We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the time”

Van Phuc Silk Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Half-Day Van Phuc Silk Tour from Hanoi
Ranked #28 of 207 Shopping in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Van Phuc Silk Village visitors can learn how the fabric is woven and shop for textiles in a traditional silk-making village just outside the Hanoi city limits.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not worth the time”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Went there as part of a day tour. Just a short street was shops selling silk products. Totally not interesting and not worth the time. I'd you are looking for silk products, shops in the old quarters are more interesting.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    30
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting program that showed us the process of silk making from the silk worms eating to finished silk”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We watched silk worms eating mulberry leaves, saw the cocoons, saw spinners spinning silk, saw operators winding silk on spools, watched the weavers following elaborate paper cutout patterns on the looms, and saw the beautifully patterned silk emerging from the looms.

Helpful?
Thank TravellingMouse2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Oh how I wish I listened to most of the reviews here on T.A. I just can't hear the word "village" and not think that it will be a charming and quiet locale full of locals working on their handicraft. And after going to Ba Trang pottery village, which is just that, I was hoping Van Phuc would be the silk equivalent.

But alas, it is as many previous reviewers have commented - nothing special or interesting. I couldn't even find the shops that actually spin the silk. Perhaps it's less busy in November (I was the only non-Vietnamese person there) and this activity is not done all year?

If you must go, it's worth hiring a guide or asking a local Vietnamese friend to take you, just to make sure you see all there is to see. As already noted, you only need an hour or two. I think this place is of most interest to people who want to buy fabric rather than ready-made items, because the latter are more readily available in Hanoi's Old Quarter. While I didn't see a lot of fabric, what I did see was beautiful and soft.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank msinwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small, not much to see or do”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I expected the silk village to be more like the colorful, bustling center or Hoi An, so it was a bit of a disappointment. There were significantly fewer shops, and the merchandise was rather limited. Primarily only ready made clothing (as opposed to the custom shops you can find in other parts of Vietnam) and scarves. Not really any decorative items for the home. We had intended to spend a few hours here and maybe grab lunch as well, but other than 1 or 2 fruit vendors and a few small pharmacies, there weren't really any other dining options. We were able to pop into the 2 temples and all of the silk kiosks (around 25) in just over an hour. This is definitely not a full day or even half day excursion if you plan to work it into your schedule.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
213 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Genuine and cheap silk!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It's very easy to get here. Take xe ôm (motorbike taxi) for about 4-5 dollars each way. A lot more expensive by taxi.
Here, you'll get to see how they produce silk products. And you can purchase good quality and cheap silk here. This is my go-to place when I need to by gifts for my international friends.
About 5 dollars for a silk scarf, That's a good bargain, right?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nhu_Phuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Phuc Silk Village also viewed

 

Been to Van Phuc Silk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing