the street. The room was tidy and able to accomodate 3 people (a couple and a child) comfortably. Breakfast is amazingly delicious and varied and they also provide daily complimentary tea, coffee, water and delicious fruit snacks in the room.
The hotel is a short walk from the Hoan Kiem Lake (were there are a lot of restaurants, the water puppets theather and a very good “gellateria” at the lake’s southwestern corner). It is also at walking distance from the train station, but it is worth paying 1 USD for a taxi ride if you have a load of bags. And regarding taxi drivers, we experienced no problems at all for rides within the city, but you should exercise extra care when taking one at the airport.
Especially considering we were traveling with a young child, I have to say that I was affraid that things could go wrong during our stay in Hanoi, regarding the somehow bad reputation of the city’s travels agents, hotels and taxi touts, but, thanks to Mrs. Hue and her staff, all happened according to planned. Even while we were out for Halong Bay, they kept our bags safety in the hotel’s luggage room, so we could take to the side trip only what was really needed, saving us from extra load.
In another words: perfect location (in a quiet street in the heart of the Old Town), an excelent breakfast (buffet + “a la carte”) with tasteful vietnamese and western food, a confortable room (with aircon, heater and cooler, big flatscreen TV, private PC with internet access and a spacious bathroom with good hot shower) and an extremely kind, helpful, friendly, skilful English speaking staff definitely eased our stay in bustling Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uprightM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our family of 5 stayed for 4 nights late January 2012. We stayed in 2 x rooms, total of $110 per night. We booked on line, and wrote many e-mails to the staff, which wrote back to every one efficiently. I bargained on-line and received free pickup from the airport. The location is in the heart of Old-quarter, walking distance from most attractions. The only taxi ride was to the mausoleum which was $3. The rooms where a good size and we booked rooms with a connecting door. The breakfast was on the top floor, however there is only 4 x tables, but 2 x staff who are efficient with cooking your order (breakfast incl). You could order all eggs, squeezed juices and pancakes. The highlight were the staff, nothing was an issue, any requests were completed immediately. The only issue was the toilet, if you used too much toilet paper it would block the toilet. The hotel has a computer inside the room, also has wi-fi. The room also comes with complimentry basket of packet snacks and water. There is only 2 rooms per floor which is a bonus for families and less noise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzaAlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I agree with all the positive things that have already been said about this hotel. I am sure there are numerous other places in Hanoi that offer a brilliant service but when you book and stay at this hotel, you can be 100% certain it will be a purely positive experience. Location is ideal, beds comfortable, rooms scrupulously clean, decor lovely, free wifi and pc in room, snacks and drinks always on supply, wonderful bathrooms, quiet rooms, lift service to all floors (except single flight to restaurant) and breakfast served in the restaurant with smiles, great service and nice choice of fresh food.

The really outstanding thing about the Golden Sun Legend is the staff who look after you at reception, they are charming, willing to go completely out of their way to make you comfortable and as efficient as any reception staff I have seen anywhere in the world. It always felt like coming home when we walked through the doors.

I would also highly recommend making any tour bookings direct with the hotel. They can give you excellent advice on the best treks in Sapa (with really outstanding local guides), best boats to take in Halong Bay (giving you the best choices in each price range) and any other tours you may be interested in when vising north Vietnam. Note - a staff member accompanied us to the train station for the overnight trip to Sapa, obtained our train tickets for us, carried our bags to the train and put us in the right compartments for the night.
Service!

I would not look to stay anywhere else when in Hanoi - they have it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms during our stays and all were perfect. My travelling companions also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenofpuddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Excellent little hotel in the perfect location, walking distance from everywhere. Staff were very friendly and helpful, organising all our tours around our needs with no hassle. Rooms were clean and comfortable with wifi and computers in each room. They even took us to the train station and right into our cabins on the reunification express when we left! Great value for money.

Special thanks to Mrs Hue and all her staff.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offshore-tiger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Booked the hotel just for a sleep over with no high expectations, but it turned out to be a gem of a place. Don't remember paying that little for a hotel room, especially for such a hotel room! The service was impeccable. Everyone was very helpful. The room was clean and had fresh flowers on arrival. The breakfast was hearty with both Western and Vietnamese food available. The location is also very convenient next to all the main sights. To tell the truth I was expecting to get a well deserved much higher bill, but it was the advertised rate in the end. If you are looking for a place to stay in Hanoi, look no longer, it is THE hotel you are looking for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DashaNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth western australia
Level Contributor
414 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We researched our hotels carefully on trip advisor and picked a winner with the Golden Sun Legend.From the minute we made contact with Ms Hue with our travel arrangements it went like clockwork.She had suggestions of tours to take and how many days we would need for each.The hotel collected us from the airport for $25US in a large van seating 16 and took us the 1 hour trip to the hotel.It is a small and unassuming property in the French Quarter 5 minutes from the lake and shopping.Our rooms were made available to us at 9am and were $50US a night.We had rooms with a connecting door with our teenage children 17 and 14..Clean,well appointed and all that we had expected.The beds were extremely comfortable and huge with 2 pillows each(I like 2 pillows)The reason I have given this hotel a five star rating is for the service from the staff.Nothing was too much trouble for them and we were always greeted with a smile and 5 star service.The rooms came with your own computer and free internet,toiletries,fresh flowers daily,fresh linen and towels,free water daily,snacks,safe,International TV chanels,free breakfast upstairs and loads of information,maps and tours to be taken through the hotel.We booked a trip to Sapa on the train and everything ran like clockwork.They allowed us to leave luggage with them for all the smaller side trips that we made.Id advise you to book tours through the hotel as they are competative and you will have the knowledge that nothing will go wrong.The hotel is in the tourist section of Hanoi and everything is at your doorstep.We walked the whole of Hanoi taking in all the sights and things to do from our doorstep.I could not rate this hotel highly enough and we used it as a base as we did tours and returned to the hotel.It felt like home.Tours were reasonably priced and very proffesionally run.I wouldnt bother looking for another hotel to stay in if we returned to Hanoi as Im sure we would be dissappointed with anything less.Thankyou to Ms Hue and all the staff for the Christmas gifts of wine and fruit and know that the stay in your hotel was one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms from level 4 upwards as there is less traffic noise in the higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caddyandbellA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Legend Diamond Hotel & Travel
0.0 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#54 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
#51 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#53 of 579 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#49 of 579 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Legend Hotel

Property: Golden Legend Hotel
Address: 10 Chan Cam Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 579 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Legend Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the wider, but nevertheless calmer streets in Hanoi’s Old Quarter, Hanoi Golden Legend is located at the heart of this mysterious and beautiful city. Perfectly designed in each detail of architecture, guests will feel like staying at a very special place. All the rooms in the hotel face the front street and are equipped with large European windows which make the rooms particularly bright and airy. From the lobby to the 9th floor where the restaurant serves breakfast, it offers panoramic views of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing