We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, great location and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Legend Hotel
Ranked #45 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
1 review
“friendly staff, great location and clean rooms”
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Loved our stay at Golden Sun 4. it's in the heart of the action but on a relatively quiet street. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the breakfast room with a view is spectacular. Highly recommended as an affordable, clean and convenient hotel in Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonvoyage00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    134
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
194
395
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We were in this hotel for 4 nights. The airport pickup was perfect, the staff especially Mrs. Hue very kind and helpful. The room very clean, internet on the table. Breakfast with view over Hanoi. So I do not know what else i could ask for.
all these is located in a quiet place, but in fact, direct in the old part of Hanoi.
For all the service, i.e. traintickets, tours and so on, Mrs. Hue will charge with a few dollars. Just compare with others.
All in all, the best choice in Hanoi

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herby640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

- very helpful staff (we booked a 2day 1 night trip to Ha Long Bay)
- very clean and nice rooms with free internet access in the room
- perfect location to discover the historical district
- good value
- very good breakfast (pancakes, fresh fruits...)

We will come back...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverstruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We are a family of 2 adults & 4 kids and found the Golden Sun 4 the most amazing hotel for service, quality & price..We stayed on the 7th floor in 2 interconnecting rooms for 2 nights then 1 night (4 nights in total) between in between Sapa & Halong Bay and the rooms were great, extremely clean and had tea, coffee & free snacks!!-who does that at $80 a night for 2 rooms. The breakfast was great especially the Pho & god I miss that crusty bread!! The computers & internet in both rooms came in very handy to keep the kids amused. I booked the hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor and booked directly with the hotel. Mrs Hue is amazing she booked Halong Bay(phoenix cruiser) & Sapa(boutique sapa & train) for us and both were amazing they even stored our luggage while we were on our overnight trips . I can not fault this hotel all the staff were excellent & the kids loved them & talk about them all the time. They even went & purchased Water puppet tickets for us while we were in Sapa. The Bellboy went with us to the train station for our Sapa trip and walked us to our cabin & when we returned the night security guard came to pick us up at 5.30am both taxi fares were paid for by the hotel and on arriving at the hotel they gave us a room to shower and rest in as well as free breakfast until our 2 rooms were ready. The staff at this hotel did so much for us I could go on all day but I would like to say a huge thankyou to them all they are a credit to the hotel and I hope to make it back to stay again at Golden Sun 4..

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KELLIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Good location, friendly staff and good value for money. The breakfast was decent and there was a computer in the room

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My first stop on my first visit to Hanoi, and I couldn't have chosen better.
Golden Sun 4 is in a (relatively) quiet street in the old quarter and central to everything.
The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, the staff are incredibly helpful, the Pho for breakfast (and the chocolate pancakes) are fantastic – what more could anyone want.
Best of all, the front desk staff assisted and advised in booking tours to Halong bay, accommodation in other parts of the country, even finding alternative accommodation in Hanoi when our plans changed and they couldn't fit us in.
Although I couldn't speak Vietnamese, communications wasn't an issue as we were made to feel at home and every effort was made to meet our needs.
A tip for Hanoi hotels – if you are considering staying in a hotel that is one of a group (ie there are four Golden Suns) then remember that each time they build a new one, it is better that the last.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Asia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I was skeptical; I really was. How can any hotel have nothing but 4 and 5 level ratings? There must be something going on here...

And there is. The Golden Sun 4 is a great, quiet, boutique hotel and the service is out of this world. Credit the manager, Mrs. Hue. She helped me with all sorts of things, such as where to eat and where to buy various supplies. Then I hit her with a hard one: I need to get to the Belarusian embasssy. How do I do it?

No problem I gave her the address (she volunteered to look it up on the internet, but I already had it) and she had a taxi there and wrote a note in Vietnamese as to where to go. Everything worked like clockwork.

The room was very quiet. In fact, this hotel could be used by those who need a couple of days to get over major jet lag caused by travel across 10-12 time zones. There was a problem at first with the internet, but they got it fixed and it was quite fast. BTW, Mrs Hue is internet capable and answers emails promptly. Her English is quite good. The other members of the staff are cordial and efficient as well.

The area around the hotel is a bit bohemian, but I felt safe and there are lots of little shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again. The breakfast was great as well, though the dining area is small and there could be a wait. I had no wait, though.

Over the years I've noticed an increase in the quality of service in tourist areas of Vietnam. This was my first stay at the Golden Sun 4 and it was one of the nicest hotel experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesquite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Legend Diamond Hotel & Travel
0.0 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#57 of 586 in Hanoi
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
#55 of 586 in Hanoi
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#51 of 586 in Hanoi
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Legend Hotel

Property: Golden Legend Hotel
Address: 10 Chan Cam Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Legend Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the wider, but nevertheless calmer streets in Hanoi’s Old Quarter, Hanoi Golden Legend is located at the heart of this mysterious and beautiful city. Perfectly designed in each detail of architecture, guests will feel like staying at a very special place. All the rooms in the hotel face the front street and are equipped with large European windows which make the rooms particularly bright and airy. From the lobby to the 9th floor where the restaurant serves breakfast, it offers panoramic views of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing