We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 5 Stars, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #45 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“True 5 Stars, an oasis of tranquility in the heart of Hanoi”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I hesitated before booking the Sofitel Metropol because it showed prices almost twice as high as the few other 5-star hotels, but I did not regret the extra spending. Yes it belongs to a chain (Accor- Sofitel brand) but that works out nicely as they managed to get the level of service to very high international standards without resenting the standardization of chain hotels.

We got an available room around 10Am, checking early at no fee, appreciated after a long flight from Europe. Check in was friendly and efficient as you expect from a 5 star hotel in Asia. They take care of the documents while you wait with a welcome drink. We were shown to our room in details while the facilities where explained to us in good English. All staff wearing impeccable, classy uniforms, clearly identifiable and willing to help with luggage, children or anything else you might need. Everyone (even the maids) taught to greet guests in French (“Bonjour”) to bring a (friendly) reminiscence of the colonial times…

Room was not very spacious but this is a historic downtown hotel so it can be excused (even in the new “Opera Wing”). Decoration is stylish and nothing out of taste. Even though the hotel booking policy allows you to book only one child per room, we were able to fit an extra bed large enough for our 2 babies (2 and 3 years old). Nothing is missing in the room. Wifi is free and efficient in all areas. Nightly turndown service.

Breakfast is very complete. Not the best ever in Asia but up to 5 star standards. We only tried snacks at the pool bar/ restaurants evenings and they were good, reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel (but of course much more expensive than Vietnamese street prices). Service was again of excellent level for Vietnam.

The pool is rather small but at the time large enough to accommodate all guests that were around. It is however very nicely arranged in the hotel yard and an absolute delight to cool off after a busy day in the city, even at night.

The location itself is nice, as a short walk can get you to the busy commercial streets and the lake (if you dare walking), otherwise cheap transportation can be arranged (do take a private tour in an open minibus!) Lots of luxury goods shopping around the block, an Hermes store is even within the hotel premises (I guess not for the average Vietnamese salaryman, nor for the European tourist looking for exotic puchases). Richer locals can be seen at the bar and planning wedding ceremonies as in most Asian 5 star hotels.

The SPA met the quality level of the rest in terms of both the service provided and the quiet environment and installations. Prices in line with a 5 star but again, affordable to the foreign traveler not on too tight a budget.

In short, we felt good there and would highly recommend it to tourists and business travelers alike if you can afford it. Not a holiday resort to spend long vacations but definitely the hotel earns its credentials as one of the best in Asia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
IDear mzktravel,

It was a pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your feedback and special mention of our excellent service, quality of the restaurants and Spa.

We are also delighted that you enjoy the hotel oasis of calm and thank you for sharing your experience to other TripAdvisor surfers.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,145
    913
    220
    55
    32
See reviews for
1,150
3,199
287
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,332)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Legendary reputation, well deserved. Charming atmosphere. Attentive staff. I live in Hanoi and the escape for my wife and I for 3 days was well worth it, even though we were hit by a tropical storm. The history and tour of the bomb shelter was very interesting and sobering.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hanoi_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience following your visit to our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoy the bomb shelter tour. Infact we are very proud of our historians in the hotel and the history tour we established for our hotel guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotels on business trips to Hanoi numerous times over the past two years. I have found the rooms, service and food exquisite in every way. Needless to say, the building and location are incredibly beautiful. What is remarkable is how well maintained it is, and the attention to detail in making sure that everything fits in with the style of the hotel. The rooms are luxuriously appointed, and always clean. The food at all 3 of the restaurants is just amazing, particularly the breakfast buffet. But, what makes this hotel truly 5-start, are the staff and the service they provide. Everyone is friendly and go out of their way to help. On my last trip, I bought lychees to bring back home. The staff stored it overnight and packed it in the wee hours of the morning before I left. They could have packed it the previous night and given it to me, but did not do so because that would ruin the fruit! The fruit made it safely home and we able to eat the lychees for a whole week.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pardesi_frangipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Pardesi_frangipani,

It is truly rewarding to read such positive feedbacks as yours and I thank you for that. I will pass on your kind words to my team and in particular to the front desk department as it will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such high level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just spent four nights at Sofitel Legend Metropole Ha Noi,this hotel is outstanding and many ways exquisite . The quality of this Hotel would put it at the top of the list with Sofitel.The staff are not just professional but are warm and genuine. The Hotel has been around for along time and has maintained the original luxury of yesteryear. One small criticism is that the club food was ordinary with not much variety and happy hour drinks are carefully slow and that was annoying.The Hotel magazine Le Petit Journal informs us that they are importing the chef from Sofitel Washington DC which gives me the opportunity to state that that Hotel is clearly the worst Sofitel I have ever stayed at, way below Sofitel standard but Sofitel Legend Metropole Ha Noi is the best

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbru_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Janbru_8,

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel especially in the Club Metropole in your four day visit to Hanoi.

Your comment on the slow service of happy hour drink is well noted and we will review again with our service team in the Club Floor.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

With very few faults this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at. For a start the buildings are stately and beatifully kitted out, as are the rooms. The restaurants, while we didn't try them all (too many!) are great, the bars, particularly the outside Bambou bar, are gorgeous. The staff are extremely friendly if a little too drilled, and although the service is not quite that of say the equivalent in Bangkok you'd have to go to the top hotels such as the Mandarin Oriental to get much better. A perfect location to enjoy Hanoi.

Room Tip: We got a great deal on the fifth floor in the Opera wing, on the inside of the building, but the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilwadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I am truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi in Tripadvisor.

I am so glad that you have enjoyed our wonderful location and great services from our team.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Loved, loved, loved staying here. Felt "elite."

Lobby is decorated beautifully, and the flowers that greeted us around every turn were picturesque. I took so many pictures of them, I should know :-)

Staff is more than helpful - polished and professional. There to serve. Very European feel. Rooms followed suit, not as spacious as the other hotels on our tour of SE Asia, but quite lovely, with sculptures and artwork inside. Loved the turn-down service treats, which included delicious macaroons from the cute shop downstairs. (So note: do not put that "Privacy Please" sign on your door at this hotel! Take the turn-down!)

The pool is on the small, quaint, quiet side - don't make too big of a splash or you will get a talking to (ask my husband about his "preacher seat" jump into the pool!) Pool attendants are very attendant (go figure) organizing your chairs and items so you can enjoy.

There is a lovely gift shop, as well as a bakery/coffee shop/general store I referenced above. That was a fun little place to look around and get a bite to eat. There are 3 restaurants: Vietnamese, Italian and French. The breakfast at the Vietnamese restaurant, Spices Garden, was charming. Really. From the food to the china, I'd love to do Sunday brunch there once a month as a treat! Dinner at the Italian restaurant Angelina was good, but made excellent from the service we received. (See separate review on that!)

The fitness center was decent, again, made better by the stellar service received. A fresh towel and water during my workout - I wish I could have brought that service home.

Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Smep 013,

I am so pleased to hear that you have had a great time at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi! Thank you for pointing this out in your feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back as often as possible.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 592 in Hanoi
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 592 in Hanoi
2,195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#17 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing