We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Legendary Metropole”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We wanted to stay in the old city center, so that we could walk, explore and experience Hanoi firsthand. We selected the Sofitel Legend Metropole based on its TripAdvisor rating, and its apparent charm. We were not disappointed. Born in the early 1900's, and restored/expanded recently, the hotel retains its old world sophistication, while offering top level services. We enjoyed a wonderful, large club room in the new section. The service staff was extraordinarily warm and helpful. We also booked several tours with the concierge, one of which we highly recommend: the Street Food tour of old Hanoi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Robert M,

Our utmost reward is to hear satisfied guests therefore the whole team and I thank you for your words of praise.

We genuinely love to pamper our guests. We can't help it as we have a passion for them.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,913 - 2,919 of 6,726 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a spacious room in the old wing (room 317 – seems bigger than other rooms except suites). Comfortable and well-appointed. The service was excellent throughout and the policy – explained on check-in – of “no tips” is good.
The food was pretty good although we only ate in one of three restaurants - their Vietnamese restaurant. Bar food was like most bar food but probably a bit more interesting and perfectly good. The bars - one inside and one by the pool - were very comfortable.
Eating in the hotel is a lot more expensive than in restaurants outside and in a different league to street food (which is excellent). For example the hotel brunch is 1.65mVND per head while 40,000VND will buy a good street food lunch!
The bunker tour is excellent – a lot more than just about the air raid bunker in the cellar, it provides a good overview of 20th Century Vietnamese history.

Room Tip: Old wing has more character - room 317 seemed to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nka5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear nka5355,

thank you very much for your comprehensive, positive feedback!

I am glad to hear that we have provided you with outstanding levels of service throughout your stay. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such standards.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived very late at night and it seemed like the whole staff was waiting up for us.The service was above and beyond excellent, the room in the Opera Wing was gorgeous, and the food at the Vietnamese restaurant in the hotel was delicious(as was the breakfast that was served there, at least 40 choices).
The bomb shelter was an interesting, if disturbing, attraction, but the tour is worth trying(if you have time, it tends to go a bit long).
We could walk to the old quarter and around the lake, so its a wonderful location.
We would stay again if we returned to Hanoi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear DianaO,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of the great services throughout the hotel.

We are happy that you enjoy the bomb shelter tour. Infact we are very proud of our historians in the hotel and the history tour we established for our hotel guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels world over but this is one of the best. I was pleasantly surprised as in my experience Accor tend to "corporatise" their properties into efficient but rather characterless hotels. But the Metropole is quite simply a "worlds best". Accor have done a fantastic job in restoring this heritage property.

Service was a 10/10 . The room and the heritage wing full of character. The bars and restaurants we re also very good.

As a big indicator of the attitude of the hotel when we checked in there was some minor work going on in the lobby area. I asked for a room well away from any construction noise. The receptionist told me not to worry and that all rooms in anyway affected had been blocked out. Compare that with most hotels where you find a letter in the room advising "that in order to serve our clients better we are renovating...and apologies for any inconvienince" (which translates as "we will wake you up at 8 am with construction noise and dont try and have a siesta...").

I stayed in the Heritage Wing so I have no comment on the new Opera section.

I'd recommend the tour of the old air-raid shelter.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Singbob,

Thank you for sharing with us your great feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I am happy that you especially enjoyed the services offered by our ambassadors throughout the hotel.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

From the time we arrived and checked in to the time we left this hotel this hotel excelled . Our room was fantastic, breakfast to die for, the location wonderful. We had upgraded through our tour company,Kensington, for this hotel and were so happy we did. The staff was so friendly and elegant. The French touches put you in Paris at a third of the price. Would go again in a minute.

Room Tip: We were in the new section facing the pool. No street or any other kind of noise outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savannahswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Savannahswimmer,

Thank you for taking the time to share the recent experience you have had at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the services of our team, the comfort of your room as well as the quality of our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back at Metropole Hanoi.

Best regards,

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Beautiful hotel, nicely decorated rooms, outstanding service, good location, an oasis of piece in the big city! Breakfast choice is overwhelming, egg station , noodle station, fresh pastries, fresh juices..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelgiumFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear BelgiumFlywer,

Thank you for your nice feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights over a long weekend and had a great time. We stayed in the Old wing which was just superb. Rooms are smaller and slightly darker than in the new wing but we much preferred staying on the older side as the history of the place really makes you feel like you are in Hanoi.

Staff and service were just fantastic. Great breakfast spread and the cocktails around the pool on hot days are superb.

Really the only place I would stay again in Hanoi

Room Tip: If you are more interested in the history and heritage, stay in the old wing. The new wing is brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Graham W,

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that.

We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Ha Pham
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#43 of 606 in Hanoi
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#100 of 606 in Hanoi
2,396 reviews
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 606 in Hanoi
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £167 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing