We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Legend Hotel
Ranked #36 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Good location, friendly staff and good value for money. The breakfast was decent and there was a computer in the room

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2010

My first stop on my first visit to Hanoi, and I couldn't have chosen better.
Golden Sun 4 is in a (relatively) quiet street in the old quarter and central to everything.
The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, the staff are incredibly helpful, the Pho for breakfast (and the chocolate pancakes) are fantastic – what more could anyone want.
Best of all, the front desk staff assisted and advised in booking tours to Halong bay, accommodation in other parts of the country, even finding alternative accommodation in Hanoi when our plans changed and they couldn't fit us in.
Although I couldn't speak Vietnamese, communications wasn't an issue as we were made to feel at home and every effort was made to meet our needs.
A tip for Hanoi hotels – if you are considering staying in a hotel that is one of a group (ie there are four Golden Suns) then remember that each time they build a new one, it is better that the last.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I was skeptical; I really was. How can any hotel have nothing but 4 and 5 level ratings? There must be something going on here...

And there is. The Golden Sun 4 is a great, quiet, boutique hotel and the service is out of this world. Credit the manager, Mrs. Hue. She helped me with all sorts of things, such as where to eat and where to buy various supplies. Then I hit her with a hard one: I need to get to the Belarusian embasssy. How do I do it?

No problem I gave her the address (she volunteered to look it up on the internet, but I already had it) and she had a taxi there and wrote a note in Vietnamese as to where to go. Everything worked like clockwork.

The room was very quiet. In fact, this hotel could be used by those who need a couple of days to get over major jet lag caused by travel across 10-12 time zones. There was a problem at first with the internet, but they got it fixed and it was quite fast. BTW, Mrs Hue is internet capable and answers emails promptly. Her English is quite good. The other members of the staff are cordial and efficient as well.

The area around the hotel is a bit bohemian, but I felt safe and there are lots of little shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again. The breakfast was great as well, though the dining area is small and there could be a wait. I had no wait, though.

Over the years I've noticed an increase in the quality of service in tourist areas of Vietnam. This was my first stay at the Golden Sun 4 and it was one of the nicest hotel experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesquite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at the Golden Sun4 at the beginning of our two week trip to Vietnam. What a way to start the trip. The staff at the Golden Sun4 was the best in all of our stay in Vietnam. They took care of us just like family..from the airport pick up and drop off to arranging our trips to Halong Bay and Sapa. They were incredible. Special thanks to Mrs. Hue and Mr. Ha for their assistance-they were amazing. Another TA review mentioned their Sapa experience and we went through the same thing-brought us directly to the train station, carried our bags on the car and when we returned at 5:00am, the bellboy was waiting for us outside our car to take us back to the hotel. Car fair was not extra!! Then he woke the staff up and gave us a room to sleep and shower, no charge!! Our family wouldn't do that!!! The location was perfect and breakfast was great!! I would definitely stay there again when I return to Hanoi and would recommend it highly to anyone else. No better place especially for the price!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalindlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We stayed in this hotel with 3 young children and had the interconnecting rooms on the 7th floor. This hotel was a great value for money and also included breakfast. We did have a couple of problems with the safe and it was fixed in a matter of 10 minutes. Would totally recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want to pay too much and wants something clean and basic. The location was fantastic, it was just away from the main area so not so noisy but still within walking distance to everything. Mrs Hue on the front desk was fantastic and nothing was a hassle for any of the staff, they recommended where to eat and what to see. Would definately stay here again.....

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keentraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We booked in for three nights after reading the trip advisor reviews. There were so many hotels to choose from it was quite overwhelming. We are so glad we chose this hotel though – we had an excellent stay.

The room was clean and a good size with all the facilities you’d expect (comfy beds, bathroom stocked with all the amenities, fridge, free water, air con, TV etc) as well as some complimentary snacks which were nice.

The best part of the hotel is the staff. They could not do enough for us. We wanted to book a trip to Sapa for two nights and therefore needed a hotel and a return ticket on the overnight train, and we also wanted to book a two day one night trip to Halong bay. We went with the hotels recommendations on the overnight train and the Halong Bay Boat (Indochina Junk – Red Dragon 2 – brilliant boat). Other guests we met had asked the hotel to book their trips before they arrived in Hanoi.

The Sapa train was great but the best bit, as became a feature with the hotel, was the service from Golden Sun. Hanoi station is a bit chaotic but a member of staff came with us in our taxi, collected our “small tickets” (you’ll find out about them!) and walked us straight to our carriage - sounds simple but there were 8 platforms with trains on, bad signs and our carriage was one of about 15. When we got off the train in Hanoi on the return trip (slightly groggy at 5am), who is there to meet us the moment we step off but the same hotel bellboy and he took us in a taxi straight back to the hotel. [It still gets better] When we arrived back at the hotel we were happy to pay for an extra night just to finish our night’s sleep but they wouldn’t hear of it. The one free room was quickly made up by the night porter (some people had just checked out) and we were told to sleep as long as we wished and then let them know when we took breakfast so that they could prepare it fully for us. We loved the service but were slightly concerned that the ‘extras’ would appear on our bill or that we had overpaid for the train journey. Nothing was charged for any of the above (including taxi fares) and we paid less than the other two groups we spoke to on the train. Brilliant! On our Vietnam trip we have stayed in various classes of hotels from 3-5* and the service we received here was second to none and genuinely deserves this lengthy and positive review. These guys and the Excellence hotel chain seem to be battling for tripadvisor supremacy and it seems the way they are doing so is by offering service that other bigger hotels simply cannot offer. Pleasingly, unlike some other places, we were never asked to recommend the hotel on tripadvisor or any other website but we were almost desperate to do so!

We had left booking our halong bay trip to the last minute and the day before we asked the hotel for a recommendation, first telling them what we were looking for. The trip they suggested was absolutely spot-on for us and the price we paid was actually a little bit less than the others on the boat. When we returned from Halong bay we had not booked a room and the hotel were full. The hotel sorted us a room at their sister hotel, Golden Sun Hotel 2 (equally nice) and 3 members of staff even walked us to the hotel (just round the corner) with all our luggage!! They could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. stayed for three nights after our halong bay trip and service continued in the same excellent vein.

Rooms at the hotel are a good size, lots of international TV channels, well priced minibar, computer in every room (in GS4, laptops available f.o.c. in GS2) and a decent breakfast (buffet in 2, to order in 4 – I think 4 was slightly better).

All in all this hotel (at the time ranked 7th in Hanoi) promised a lot from the reviews but still over-delivered. Excellent on all fronts.

As ever, want to add (not that anything negative should be inferred) that our review is written with the class (3*) and price of the hotel in mind (ie. In a 5*, $300 hotel some of the things mentioned above would be expected and might not deserve such praise).

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamAndCrakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Eight of us stayed here for 2 nights in April. The hotel is very modern and clean and conveniently located in the Old Quarter by the lake and near the shops of silk road but on a street quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. The room was quite spacious and included a computer with free internet, large LCD TV and a safe. Toiletries included a razor, comb and toothbrush kit, in addition to the usual. They also give you 2 complimentary bottles of water, tea, coffee and a couple free snacks of peanuts and jackfruit chips. Breakfast was included in the rate and apparently, we could've ordered as much as we wanted if we could eat that much. The chicken pho was delicious. Hubby really liked the fresh baguette (a lady drops them off at 6am). They also served things like banana crepes, yogurt and fruit.

What I found best about this hotel was that the staff were really awesome and catered to our every need from providing toilet paper at 2am to helping us buy black peppercorns due to our tight time constraints in Hanoi. Also, when our private driver was unavailable dealing with the authorities (a long story), the hotel made up for this by paying for our cab fares to our dinner destinations. We definitely recommend this hotel as it feels you are getting way more than 3-star rooms and service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Golden Legend Diamond Hotel & Travel
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#20 of 603 in Hanoi
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#64 of 603 in Hanoi
1,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Moon Suite Hotel & travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Legend Hotel

Address: 10 Chan Cam Street, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 603 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £29 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Legend Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the wider, but nevertheless calmer streets in Hanoi’s Old Quarter, Hanoi Golden Legend is located at the heart of this mysterious and beautiful city. Perfectly designed in each detail of architecture, guests will feel like staying at a very special place. All the rooms in the hotel face the front street and are equipped with large European windows which make the rooms particularly bright and airy. From the lobby to the 9th floor where the restaurant serves breakfast, it offers panoramic views of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing