We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Soft landing" indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I rarely give 5 stars - but it was hard to come up with a reason not to.

The Metropole is tasteful and pleasing in every detail, from the thoughtfulness of supplying both warm/cuddly and light/slinky dressing gowns to chose from, to the super fine mist taking the edge off the Hanoi heat in the outdoor cocktail area (incidentally, the lychee, pineapple, mint, lime & vodka cocktail is one of the most refreshing things I have ever drunk... though it will set you back around 30 times the cost of a locally made beer nearby).

The hotel feels somehow small & intimate, though it isn't. The décor throughout the hotel is absolutely beautiful, and very evocatively Vietnamese in feel - not your usual bland hotel fare at all. There are enormous flower arrangements everywhere and pretty fairy lights in the garden. The rooms are comfortable and pleasing to the eye, and a wide range of quality bathroom products is provided.

Staff are exquisitely dressed in traditional Vietnamese garb (long white silk dresses and little hats), and the service is top notch. They have a "no tipping" policy, but in my opinion it's a policy that should be ignored! Remember that you are a wealthy traveller living the life of Riley (even if only for a night) and the staff here really do bend over backwards to make your stay perfect.

The tariff is quite high by Vietnamese standards, but if you're from many other parts of the world it will be far superior to anything you'll experience back home for the same price. (We paid roughly the equivalent of a basic 3-4 star hotel in Sydney for a suite here). This is one of the world's classic hotels and I do recommend you stay here while in Vietnam if you can. We stayed two nights before slipping out into the real world.

When I told my boss of our plans he said "Ahh... The Metropole - that's a nice soft landing" - and it certainly was.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the historical wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Wonderlust74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Wonderlust74,

thank you for your detailed, very personal feedback.

I was extremely pleased to read the summary of your comment in such words of praise. We genuinely put a lot into exceeding our guests expectations and I am truly glad to hear that we have achieved our aim with you.

Thank you for recommending us so well.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,660 - 2,666 of 6,617 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have spent two wonderful nights in this hotel surrounded by luxury, charm, comforts, unparalleled service, great hospitality standard and fantastic stay. The rooms are greatly cared in details and fitted with luxury. There is Excellency in every aspects. In restaurants and reception including in room service ice and restaurant recreational areas. I just think this is a great choice

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfjlawai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Jfjlavai,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure for us to hear satisfied guests as we genuinely love to look after them. We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It is truly superb hotel in term of history, location and facilities. I stayed at this hotel 3 nights during my Vietnam business trip. Hotel is strategically located in the heart of old Hanoi, very easy to access to old town, Hoam Kiem Lake and other major attractions.

However there are some issues during my stay. I booked hotel Limo for airport transfer because I need a smooth check in and rush for a teleconference after arrival at hotel. However, seem there is miscommunication between check in, limo and booking staff. Staff did not expect my arrival. There are also two buildings (old and new), they both have separate check in counter. I was taken to the old wing but my room was in new wing. So I was late for my teleconference after all these delays.

I decide to give some feedback to duty manager next day regarding my limo and check in experience. The duty manager did not want to knowledge my experience and try to ask me " are you first time at our hotel?" Yes I was first time here at this hotel. Then he goes on telling me " we always bring our guest to old building". Really? So guest could drag luggages cross the hotel to new building and be late for the next meeting? It was very strange way dealing with complaint. I found the local Vietnamese staff are friendly and helpful but these international staff seem very superficial.

In the evening, I received a phone call from another manager apologised for my experience. She called me again next day, and invited me for a drink at bar. She told me she checked camera record and acknowledged what I said was true and again apologised for my experience. Thank you!

The hotel has this beautiful deli bakery on site. Food is great and you can charge everything into your room as well. Breakfast is good but nothing special. I also used gym and spa at hotel. It is pretty good and highly recommended.

My room is pretty good, wifi is free, bed is very comfortable, bathroom is in good condition. It is very good and expensive hotel, but I am not sure I want to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank melbcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Melbcollege,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Metropole Hanoi

We sincerely regret about your experience with the check-in process and with one of our duty managers. As for all first time guest in the hotel, we will welcome the guest in the historical wing of the hotel just to show them our historical and colonial feeling as well as the hotel architecture while we were not aware that you were going to be late for the teleconference.

We have shared your comment with our team and they understand and appreciate your sincere feedback. We will review the way we communicate with our guest to prevent it from happening in the future.

Again, please accept our apologies for the discomforts. We hope that you will consider staying at our hotel again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Warm regards,

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a pleasant stay with excellent service received in our 2 days stay.
Staff were very attentive and exceedingly helpful.
Tasted the Sun Brunch at Le Bealieu and food was superby.
Food from the other 2 F & B outlets was good too!


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Chong Joo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Chong Joo N,

thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to hear that our staff members have fulfilled your expectations in terms of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank sally_519
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

An absolutely beautiful hotel right in the middle of the city. The hotel itself is luxurious and the entire staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely and quiet and the pool is so relaxing. There is free wifi throughout the hotel.The location is also great as it's walking distance to the Hoan Kiem Lake and the old quarter. The hotel itself has an interesting story and they even do a tour of the history of the hotel as well as the bunker found underneath the hotel, it's a quick free tour which I would recommend.
Lounge access was helpful as they had a nice breakfast buffet along with tea time & cocktail hour which was great after a tiring day walking through Hanoi.
Overall we would love to stay here again on our next trip to Hanoi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aashoo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Ash,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our guest room and the hotel location.

We are happy that you enjoy the bomb shelter tour. Infact we are very proud of our historians in the hotel and the history tour we established for our hotel guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Legend Metropole certainly carries perfectly it's name. You can breathe the French grandeur and it seems that time has stopped during Colonialism, with all the modern facilities. The rooms and bathrooms immaculate and silent, the fitness center is very well furnished, clean and the staff is helpful. Service is excellent, Bamboo bar cocktails are worth forgetting diet as well as the amazing buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Valerie R,

I thank you for such excellent a feedback! We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests. It is therefore a great satisfaction for us to hear that you have had such a wonderful time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in our centrally located hotel.

Franck Lafourcade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 600 in Hanoi
2,338 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#43 of 600 in Hanoi
793 reviews
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 600 in Hanoi
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £175 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing