We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Legend Hotel
Ranked #33 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Staying here is like being home only all the chores are taken care of for you. The rooms are clean with many personal touches. The breakfast buffet was tasty and varied. The staff was outstanding. There seemed to be no task too small or large for them to take on from helping with laundry, printing vouchers,booking boat tours, facilitating phone calls and Internet in the room, booking taxis and storing luggage. This is a terrific hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 16kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

This little hotel is in a perfect location in the Old Quarter close to many shops and great restaurants. It is clean and quiet and the staff and SO helpful and kind. They give you a great little map of the area which we used instead of our Lonely Planet map and got around great. The breakfast is simple, but good and we really enjoyed our 4 night stay. Mrs. Hue and her staff are very welcoming and helpful in every way. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlaschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent 10 nights in Hanoi in Feb. It was our first time in Vietnam. Hanoi is chaotic and it can be difficult to communicate with locals when we don't know Vietnamese.

This hotel has made our stay in Hanoi unforgettable. Good location. Fantastic room. 6 stars customer service. Great breakfast.

They helped us for the tours to Ha Long Bay and Sapa. I truly believe that in our case, without their help, our experience to both places are likely to go very wrong.

We also tried the street barber right outside the hotel. Good skills and cheap.

This could easily be one of the best hotel experience for us. We will highly recommend anyone to stay here if you are visiting Hanoi.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed 11 days at this hotel and recommend it highly. The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The room was nicely laid out, alot of light, and kept impeccably. The computer in the room was a real treat. Breakfast offered both Western and Vietnamese options, (I recommend the Vietnamese), was filling, and had as much local fruit as one could eat. The location couldn't be better, at the southern end of the old quarter, on an amazingly quiet side street, yet a short 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and restaurants/shops.
I will be back here. The only complaint is there is little sound proofing between the other room on the floor, (there are only 2 rooms to a floor), so when people were loud and coming in late or crying baby, it woke me up. This was generally ok unless one is noise sensitive and happens to get loud people next door.
Diane

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A quick story, we were staying here over Tet, Vietnamese New Year, and lots of the restaurants were closed and we left it too late for dinner one night and we REALLY wanted Pho but everywhere was shut. We asked "Ha" the front desk guy where we could go, he said it would be very hard to find an open place, so instead he suggested we go up to the room and he would send a member of staff to find the Pho for us. 45 minutes later we were enjoying a beautifully presented, delicious, hot bowl of Pho. The next day "Ha" apologized that they couldn't find a better or cheaper Pho, he was apologizing for providing an amazing service because he felt like they could have done better. That is how good the customer service is here.

The room is very nice, it alone is worth every penny they charge. It's really useful having a computer in the room to use the internet. The services they provide, like airport transfers, booking trains, boats, cars, etc., also really helpful but what really makes the Golden Sun Legend is the legend behind the front desk.

The location is great, right in the heart of the French quarter. We've been back 3 times, we look forward to it every time.

I've said enough, stay here and you'll agree.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshua g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel 3 times over the space of 2 weeks and found the staff exceptional every time. As 2 couples travelling together we were in rooms adjacent to each other (there are only 2 rooms per level). The hotel is in a great location in a very quiet street in the Old Quarter in Hanoi and everything is within walking distance. We had arranged for pick-up at the airport and were given this free on our final return as we had stayed longer than 3 nights in total. The rooms were clean and a reasonable size with free water and snacks. Breakfast was on the 9th floor overlooking the street and included a great buffet of fruit, yoghurt, crispy baguettes and cooked eggs, pho or other Vietnamese specialities. Ask for fresh juices as the mango one was amazing.
The highlight, however, was the wonderful staff. They were ready with suggestions, very helpful, looked after our bags when we went to Halong Bay (even taking a bag of dirty washing I had inadvertently carried out of the hotel and ensuring that it was clean and pressed in our room on our return) and extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Lift goes to the 8th floor then you must walk up the stairs to the breakfast room. Quieter rooms nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights (deluxe room), with a 2 days tour to Halong Bay in between. Since our very first e-mail contact for the booking process, Mrs. Hue had always kind, accurate and efficient answers for all my questions (and I asked a lot of then).
Beside the hotel accomodation itself, which was split in 2 parts, she managed to arrange our airport pick up (what was very convenient regarding Hanoi Airport taxi touts) and our 2 days tour to Halong Bay at a boat of our choice (Dragon’s Pearl), both at reasonable prices.
The hotel is not big at all: it is a 9 storeys building (with elevator), but has only 2 rooms each floor, all of then with windows facing the street. The room was tidy and able to accomodate 3 people (a couple and a child) comfortably. Breakfast is amazingly delicious and varied and they also provide daily complimentary tea, coffee, water and delicious fruit snacks in the room.
The hotel is a short walk from the Hoan Kiem Lake (were there are a lot of restaurants, the water puppets theather and a very good “gellateria” at the lake’s southwestern corner). It is also at walking distance from the train station, but it is worth paying 1 USD for a taxi ride if you have a load of bags. And regarding taxi drivers, we experienced no problems at all for rides within the city, but you should exercise extra care when taking one at the airport.
Especially considering we were traveling with a young child, I have to say that I was affraid that things could go wrong during our stay in Hanoi, regarding the somehow bad reputation of the city’s travels agents, hotels and taxi touts, but, thanks to Mrs. Hue and her staff, all happened according to planned. Even while we were out for Halong Bay, they kept our bags safety in the hotel’s luggage room, so we could take to the side trip only what was really needed, saving us from extra load.
In another words: perfect location (in a quiet street in the heart of the Old Town), an excelent breakfast (buffet + “a la carte”) with tasteful vietnamese and western food, a confortable room (with aircon, heater and cooler, big flatscreen TV, private PC with internet access and a spacious bathroom with good hot shower) and an extremely kind, helpful, friendly, skilful English speaking staff definitely eased our stay in bustling Hanoi.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uprightM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0 mi away
Golden Legend Diamond Hotel & Travel
0.3 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#16 of 599 in Hanoi
939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Legend Hotel

Address: 10 Chan Cam Street, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £31 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Legend Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the wider, but nevertheless calmer streets in Hanoi’s Old Quarter, Hanoi Golden Legend is located at the heart of this mysterious and beautiful city. Perfectly designed in each detail of architecture, guests will feel like staying at a very special place. All the rooms in the hotel face the front street and are equipped with large European windows which make the rooms particularly bright and airy. From the lobby to the 9th floor where the restaurant serves breakfast, it offers panoramic views of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing