We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old world feel, great modern amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #40 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming old world feel, great modern amenities”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We spent three nights at the Metropole in January at the end of a five-week trip to Asia. It was a great way to relax after some rather mixed experiences. Hotel is beautiful, staff very accommodating. Just wish the weather had been better so we could have enjoyed the pool. Oh well, the champagne in the romantic Club Bar made up for it! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,063
    898
    215
    55
    31
See reviews for
1,112
3,160
286
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We spent three days at the Sofitel Metropole and we were absolutely delighted. The location is exceptional, many of the major attractions of down-town Hanoi can be reached by a few minutes walk and as well famous luxus brands as also the old city center with pittoresque streets, small shops and restaurants are just nearby.
The hotel lobby, rooms and restaurants are beautifully furnished in colonial style and there is a nice pool and garden area.
Though it was rather cold in Hanoi during our stay end of December, we had lunch twice at the pool restaurant and enjoyed very much as well the food as also the place. The other restaurants were also excellent.
The service (reception, concierge, restaurants etc.) was always perfect.
We are looking forward to come back to this charming place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martina038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. Your comments are greatly appreciated by us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is my second time in Hanoi for a holiday. This time I decided to stay at the Sofitel Metropole because of the charm and the ambience of the hotel. This didn't disappoint me as the hotel is the best place to stay in Hanoi. Beautiful and charming! We bought the Accor Plus Advantage card that we were able to use at the Spice Garden dinner and breakfast and Le Beaulieu for breakfast again the next day without any problem. In the evening we went to the restaurant again for dinner but this time they told us that one table should be at the end and the other table at the other end. This is ridiculous! Anyway the assistant F & B Manager came and said that they will allow 2 separate tables in one area only now but next time they will stick to their policy. This is the first time that we were treated very lowly by any hotel. Specially for a 5 star hotel like Sofitel. I regretted staying in this hotel. Their front desk is also unreliable. They forgot to bill us for breakfast and I with all honesty told them that we had breakfast at Spice Garden. I waited for 10 min with no action. Next day they charged me the breakfast and the dinner that we paid in cash! What kind of hotel is this?? Never will I recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Hard to add much beyond what everyone else has written. We stayed there twice over the course of a trip throughout the region, and both stays were wonderful. Would recommend getting a room in the old wing, the new wing is nice but less charm. Was a great experience. Club bar has a really nice old world vibe.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kb121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is Hanoi we are talking about a world class hotel to boot. But it certainly is not cheap. However everything about it is wonderful from the reconstructed old world charm to the modern standards of service and gastronomy. This hotel desverves a detour from anyone within two hours flying time. Ok ... being greeted with 'bonjour' by all the staff does not extend to a second or third word of French for very many staff: particularly not the Japanese welcome host member of staff. But I can overlook that. Everything else about the hotel is superb AND do not waste money on the 'new block' - pay the extra to stay in the old part of the hotel. As soon as you are there you will see why!

Room Tip: Be brave and have large old world room looking out onto the thoroughfare and let the east soak into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kewfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

What a beautiful hotel. We stayed in the Opera Wing - ask for one overlooking the pool courtyard over the street view on the other side. Gorgeously decorated, great services, an abundance of restaurants and easy location for the old quarter, plus the Opera. Make sure you make use of the spa too. For US$100 you can spend 2 hours absolutely relaxing and rejuvenating, plus you get free use of the steam room and sauna. It's a haven in a buzzing, lively city.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the pool courtyard over the city. It's quieter and nicer to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 586 in Hanoi
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#95 of 586 in Hanoi
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing