We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #47 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Sofitel is the best hotel in Hanoi .It is in the center,near the attractions.The service is good.We stayed on the club floor and the rooms was spacious and very beautiful.The breakfast was excellent.The swimming pool is small and it can get crowded.
We stayed part of our trip in The Intercontinental Westlake which is also a good choice if you want balconies and nice lakeviews but The Sofitel is in our opinion a star above it.

Room Tip: Club floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulosiiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Sulossiiri,

It is just enchanting to read such wonderful words about Metropole Hanoi, and especially from such a frequent traveler as you.

The hotel offers an oasis of tranquility while we are right in the middle of the city centre. We are pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to experience our Club Floor and fully enjoyed the services and its benefits.

The entire team and I are looking forward to your return.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,428)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,010 - 3,016 of 6,428 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Was here for 10 days on business. When I checked in at close to midnight I realized they had given me a corner room with a view of a wall which was a bit of an irritant. So I reminded them that if I was staying here for a long period I would expect a better room. After a while they arranged for a replacement room with a view of the garden which was infinitely nicer. Rooms are small by normal hotel standards and what you would expect in Europe, but maintained spotlessly.

The good - superb location, charm and overall good service. A period hotel which reminds you of the past and this is really a nice diversion from the glitz of new hotels. Try the Italian restaurant and bar Angelique. The concierge is always very good and reliable. The airport pick up and drop is in a BMW with wifi so very slick and handy if you are willing to pay the price. They even had a croissant and coffee for me in the morning I left (6 am) but unfortunately the coffee was only black so I could have that - but the thought counted. The breakfast every morning was a treat - great food and service always a pleasure.

What can improve - the gym is a real let down. Out of date equipment and no upright bicycle. And the layout is very uncomfortable. This is really something they need to fix as it does not fit with the rest of the hotel. The pool is charming but very small so dont waste your time with a swim. The bar around the pool is very enjoyable for a meal and drink so try this out - we did. Was invited to a guests cocktail which I attended, and was well attended by one on the managers, but was surprised to see that the GM was engrossed with other guests and really did not mingle - so why invite us?

Some tips - go to the restaurants nearby, The Press Club, Lautrec, Le Club de la Orientale (must do), La Badiane and plenty of street food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asiaishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Asiaishome,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an enthusiastic review about your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are glad you consider Metropole as your best hotel in Hanoi, and enjoyed the superb location and excellent service we are offering.

Your comment on the gym equipment is well noted and we are on process to replace some of our machines in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in the Sofitel Legend at the beginning of our trip in Vietnam. The staff were courteous from the start and our room was very comfortable, overlooking the pool area and was spotlessly clean; we had no complaints. The hotel is very close to the lake and centrally positioned in the town so it's in a great location. Breakfast was good too. We stupidly left something behind in the room when we checked out but, followning a phone call, they very kindly offered to forward it to our final location free of charge. We would definitely recommend staying at this hotel if you are visiting Hanoi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear DavidG09,

Thank you for recommending Sofitel Legend Metropole, I am delighted that your stay in Hanoi was an enjoyable one and you made the most of our central location and excellent services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a tour group so unable to comment on value for money.
Our time in this special hotel was very memorable. It has a special charm and very attentive staff. It was extremely busy when we stayed at the end of December but there were never any queues or lack of service.
They had thought of attention to detail such as rugs to encourage a drink at the bars as the weather was chilly in Hanoi.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikola180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Nikola180,

Thank you for your nice feedback, I am glad to hear that you felt very well looked after by the entire team and that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights here in a huge room in the old wing. Its a gorgeous colonial style hotel, very well located near the lake and the old quarter so you can walk to everything. The room was luxurious in every aspect, and included a huge 2 person corner bath in our lovely marble bathroom. The room had dark stained floorboards and was decorated with antiques. Every effort is made to capture colonial bygone days. It's very quaint and has that feel that enables you to be transported to another time, whilst all the mod cons are available.

The hotel was built in 1901 and has played host to politicians and entertainers from all over the world. There is a tour available to house guests which discusses all the events that have shaped the hotel over its life, and includes the bomb shelter where the French dignitaries hid during the war. Lots of photgraphic memorabilia on the ground floor of the old wing.

Contrary to some other reviewers, we loved the food here. Breakfast was a delicious buffet and we focused on the Vietnamese food. Staff friendly and helpful each day.

We did a private cooking class with one of the hotel chefs, which was great fun and we both learned some techniques we will definitely follow up at home. This was followed by lunch in the Spices Garden restaurant, once again excellent food and service.
Our A&k tour guide told us that this hotel won best hotel in all of Vietnam last year, and I am not surprised. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try for the old wing and a high floor away from the traffic noise
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porters051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Porters051,

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that.

We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hanoi is a city which have nothing to do for tourist, but hopefully I stay at the Sofitel . The hotel is the best in Hanoi, good location , services and restaurant . Internet is excellent and people are nice.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tommyyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Tommyyam,

I am happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi during your recent trip to our city.

It was a real delight that you have enjoyed good location , services and restaurant and Internet . Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

I am looking forward to your next visit.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

In you visit South East Asia and want to stop by Vietnam, then you need to visit Hanoi and stay at the Metropole a few days. Hotel is one the best I slept in, every thing was good, room is fantastic, cosy, restaurant, breakfast are delicate, patio is nice, service is great, ... just name it. The gym is small and the pool too and just for refreshment, more the atmosphere than exercising.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerometm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Jerometm,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review sharing on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and really appreciated the quality of service we are

providing in the hotel.

We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 598 in Hanoi
2,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#69 of 598 in Hanoi
1,864 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 598 in Hanoi
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £164 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing