We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #47 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed in premiere club room in opera wing 6 the floor
Great job restoring this historic property
Nicely decorated rooms with large bathroom with tub and separate rainshower
Hermes bath products and nice bath salts
Club lounge had amazing service and great food throughout the day
Nice afternoon tea in lounge
Lounge also nicely layed out.Enjoyed the nightly piano music despite the occasional screams from the many kids and infants that visit.Perhaps the hotel will consider having a separate "quiet adults only " section for those of us that would like to listen to music,read a book or have quiet conversation.
Not a major issue however as the hotel and staff are too good to leave with any negative feelings.
Great location as well and great food including their Vietnamese restaurant Spice Garden
Would stay here over and over again and so should you.

Room Tip: Inner facing room Go for club room- great perks that are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Heeto,

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy all Hotel location, the ambiance of the rooms in the historical building and the service throughout the hotel. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,427)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,747 - 2,753 of 6,427 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel can take you back to another world with its colonial wing, attentive staff and magnificent bedrooms. It is a haven from the noise and pollution of the city immediately outside. It is conveniently placed in the city centre but still quiet.

Room Tip: The old wing is the most beautiful
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Sunny168,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I am happy that you enjoyed hotel services, atmosphere and tranquil location.

We look forward to your next visit to our place.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

we recently stayed 9 nights in a club room in the opera wing. We were 2 adults plus a seven year old child. Most reviewers have said it all already. It is a fabulous hotel with very well trained wonderful staff and facilities. Great pick up service at the airport including a drinks menu in the Limousine! Check in was dealt with by Mr. Hung in the butler service and was done in our room as soon as we arrived - great when you have a small child asleep in your arms after a long journey. There is a great choice of restaurants in the hotel and we found that we didn't eat out much away from the hotel.
We particularly enjoyed La Terrasse where we could sit each evening and watch the world go by. Special mention to Phuong and the wonderful staff there. The club lounge on the seventh floor was a haven for breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktails and for providing computer access and iPads to keep our 7 year old amused. The hotel is very central and only a short walk from Hoan Kiem lake ,the old quarter and the shopping streets of the French quarter. We had quite long stay compared to other people so we got to know the hotel and it's staff well and we were heartbroken leaving. For those who think this hotel is expensive, try going to an equivalent hotel with the same service levels in a capital city anywhere else and you will realise what good value you have got.This was our second time in Hanoi but our first staying in the Metropole-we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
1  Thank TomHayes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear TomHayes2014,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and really appreciated the beauty of our guest room and the efficiency of service from our staff. Great that you enjoy the tranquil of the hotel in the chaotic city of Hanoi.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayes at Vong Xua hotel 2 nights in March. The staff was very friendly and always smile with us. Breakfast was good. The room was very clean and warm. We fell comfortable and happy when we went to Ha Noi and stayed here. I loved our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dothuy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Dothuy3,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other Tripadvisor surfers. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi and enjoyed our friendly service in a comfortable setting.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Highly recommended if one wishes to splurge on luxury. Located in the heart of the city, within few minutes walk away from the Hoan Kiem Lake, the hotel offers a great sense of luxury and rich with history. The architecture of the hotel (new and old wings) still maintains the old French colonial style. Its staff are so attentive and helpful, one can't ask for more.

It offers the best breakfast spread and also high-tea.

Especially for room guests, must book ahead for the daily tour of the hotel and the bomb shelter located below the swimming pool. It was disappointing as my friend and I didn't know about the tour until we checked in. The hotel only offers 2 tours a day (5 pm and 6 pm) for 10 pax only. The tour is complimentary.

Overall, a pleasant and luxurious experience. Will definitely return for my next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phait_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Phait_lee,

It was a real delight that you have enjoyed our service, location, history background and especially the room in the historical wing. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

I am looking forward to your next visit.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed for 4 days in April in the old building--the only place to stay! It's like 2 hotels. We love the ambiance and old fashioned service which is always superb, and the Club and Bamboo bar are both tops, food very classic and good. Rooms are luxurious with very plush bedding. Some downsides, breakfast is very expensive, we preferred free coffee and tea in our rooms and then street food from the area. The location is great so near the lake and shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
1  Thank jackcasey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Jackcasey2014,

Thank you for recommending Sofitel Legend Metropole , I am delighted that your stay in Hanoi was an enjoyable one and you made the most of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Location: Slightly out of the way of the Hustle and bustle of Vietnam but right in the french quarter
Rooms: Just perfect, stylish, bed was amazing as was the bathroom
Breakfast: Didn't eat in the hotel for breakfast
Service: Very friendly staff, always helpful and would do anything to help.

The hotel was perfect at the end of a busy 2 weeks

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear MarkJ,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

I am glad that you like our bed room and enjoy our services.We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 598 in Hanoi
2,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#69 of 598 in Hanoi
1,865 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 598 in Hanoi
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £164 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing