We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly special hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #45 of 595 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent one night at the Sofitel and were blown away at how lovely this hotel is. From the elegant check-in staff to the very helpful pool staff, you can tell quality customer service is very important to everyone who works there. We had a room in the Opera Wing which was modern and very comfortable - albeit a smallish room. We had a twin room and the beds are very close together, and could be awkward unless you are travelling with someone you're comfortable with. We had a drink and spring rolls by the pool and they were sensational. The pool is big and great way to escape the Hanoi heat. This isn't a cheap hotel but it really is a special place to spend a night or two. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Sydsouth,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

I am glad that you appreciated great front desk services, swimming pool and our delicious food.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,422)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,592 - 2,598 of 6,422 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this lovely hotel - the service was great, and always with a smile. The breakfast buffet had variety and was delicious. the room and bed were comfortable. The only downside was the noise - I could hear noise from people in the halls as well as what sounded like construction outside, which was unexpected as my room overlooked the courtyard and not the street.

Room Tip: Stay in the historic (Opera) wing for the charm and character
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smilintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Smilintraveler,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

I regret about the noise coming from the corridor and will ensure that on future stays we will do our upmost to provide a room far from the corridor which are more friendly to our light sleeper travellers and also a room away from any potential noise.

Could you advise us with your room number so we could update your profile at h1555-gm3@sofitel.com?

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel looks like a property out of the 1920's. The property is elegant, sophisticated and elegant. We loved the experience. The staff is courteous and most professional. The biggest negative is some of equipment didn't work properly (as in the sink drain in my room.). The property is in close proximity of many local attractions. The breakfast was great but maybe too much was provided. The hotel has much history so take one of the two guided tours available daily.

Room Tip: Ask for view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Woodmister,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your recent experience in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your comment about the sink drain in your room is well noted and I will have my director of engineering look into it immediately. May I have your room number please?

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were able to take advantage of the reduced summer rates and loved every minute of our time here. Staff was very friendly, room was perfect, hotel is gorgeous. What a great getaway! Recommend the club package and breakfast included. Everyone told us to stay at the Sofitel and we've never enjoyed a hotel so much!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveler444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear travel444444,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us, and we are delighted that our services and accomodation have pleased you. Each day, we do strive to provide only the finest experiences for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is an outstanding hotel in a sea of chaos that is Hanoi . Most of you like us are probably here on the way to or from Ha Long Bay . It is an extremely well appointed stop over. Fabulous service with luxurious rooms . A nice pool with outdoor bar to relax by and plenty of old world French history . Even a bomb shelter from the Vietnam war underneath that is accessible and part of a tour. Only place I will stay in Hanoi in future

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank aussiedarkhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Aussiedarkhorse,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am happy to hear you consider us as the only place to stay in Hanoi.

Our utmost reward is to read our guests satisfaction. The team and I are grateful to you for taking the time to drop some extremely positive words about your experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

My Team and I look forward to your return visit to our property.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 10 days in July 2014 - it was meant to be 14 but I decided to check out early as I was appalled at the way I was treated. On arrival they took a 2-week deposit which is frozen in your account so you can't use then they insisted that I pay the full bill every week. I couldn't do that as I needed the credit on my credit card for a 5-week stay in Vietnam. The combination of big frozen deposits and bills would mean I would be out of money by week 4. I explained my situation to the Duty Manager but he refused to budge and then sent me a threatening letter under my door!

I was amazed as I'm a Gold Card Member with Sofitel and stay 50+ nights a year with Sofitel. I was told that it was nothing to do with me just policy of the hotel - so I checked out.

Shame as it's one of the best Hotels I've stayed at so make sure you only stay a day or so.

Room Tip: The old side of the hotel is better as it's traditional and has a strong colonial ambience.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Keith Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Another delightful 5 D stay this time in a suite in the new wing at this top notch hotel. Since we had visited Hanoi previously we spent more time enjoying this "Old Dame". Service, food, comfort, decoration,all was up to our high expectations. If you can go for the Club level rooms/ suites, you won't regret it. Aside from all the above the charm is everywhere. The hotel is a destination in itself.
One needs to spend some time to carefully choose the type of room which suits you as there are quite a number of them. We visited some rooms/suites facing the street and they were quiet at the time: true nobody was honking but they have done a great job with the soundproofing of the windows.
The italian restaurant Angelina has great pastas/ risotto and we discovered at Beaulieu the Lobster Bisque: the preparation in front of your eyes is quite a show!
Only issue was the lone guy smoking cigar on a lounge chair by the pool and forcing all the others around him to "enjoy".Need to have a separate area for the very very few smokers.
Overall, clearly THE place to stay in Vietnam where history meets sophistication and charm.
We''ll be back to this Legend soon !

Room Tip: In our opinion if you choose the old wing, it may be wiser to ask for a room on the street. On one s...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank duvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear duvilla,

Thank you for so much praise in your magnifique feedback. Indeed we try our utmost to satisfy all guests requests and even beyond their expectations.

I thank you also for pointing out our highest standards of service throughout the hotel.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 595 in Hanoi
2,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 595 in Hanoi
1,862 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 595 in Hanoi
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £158 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing