We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - Rooms and Public Spaces - & Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful - Rooms and Public Spaces - & Excellent Service”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We were supposed to stay in the more modern side of the Metropole but it was all booked when we finally confirmed our trip dates (our fault). We were a little wary of staying in the old side due to other reviewers but we were totally blown away! Beautiful French influenced architecture, marble flooring, traditional furniture and gorgeous hardwood floor in the room really gave us a feeling that we had stepped back in time! We even had French doors with shutters that opened to a small balcony. We were on the 2nd floor so it wasn't a balcony that you'd stay on for very long due to street view and traffic noise but it was charming. The turn-down service included closing the shutters and thick curtains to block out all noise and light. Staff greet you in French at every turn. And you won't believe that the pool area is in the middle of a busy city! The breakfast buffet was included in our rate and was delicious and had numerous choices. The location is perfect in that you can walk to a lot (markets, restaurants, etc...) or take a short cab ride.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kftoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,136
    911
    219
    55
    32
See reviews for
1,145
3,196
287
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

What can you say about an amazing hotel like this? Well run, solid service, great rooms, amazing history, charming.

Wonderful hotel! Recommended to anyone who wants a classy, well run experience.

Would certainly book again and really enjoyed the experience, but here are my comments (a bit of constructive criticism for the high price tag, and for the good of the hotel):

- Hotel staff should diplomatically ask parents of (Western) teenagers jumping and screaming in central pool for 45 minutes non-stop at dusk to quiet it down just a little bit for the other guests sitting around the pool in the famous outdoor bar. We were all paying at least $300 a night for our rooms (in Vietnam) and would like to enjoy the atmosphere without being splashed and hearing screaming for 30 minutes... while trying to enjoy a romantic cocktail. Kids should be allowed to have fun, but the Metropole isn't really Disneyworld.

- The legendary breakfast is excellent, but the quality/variety of the Vietnamese food offered is below par for such a talented kitchen. The Vietnamese coffee there was not as good as in street cafes! It tasted like Western espresso with condensed milk - not proper chocolaty Vietnamese coffee. Perhaps more than pho should be on the breakfast menu -- how much can it cost compared to the imported European meets?

Thank you for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icemill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My daughter and I just returned from 3 days in Hanoi. I chose to stay at the Sofitel for it's location and the history of the hotel. The staff and atmoshere were lovely. We could walk out the door and wander a few streets to be in the heart of many art galleries, a small lake and many shops. We hopped in the tricycle taxis out front and were taken to the museums and embassy area in about 25 minutes.

The Metropole is a classy, historic hotel with contemporary conveniences. We stayed in the original part of the hotel with hardwood floors and turn-of-the-century furnishings. The bath was large with a huge tub and seperate shower. Plenty of hot water. My only complaint was being on the front of the hotel you are on a main street; and even with the soundproofed windows the street noise starts at 6am.I'm a light sleeper. Hanoi drivers honk constantly!
Not sure this is the place for young children but did see several.

We booked a day trip to Halong Bay through the hotel. I did a little comparison shopping because their daytrip was more expensive than the other hotels. We went with the Metropole and glad we did. The driver and guide were very good. We felt completely comfortable traveling with them and our guide's english was great. Very knowledgeable of Vietnamese history.

We ate in the French restaurant for a terrific, if not expensive, dinner. The bar has a good menu for meals as well. Breakfast buffet is large and probably worth the $25 if you eat a big breakfast. You can order a la carte.
For a one-time historical trip I would stay at the Sofitel. If you only want a place to sleep and a better price I might try something else next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Our stay was perfect from our pickup at the airport in their BMW to our check out. The service was faultless and friendly. We enjoyed every second of our stay, our room was lovely, breakfasts were great and we ate dinner one night at the Spices restaurant which was also good. We also thoroughly enjoyed our cocktails at the bar one evening before going out for dinner. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them, after checking out we were off to Sapa on the overnight train, they organised for our luggage to be left in their hold and we were able to have a shower at the hotel before we left that evening and on our return early in the morning from Sapa. We will definately be returning on our next trip to Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments are of great important to us as we constantly strive to improve the quality of our service and enhance the guest experience.

We hope that your experience meets with your expectation and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Surely a 6-star experience. Ended up being ~$800 for 3 nights in a room in the Opera Wing with Club access with stay-for-3, pay-for-2 promotion. This is cheap if compared to prices globally for this type of luxury. Club access entitles you to personalised check-in, breakfast, afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks (a good selection) and canapes, access to computers, butler and late-checkout until 4pm (if available). We didn't want to leave to hotel! Rooms were magnificent. It felt like being royalty. To tell you the truth, it was our highlight of Hanoi. If you can afford the extra money, treat yourself - it is well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCF_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Splendid accommodations, refined and well-appointed with nostalgic colonial atmosphere throughout. Staff is superbly trained and obliging. The rooms are reasonably well constructed to shut out most of the typical Hanoi street noise. However, a restaurant/nightclub across the street on Le Thanh Tong hosted an ear-shattering late-night party lasting 'til nearly 1AM on one Saturday evening -- the music so loud it made it impossible to sleep (or even read peacefully) in outward-facing rooms along that street. Either Hanoi has no municipal ordinances regulating such disturbances, or else the club's owners have bought "protection," because the hotel staff was powerless to quell the racket, despite assurances they relayed from the club's operators that the party would end by 11PM. To its credit, the Metropole offered us a different room (on the Club level, even), but dealing with luggage and a room change in the wee hours of the morning before a 14-hour flight is not conducive to peace of mind. By all means stay here, but request an inward-facing room, especially on weekend nights.

Room Tip: Request quiet room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lever212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 591 in Hanoi
1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 591 in Hanoi
2,188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#16 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing