We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique oasis in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Loved this hotel! My husband and I stayed for three nights in May and everything was absolutely great, from the gorgeous hotel room (Opera Wing) which was spacious with the most comfortable hotel bed I've come across (with delicious macaroons on your pillow at turn down), to the beautiful pool area which felt like a completely different world to the bustling Hanoi streets just outside. Nothing to fault. Breakfast was lovely and served in two of the restaurants - not the largest variety of options, but definitely a decent enough selection to please most people I'd say. They serve one of the best pho dishes we tried in VIetnam. The pool menu included an amazing lasagne, if you like that kind of thing! It's hard to put into words, but the hotel just had a really unique atmosphere that made us feel at home as soon as we walked through the door. Service was excellent.

We'll definitely stay again when visiting Hanoi.

Room Tip: Opera Wing room was beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali27Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Ali27UK,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole on your visit to Hanoi city. It is our true passion to create long-lasting memories and create a home away from home.

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy all the facilities the hotel has to offer like the guest room facilities, swimming pool and the unique atmosphere. The entire team wants to thank you for your grand words and is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,607 - 3,613 of 6,611 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel during Christmas/New Years 2012 - 2013. It's the finest hotel I've ever experienced! The dining options are varied and of the highest quality. There's Italian themed Angelina's to French dining at Le Beaulieu and local Vietnamese culinary delights at Spices Garden. Le Club offers nightly jazz trio with an international vocalist for those romantic evenings. The patio doors remain open so you may sit outside at the Bamboo Bar and still enjoy the ambience of the music and even take a late night swim at the lighted outdoor pool. My holidays at Metropole were complete with all the Western trimmings Ringing in 2013 at the Sofitel Metropole was definitely exciting. The General Manager personally taught his staff how to make hot mulled cider for the holiday season. I had fabulous time and I highly recommend this hotel located in the heart of this quaint Asian city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Cathryn F,

I thank you for your positive feedback and for highly recommending Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

It was perfect, from the check in to the service to the room. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Hanoi. We booked direct with the hotel, the room came with a complimentary massage for 2 a day. This was the best massage we had ever had

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TravelFrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear travelfrannie,

I am most pleased to hear that you have been enchanted by the whole team at Sofitel Legend Metropole. Indeed we genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and they can tell that our service comes from the heart.

I thank you also for mentioning the fabulous spa treatment in our Le Spa.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed three nights at the Metropole Hotel in Hanoi. We had a fantastic experience and wouldn't have changed a thing. We stayed one night in the Opera (modern) Wing and two nights in the Historical Wing. The service is incredible. Each night at turn down, they leave dessert in your room. While lounging at the pool, they bring around refreshments and ice cream.

I would highly recommend the guided historical tour of the hotel. We even were able to go down into the bomb shelter from the Vietnam/American War.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mackenzie_Beebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Mackenzie_beebe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our historical tour and appreciated our high standard of service as well as the offer at turn down service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

we travelled throughout SE Asia in May 2013. Most hotels that we stayed at were very helpful with our pre arrival emails to help us with tours and the like. this was not our experience at the sofitel metropole hanoi. i felt like i was irritating them with even just one email asking if they could suggest a guide to visit the countryside. they responded that my request could not be accommodated, but did not offer any alternatives or a company that could help us.

then we had an issue with our visas. we contacted them over 24 hours in advance to let them know we would not be able to enter vietnam to try to cancel our reservation. they refused stating that we had booked through expedia so they would apply the full charge. we had booked through hotels.com, but in any case given the visa fiasco and the 24 hours notice, i would have hoped for a more helpful response - refund or credit toward another stay. very disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank tiffany b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure accommodating you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience that we caused to you during your time with us.
In regards to the tour request, we receive many requests throughout the day and for the most part subsequent compliments regarding the service and helpfulness of our Tour Desk team, and therefore this situation is both a surprise and concern for us – normally when our options are fully committed, alternatives will be offered – we have reviewed this internally with the team to ensure future guests receive a selection of options tailored to their travel needs.

In reference to the accommodation amendment request, yes, we acknowledge there was a challenge. According to the sales term and condition of the booking that you agreed upon is subject to full charge upon cancelling therefore we were unable to refund or credit toward another stay in the future for you. This is normal and really an issue that relates to the place where you booked and not our hotel.

I trust that the actual stay and experience at the Metropole was actually up to expectations as your comments refer to experiences that are somewhat unrelated to your actual stay.
Again thank you for your constructive feedback and We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We checked in on 6 June & will be leaving in the next couple of days and i am writing this review at the club lounge.

The level of service my family and I is, in one word, LEGENDARY! We read so much about it in the reviews, but we were skeptical of it before we checked in. From the moment we checked in (we selected the club floor), the level of personalization is unbelievable! The butler staff is always attentative and the servers in the lounge were also very informative of Hanoi. What I personally found very refreshing was that the staff, upon request, were quite at ease recommending restaurants and services outside those availablemin the hotel. To me, thhat tells a lot, the level of confidence. I really wish I could name all the butler staff that took care of us, but it really impossible!

The location of the hotel is so central, we could literally walk to several of the attractions: the Water Puppet Theatre, the Old Quarters, the Opera House, the Cathedral, etc.

Other than the price of some of the anmeneties, the ONLY area I thought could be better is the spa. The staff, I felt, was not sufficiently trained.

Otherwise everything was the best thing next to perfect!

Room Tip: The Grand Premium room packages, are a good deal during the low season. Use the Accor central bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCWPSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear HCWPSL,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are absolutely delighted to read your compliments on our butler team and the services in the restaurants.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday. Your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

I take on board your comment about the staff in the Spa and will review with our Spa Manager about the services accordingly.

Thank you for your compliments and we look forwad to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

If you're traveling with family, French Quarters would be a better place compared to the Old Quarters and Sofitel Legend Metropole is definitely the hotel to stay. We were greeted by our personal concierge upon arrival and our room at the new Opera Wing was lovely. Only issue was that the walls are pretty thin, so we can hear our neighbors if they are rowdy. We also have different pre-bed time snacks every day, from macrons to other forms of french dessert :) Cools.

We had both oriental breakfast and international breakfast across a couple of days but we soon realized that it's similar at both restaurants. Their Asian cuisine is definitely much better than the Western food.

But if you're interested in sampling the Vietnamese street food and shopping, and you're not traveling with a big group or family, perhaps it would be better to stay at the Old Quarters, else you'll have to keep taking cabs to/fro.

Although the hotel give us some credits to offset for spa treatment, but their spa packages is definitely more expensive compared to the rest of the spas in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

dear efyap,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review about your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are glad you were happy with your stay and enjoyed the excellent service and luxury facilities we are offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#98 of 600 in Hanoi
2,336 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#44 of 600 in Hanoi
791 reviews
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 600 in Hanoi
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £175 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing