We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #40 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great service”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had a long weekend in this great hotel. Really enjoyed it. Rooms well appointed. Whole hotel high quality finishing and great design. Restaurants very good. Neighborhood is the old city, romantic. Only complaint is Internet, including wireless only at extra cost. The old maxim: wireless is free in cheap hotels only.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frielink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,064
    898
    215
    55
    31
See reviews for
1,112
3,161
286
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
354 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Our 4 night stay in an Opera Premium room on the 7th floor was all we thought it would be. Our driver delivered us to the historical lobby on arrival where we were greeted warmly and shown to the club floor in the new wing for check in. This was a nice way to begin our stay as the historical lobby is just beautiful and we would use this entrance just to walk though and enjoy the atmosphere. The Opera wing lobby was also beautiful, but in a more modern style.
Our room was on the club floor, so we had really direct access to the club lounge. We did enjoy having a glass or two of champers/wine or cocktails each evening after a long hot day of touring Hanoi. They will even loan you an ipod, which is good if your husband won't let go of the laptop!! There was a lovely pianist playing each night. The canapes were a bit hit and miss, but I must say were more of a hit than miss. The pho for breakfast was very good and we found the small buffet just fine.
Our room was just as advertised on the website. The cleaning staff did a fantastic job of hanging up our wet bathing suits, etc. The bathtub was nice as you could sit in it and watch tv if your wanted to. Even two types of bath salts were provided. We did not really use our butler much, but he seemed efficient. My only small niggle was having to ask for an extra towel every day to dry my hair. I know it my seem silly, but this is supposed to be a 5 star property and I don't think 3 towels is too much to ask for. The hair dryer was weak, but we found this at every place we stayed.
The pool is small and got very crowded the few times we used it at about 4:00. But the pool attendants were on to it and tried their best to accommodate everyone. They even passed out ice cream to everyone.
Had a massage at the spa and it was pretty good. Not the best we ever had, but still very nice.
It is a short walk to the lake from the hotel and several interesting routes you can take. There is also some good shopping nearby and more than just the luxury brands not everyone is interested in. Although there are several of them as well.
As advantage plus members we got some very good deals on meals at the hotel and found the food quite good and enjoyed the bar atmosphere very much.
We would happily stay here again and found it a haven in the busy city.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get club privileges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metVietnam, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Metropole in early June 2011 for 3 days. What a magical spot, We stayed in the old wing and loved the wonderful atmosphere of bygone days the room was great, the staff very friendly welcoming and helpful. The Opera Wing looked lovely too, quite different as was very modern

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourtraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

After traveling from the East coast of US via a Tokyo layover, this hotel was perfect. The decor is wonderful, rooms very large (new wing) and top notch hospitality. The breakfast buffet has a huge assortment for world wide appeal. They seem to cater to a very international crowd. The bar area had a beautiful singer and good service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkbmkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metVietnam, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great comment following your recent stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your feedback is very important for us as as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
225 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We love the Metropole! have enjoyed about 6 stays over the last decade. The building is full of old charm, rooms have character and style and the food is always superb. Champagne afternoon teas are highly recommended.

Location is right by Hoan Kiem Lake which is the place to be over the further out West Lake.

Concierge team are excellent!

Room Tip: old wing only. nothing special about opera wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

In my view true luxury is where you feel relaxed and at home, where you feel the property is working around you and not the other way round. Despite being the most expensive place in Hanoi the Metropole felt as if it was simply going through the motions. A couple of examples:

Station pickup - during a month of travel in Vietnam we stayed at places ranging from 35 USD / night up to 500 USD. All of these from top to bottom of the price range offered complimentary pick up from the nearest airport or station except the Metropole. Some used their own (sometimes luxury) vehicles while others did a meet and greet and then paid for a taxi. When we enquired with the Metropole they replied that they offered a limo service and would do the Hanoi station pickup for 70+ USD. That journey is perhaps two kilometers, so that's terrible value whether it's in a fancy BMW or a standard taxi. Not only was their offer therefore terrible value compared to other local competition, it also showed a lack of care as we arrived at Hanoi station at 0430hrs in the morning when a friendly hotel face would have been most welcome and safe.

Internet access - every one of the hotels we stayed in also offered free WiFi access throughout the premises. Every one that is except the Metropole, which had the temerity to try to charge 18 USD / day! The argument was that the wired broadband is free in the room while WiFi in the public areas is charged, however where does that leave the growing group of people with phones, tablets and iPads which don't have an ethernet socket? Come on, this is 2011! I know of other hotels that are able to organise charing for public WiFi while also offering complimentary to guests so why can't the Metropole? When challenged all staff refused to give me even temporary access. Trying to make money from WiFi these days is ridiculous, particularly given that the competition offer it for free. On this point an email to the Manager went unanswered.

Poor pool discipline - if the sign says 'No Diving' and there are kids diving and making a disturbance then the pool staff should stop it happening instead of standing idly by. It was clear that everyone else in the pool area was being disturbed.

I feel that these examples illustrate the poor value, lack of hospitality / care, and how the guest is expected to fit around the procedures of the hotel rather than the other way round. Ultimately the Metropole is just another Sofitel, albeit one in an historic building.

To its credit, the breakfast buffet in the Beaulieu is fabulous.

Room Tip: Rooms in the north facing historic seem renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for selecting Hotel Metropole Hanoi as your residence of choice during your recent stay in Vietnam and also for taking the time to tell us about your experiences while with us. On behalf of myself and my team please accept my apologies in relation to your frustrations.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. In relation to your specific comments on the station pick up and wifi charges we have had internal discussions here on property and you will be pleased to know are now reviewing our operational procedures relating to both points.

While I realize that a return visit to Vietnam and ourselves may not be in your immediate plans, please do let us know if you are heading our way again, so we can ensure that your experience is a fabulous one.

The positive feedback on the breakfast has been shared with the team – thank you for this.

Wishing you continued safe and enjoyable travels,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I lived in Hanoi for 12 months and I always booked family and friends into the Metropole. Its a little pricey but if you're prepared to pay that kind of money then the Metropole is the only place in Hanoi you should consider.

The hotel is full of charm and history, walking distance to The Old Quarter and the hotel offers a few amazing restaurants. Even if you don't stay at the Metropole you should dine at one of the restaurants.

The one and only negative thing I can say is that the pool water is a little too warm during summer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 586 in Hanoi
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#95 of 586 in Hanoi
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing