We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly blissful! Wanted to live here....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wow, wow and more wow's. My jaw ached from smiling so much after staying here as I was blown away by the best hotel experience I have ever encountered. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a room attached for the kids. The room was magnificent and spacious and had a glorious look out to the manicured gardens.

The club is superb with fantastic options for breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail hour. Go the club it is worth it all the way.

The french detail and service at this hotel makes the George v in Paris look like a one star hotel and it was much cheaper. Staff great you by name and everything is warm and genuine. I loved this place and Hanoi. We will be back soon. Thank you for your kindness and the ultimate hotel experience.

Room Tip: Go the club level rooms. Worth every cent extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank susanPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear SusanperthAustralia,

I am extremely thankful to all of your compliments regarding the high standards of services delivered all over the hotel areas.

We then look forward to welcoming you back both for business and leisure purposes.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,659 - 2,665 of 6,554 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank suseew0112
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights in July 2014. The hotel is very central in Hanoi near Hoan Kiem lake. It is within walking distance of the Old Quarter (maybe 20 minutes). It is in the French Quarter which is a less crowded than the Old Quarter.

Given Hanoi is such a busy city it was very nice to have such a relaxing hotel to retreat to from time to time. The facilities are excellent, pool area is very nice and quiet and the restaurants and bars all serve excellent food.

Without doubt what we were most impressed with in this hotel was the staff. They were without exception very attentive, professional & friendly. All staff had excellent attention to detail.

We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning. The range of food was excellent and the hotel's French influence showed through in the brilliant range of freshly baked pastries and breads. Lunch and dinner in the hotel were also excellent with a choice of Vietnamese and Western foods. The cocktails served in both bars were also top notch. Prices are expensive by Vietnamese standards but not by Western standards (most main courses in the range of €10-€20). It is worth venturing out for lunch and dinner however given the excellent range of restaurants in Hanoi.

In summary, there was nothing to find fault with in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear David B,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have had a wonderful time in Hanoi as well as in Sofitel Legend Metropole. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is a beautiful building nestled in a relatively quiet area near Hoan Kiem Lake and convenient to the Old Quarter of Hanoi. Based on its displays of old photos and artifacts, the Metropole has long been an iconic destination. It provides very pleasant, relaxing poolside bar and dining facilities that seem almost contrived to create an ambience of separation from the hotel’s surroundings. Rather than an oasis, it seems to serve as a refuge for guests who seem to seek that sense of escape.

The rooms I had – stayed there twice in three days – were both spacious, very comfortable, beautifully decorated. They had great beds and air flow that together provided for excellent sleeping conditions. I had breakfast room service – juice, breads, fruits and coffee - both times. All were excellent and very aesthetically presented.

The staff is outstanding, without exception. You are treated like royalty.

The most confusing aspect of the hotel is its two entrances at opposite ends of the building on different streets. It always seems a bit disorienting when trying figure out where a waiting friend or a waiting car is.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjaydobleyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear arjaydobleyoo,

thank you very much for your comprehensive, positive feedback!

I am glad to hear that we have provided you with outstanding levels of service throughout your stay. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such standards.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and loved the hotel for its character, staff, cleanliness, amazing breakfasts, beds and location. Quite shocked at prices for food in restaurant. $45 for club sandwiches for 2 is ridiculous. I would suggest crossing the road out the front, heading down the street opposite and finding several gorgeous restaurants at less than half the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear USAbound,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel character, cleaniless, breakfast and the location.

Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value for money given our central location and extensive facilities. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our deepest apologies for the price of sandwiches in the restaurant which is 35US$net for two.

Thank you very much for your kind understanding and we look forward to your next visit to our place.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Cleanliness, politeness, breakfast, general environment are all first class and as you would expect.
Disappointments however linger long enough for us to search elsewhere when we return. These include ordinary lunch and dinner food preparation (better than average however short of expectations), disappointing live music (no vocal, no personality, short brackets, average standard), and a pool that is more of an overcrowded Eastern European 'club' pool (small, with too many people heating the pool). No fruit in room and coffee/tea bags not replenished for day 2 (it's the little things).
Not disappointing and all in all very nice. Just not as sharp as we anticipated.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear tastytucker,

I thank you for your generous feedback about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi as well as about our Cleanliness, politeness, breakfast and general environment.

I take note of your comment about our food, music and the swimming pool and will look into reviewing with our team.

I look forward to your return visit to the hotel.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A really lovely welcome at this beautiful hotel - a cool retreat from the heat of Hanoi. Our room was perfect and the flowers and chocolates and card received for our honeymoon were very much appreciated. Wonderful service from genuinely caring staff only wish we had been able to stay longer. This hotel has a wonderful feel and evokes an era of a time gone by.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed - original or opera wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Caroline M,

I am truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi in Tripadvisor.

I am so glad that you have enjoyed our service and our staff are receptive and attentive to your every need and really make your stay a memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 600 in Hanoi
2,309 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#42 of 600 in Hanoi
777 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 600 in Hanoi
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#19 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £176 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing