We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Truly Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #40 of 577 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Truly Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We'll this hotel certainly surpassed my expectations. I expected it to be old world in every way with old fashioned service. The truth is it carries it's magnificent history proudly whilst adopting every modern feature of a true 5 star hotel. This was one of my very best hotel experiences in recent years. Impeccable rooms and flawless service throughout all areas of the hotel. Very friendly and highly professional staff throughout. You feel special staying here, and while it may be expensive for Hanoi it is very inexpensive for what you get. This feels like home away from home and you are made to feel part of the family. The location is perfect in the French Quarter. Everything is walking distance. The staff are so proud of the hotels history, it's wonderful to see. The restaurants are also good, the food is not perfect in both Spices Garden and Angelina, but still very good. Excellent service in the restaurants. Terrific daily breakfasts. Prices are quite high for food and beverages but as everything else is such a pleasure you overlook it. I loved this hotel, I would not stay anywhere else in Hanoi. A magic experience I intend to repeat. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: The Historical Wing oozes atmosphere and has every mod-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.
It is our true passion to create long-lasting memories and create a home away from home.

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy all the facilities the hotel has to offer like our French and Veitnamese restaurants. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty as well.

The entire team wants to thank you for your grand words and is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,803
    851
    213
    54
    29
See reviews for
1,066
3,000
275
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was in Hanoi on business and I decided to stay the weekend. Having stayed before up at the Intercontinental West Lake I wasn't sure if this was going to be relaxing enough.

But it certainly was. After a morning gym, I settled in to a the great breakfast with the freshest croissants. I preferred to sit in the old wing for breakfast. The sun was shining and I sank into one of the comfy deck chairs next to the pool. For the rest of the day I bathed in the sunshine, dipped into the pool to cool off, and was waited on hand and foot by the great staff. Awesome cocktails

When you get bored and want a trip into town - you only have to walk 5 minutes and you are next to Hoan Kiem lake

The rooms are very light and breezy - I stayed in the new wing.

All-in-all whether for business or pleasure this is the hotel to stay in when in Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Max J,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have had a wonderful time in Hanoi as well as in Sofitel Legend Metropole. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

One of the nicest hotel stays we've had a long time. Great service, food, refreshments and comfort. Staff were friendly and professional. Room stylish, well-appointed and spacious. The king bed in a grand premium room (Opera wing) was superbly comfortable. Hermes toiletries a nice touch and comfy robes.

The lunch in the Vietnamese restaurant was a great food experience. Had dinner in the French restaurant as well, very impressed. Drinks around the pool was a must after a day out in the city, plus the evening drinks and nibbles in the lounge hit the spot.

The hotel helped in organising a day tour to Tam Coc, ‘the inland Halong Bay’. Very interesting tour with fascinating scenery - got to see some of the rural area around Hanoi.

Hotel seems very well maintained and run, was quite busy during our stay with couples and groups. Would definitely stay again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yank7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Yank7,

Thanks for your recent post on Trip Advsior, we work hard at continually trying to improve our service to our guests and feedback like yours is a terrific tool for us.

I am pleased we were able to get you a room that was to your liking and loved to hear you enjoyed lunch and dinners in our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed twice during our trip to Viet-Nam; one night to connect the next evening with the overnight train to Lao Cai and Sapa, and again for five days. Both stays were in the old wing, not the "opera" wing. The room assigned during the second stay faced the courtyard; the bathrooms are very modern with the usual conveniences and accessories. The service was exceptional -- twice when I experienced a special request or issue, an assistant manager searched me out in the hotel to advise that the issue was resolved. Very personal service. The food in the Vietnamese restaurant was wonderful; especially the home made rice wine. The breakfast buffet was exceptional; many varieties of cuisine to choose from; both Vietnamese and Western food prepared to order. Yes, expensive, but well worth the cost for the enjoyment of a six-star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Richard A,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Great that you enjoyed our personal services and our food at the Spices Garden and Le Beaulieu restaurants. These are our guest's favourite spaces in the hotel and agree good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed in this hotel last year. We stayed in the old wing while our friends stayed in the new wing.
The hotel is a magnificent example of colonial architecture and old world style. It is like stepping back in time.
I would definitely recommend staying in the old wing which retains the style and grace of a bygone era. The new wing, while classy cannot compare.
The staff were friendly but very professional.
Overall, an experience of a life time. Definitely a tick off the 'bucket list' .

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 25444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear 25444,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us, and we are delighted that our services have pleased you. Each day, we do strive to provide only the finest experiences for our guests.

We are proud to share your sentiments with the rest of team, as this will inspire them to delight even more guests in future. We do hope you will be one of them once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here at the very end of April/early May as part of a SE asian vacation. We actually had two stays. First, for two nights after arriving in Hanoi from Luang Prabang. And again for one night after sandwiching in an overnight junk cruise on Halong Bay. We stayed in the Opera wing both times, but for our final night we had an upgraded room (very worthwhile) which included lounge access and late checkout. I'm certain that both parts of the hotel have their respective virtues. However, whichever you choose, you really can't go wrong here. This is an outstanding property from top to bottom. It's classy and the public areas are beautiful, as are the outfits worn by the women who work in the lobby and at reception. The food is excellent as is the service. When we were departing after our final night we were booked on an 11:50pm departure to Tokyo. They let us keep our room until 4:00pm then offered us another room to keep our things and have a chance to take a shower, etc. That was a nice touch. We also enjoyed our massages at the spa, which were not unreasonably priced given what they get at many luxury hotels. Do not miss the lobby of the original hotel,which might be the best example of a French or British colonial hotel that I have seen anywhere. Really, it's right out of a movie, but better. If and when we return to Hanoi this will certainly be the place.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with lounge access if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank medtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Medtraveler2013,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us, and we are delighted that our services have pleased you. Each day, we do strive to provide only the finest experiences for our guests.

We are proud to share your sentiments with the rest of team, as this will inspire them to delight even more guests in future. We do hope you will be one of them once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel.

Best regards,

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here as a single traveler and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was my first stop on a trip to Vietnam and Cambodia and was a great way to 'dip my toe' into the trip. The service at the hotel made it easy to begin experiencing a totally different culture but still have a Western touch so I wasn't overwhelmed. The service and room were wonderful. I love to try new foods and their breakfast buffet was perfect! They had selections from all different cultures.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weimowner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Weimoowner1,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is a great pleasure to read that you were able to enjoy a nice stay with us.

We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#65 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#17 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Destinology and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing