We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely Legend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #45 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The most beautiful Sofitel property that I have seen in Asia! Established in 1901 but still very well maintained. As Accor member our room was upgraded and since we visited Vietnam for our anniversay, I also received beautiful roses han bouquet n hand made chocolate with hand writings note from hotel management! What a lovely experience!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sigarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sigarfield,

We were very delighted to welcoming you for your anniversary. This is such a special occasion that we had to pamper both of you all the way!

We were extremely proud to hear about our high level of services and I will pass on your kind words to my team as an encouragement to keep on providing such high level of service.

We look forward to your next stay and thank you.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,422)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,638 - 2,644 of 6,422 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was hee hawing about whether I should get a simple hotel to stay in while in Hanoi.
After quite a few recommendations, I was urged to spend a little more and book the Sofitel Legend Metropole.

When I arrived, I did not regret that decision one bit.

Yes you will pay a premium for this hotel. Yes you will pay a premium for breakfast ( mine didnt have it included) . But my oh my. They kept the old school charm about the entire hotel. All staff were friendly and very helpful.

Rooms were very comfortable, full amenities provided. Breakfast again was not cheap, but it was a full on buffet of continental, western and vietnamese fare. And it was good.

Location of the hotel was pretty central to both the French and the old quarters. Easily walking distance for the two.

Overall a very happy experience. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vodoxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Vodoxus,

It was a joy for us to welcome you and I am glad to hear that you have had such a great experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel itself is very nice. We stayed in the Opera wing which we thought would have a view of the Opera House but all it had was a view of the street with parked bikes. We found the attitude of the staff very impersonal and got the impression that unless you were there on business they were not interested. Out of the four hotels we stayed in during our Vietnam tour this as the most
dissapointing.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JandMBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear JandMBowers,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Metropole Hanoi

We sincerely regret about your experience with the attitude of the staff during your stay with us.

While those individuals do not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve and it is not what we aim to deliver to our guests. I would like to apologize for the discomforts you have experienced during your stay and have instructed our training department and the managers in charge to look into this.

Again, please accept our apologies and thank you for your loyalty. We hope that you will consider staying at our hotel again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Best regards,

Franck Lafourade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June, staying in a premium room in the Opera Wing. The room was on the small-ish side, but it was beautifully decorated and had everything you would need. The style of the hotel is French Colonial, and everywhere in the hotel is stylish. We had drinks in the Italian bar, in the conservatory by the pool, and ate in the French restaurant. Drinks were great, and happy hour was a nice touch, but the French meal left a little to be desired. Service was good, food only OK. And it was very pricey.

The staff were all friendly and incredibly efficient and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble.

The pool area was lovely, under-used by other guests so very peaceful, and we also used the spa which gave very good treatments.

The only thing that was a bit of a shock to us is that people were allowed to smoke in the bars and restaurants - you get so used to non-smoking rules in the UK and indeed many other countries, so going to a hotel in a country where it is still the norm to smoke indoors comes as a bit of an unpleasant surprise, though not the fault of the hotel, and when we asked to be seated away from smokers they did this willingly.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJM_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear DJM_MP,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Indeed every guest is important to us and we do our utmost to have him/her spend magnificent moments at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

I take on board your comment about the smoking situation in our restaurant and bar however as an in-house policy, we do not allow smoking inside the restaurant/bar with only the exception in our Angelina steak house.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Firstly, I would like to point out that we rarely write reviews. This must give an indication of the weight of this review!

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi over Chinese New Year 2014 and were extremely impressed by the exceptional efforts of the concierge office, notably Ms Ha and Mr Tuan. On the first day we arrived, (one day before check in as we were to depart for Halong Bay and simply dropping of luggage) we asked if we might have a place to freshen up since we had just got off a sleeper train from Sapa. We were speedily given a key to a lovely room on the 3rd floor.

After departure, we realized my husband had left his wallet on the counter of the concierge. After telephoning, we were shortly informed that the Sofitel had his wallet and it would surely be returned to him.

On the second day of our actual stay there, I lost a compact Canon Ixus camera in one of the Mai Linh taxi. I was devastated at having lost all the photos from the holiday, not to mention a very good compact camera. My husband and I had pretty much written off the camera, but thought perhaps we could speak to Sofitel and see if they could help us to try to locate the camera - just in case.

The efforts of Ms Ha and Mr Nguyen Trong Tuan were absolutely exceptional. They helped us to contact the taxi company and answer all their questions, which went into a lot of detail about where the taxi had collected and dropped us. Their level of English was superb. Ms Ha communicated all this information to the taxi company and then Mr Tuan negotiated with the taxi company to come to Sofitel and deliver the camera for checking himself (the taxi company had asked us to go to their depot which was very far but he persuaded them to come to Sofitel). Mr Tuan himself checked the camera against our passport photo and then informed us of the good (not to say miraculous) news that the camera had been returned! The concierge simply told us what Good Fortune the New Year had brought us and so we were so happy to see the camera and they had done ALL the chasing for us.

In addition, on two occasions we had breakfast at the Sofitel and on both occasions the restaurant observed that I had only eaten really from the continental selection (with a few minor exceptions) and so charged only my husband for a full breakfast and me for a continental. A small gesture – but one we really appreciated!

The service by every member of staff we came across was outstanding and we appreciated the historic décor and elegance of the hotel. We very much enjoyed an evening of jazz at le Club where the small jazz trio played beautifully. We also recommend the Charlie Chaplin Martini that comes with a tasty lemon sorbet on the side! My husband was green with envy at my choice of beverage!

A word on finance. The Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi is, of course, expensive, but its fees are at least in line with Hanoi prices/local economy making this one more affordable than many cities would be. Typically of Sofitel, you get what you pay for and have a lovely experience! We were disappointed to find that elsewhere in Hanoi taxi drivers/ shops/ restauranters would be happy to try to charge four times what was actually a realistic price because we were tourists. Who knows if we had stayed elsewhere whether we would have retrieved our camera whose photos were priceless to us?!

We have previously very much enjoyed staying at Sofitel Macau and this stay in Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi simply serves to reinforce our enthusiasm for this top notch chain of Hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Rosie M,

I am extremely thankful to all of your compliments regarding the high standards of services delivered all over the hotel areas.

We then look forward to welcoming you back both for business and leisure purposes.

Best regards,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Tranquil and elegant oasis in the middle of Hanoi, just perfect......

The attention to detail is first class

The hotel staff are at a very high standard, and are very attentive just at the right moment

The hotel is situated in a perfect location for all

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Barry B,

What a wonderful experience you had at The Metropole Hanoi! Thank you for sharing this on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed located in the heart of the city and we offer an oasis of tranquility. It is a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed the attention to detail and the high standard of the hotel staff.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Franck Lafourade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in June 2014. Nice ambience in an old style colonial building, lovely rooms and attentive staff. Good location in the heart of city, close to the Old Quarter. Breakfast was a lovely spread of local and western breakfast foods.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJulianOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Dr. Julian Ong,

Thank you for your nice feedback, I am glad to hear that you felt very well looked after by the entire team and that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 596 in Hanoi
2,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 596 in Hanoi
1,862 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 596 in Hanoi
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £159 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing