We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Colonial Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #39 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Colonial Charm”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I'll start by getting the bad news out the was. The cheapest rooms are too small and the bathrooms are as bad pay for the best room you can afford.

Ok now on to the good stuff. This really is an excellent hotel. The staff are well trained courteous and knowledgeable, the food is excellent and the ambience is wonderful. When you walk in off the streets of Hanoi then you feel as though you have arrived home!!

On Sunday there are buffets in both the Vietnamese and French restaurants.. If you can afford it then go, particularly to the French one, it is extraordinary both in range of dishes on offer and the quality. We took the free flow wine option and it does free flow if you want it to. From memory though it's about £100 a person.

We also ate in both the above restaurants and had great meals.

The swimmimg pool is on the small size but we were always able to get a sun lounger and the pool service is very attentive. I think it's the first time I have had ever had pool service where the staff are wearing a stylish dress and pearl necklace!!

One minor niggle is that wireless internet is not available free in your room whereas hard wired is. This is a minor irritation if you have a smartphone and we ended up using the business centre for our internet access.

Would we go back? In a flash but with an upgraded room probably to the old wing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,945
    882
    214
    54
    30
See reviews for
1,094
3,096
280
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed for two nites at the grand premium room in Opera wing. The hotel was lovely with good service. (not great, but good)
We booked with a travel agency called Vietnam Today Travel. Very good deals on the rooms. The historical wing was amazingly beautiful with great French coloniel feel. Our whole family enjoyed the stay and would love to stay again if we r back in Hanoi.

Room Tip: stay opera wing club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments are highly appreciated by us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and i stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 4 week honeymoon in vietnamd. The hotel is a peaceful retreat in busy hanoi and is welcoming and beatiful, as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Our bedroom in the old wing was small but comfortable, with a beautiful bathroom almost as big as the bedroom! We ate in the hotel's italian restaraunt which was tasty as was the breakfast buffet. Our only disappointment was the pool area which is undergoing renovation and was very noisy on both afternoons we were there. Not very relaxing after busy days exploring hanoi! But otherwise a lovely hotel which I would recommend...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLOR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We had a long weekend in this great hotel. Really enjoyed it. Rooms well appointed. Whole hotel high quality finishing and great design. Restaurants very good. Neighborhood is the old city, romantic. Only complaint is Internet, including wireless only at extra cost. The old maxim: wireless is free in cheap hotels only.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frielink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
327 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Our 4 night stay in an Opera Premium room on the 7th floor was all we thought it would be. Our driver delivered us to the historical lobby on arrival where we were greeted warmly and shown to the club floor in the new wing for check in. This was a nice way to begin our stay as the historical lobby is just beautiful and we would use this entrance just to walk though and enjoy the atmosphere. The Opera wing lobby was also beautiful, but in a more modern style.
Our room was on the club floor, so we had really direct access to the club lounge. We did enjoy having a glass or two of champers/wine or cocktails each evening after a long hot day of touring Hanoi. They will even loan you an ipod, which is good if your husband won't let go of the laptop!! There was a lovely pianist playing each night. The canapes were a bit hit and miss, but I must say were more of a hit than miss. The pho for breakfast was very good and we found the small buffet just fine.
Our room was just as advertised on the website. The cleaning staff did a fantastic job of hanging up our wet bathing suits, etc. The bathtub was nice as you could sit in it and watch tv if your wanted to. Even two types of bath salts were provided. We did not really use our butler much, but he seemed efficient. My only small niggle was having to ask for an extra towel every day to dry my hair. I know it my seem silly, but this is supposed to be a 5 star property and I don't think 3 towels is too much to ask for. The hair dryer was weak, but we found this at every place we stayed.
The pool is small and got very crowded the few times we used it at about 4:00. But the pool attendants were on to it and tried their best to accommodate everyone. They even passed out ice cream to everyone.
Had a massage at the spa and it was pretty good. Not the best we ever had, but still very nice.
It is a short walk to the lake from the hotel and several interesting routes you can take. There is also some good shopping nearby and more than just the luxury brands not everyone is interested in. Although there are several of them as well.
As advantage plus members we got some very good deals on meals at the hotel and found the food quite good and enjoyed the bar atmosphere very much.
We would happily stay here again and found it a haven in the busy city.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get club privileges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metVietnam, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Metropole in early June 2011 for 3 days. What a magical spot, We stayed in the old wing and loved the wonderful atmosphere of bygone days the room was great, the staff very friendly welcoming and helpful. The Opera Wing looked lovely too, quite different as was very modern

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourtraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

After traveling from the East coast of US via a Tokyo layover, this hotel was perfect. The decor is wonderful, rooms very large (new wing) and top notch hospitality. The breakfast buffet has a huge assortment for world wide appeal. They seem to cater to a very international crowd. The bar area had a beautiful singer and good service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkbmkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metVietnam, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great comment following your recent stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your feedback is very important for us as as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#16 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing