We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local stmoshere, French syle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Local stmoshere, French syle”
Reviewed 10 January 2009

This is a great well-managed hotel. Rooms, service and food are impeccable. The location is terrific. We had no problems with the hotel at all but, if you have a room facing the front, you may find the noise from the club across the street a bit much on the weekend. It can be ear-splitting until midnight. When you check in ask whether the "Press Club" across the street will be active or you might not get much sleep.
We moved to a room facing the pool and were fine. If we should be lucky enough to visit Hanoi again we would certainly stay there.

  • Liked — Rooms and food
  • Disliked — Noise from club acroos the street
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shoemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,136
    911
    219
    55
    32
See reviews for
1,145
3,196
287
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

After landing in Vietnam and driving through Hanoi to our hotel we weren't sure what to expect of the Metropole. Hanoi seemed so busy, chaotic and a bit rough around the edges.
Thankfully, the Metropole was a sanctuary away from the buzz. This is one of those rare beauties - oozing with old world charm and sophistication. The service was elegant and effortless with friendly and stylish staff.
We stayed in a room in the older section. It was large with rustic wooden floors and colonial features. The bed was not good though - it was uneven and uncomfortable. They need to be replaced or the mattresses turned regularly. The bathroom was OK but a bit odd with an internal window and French doors to the bedroom. It also featured an unusual shaped bath too.
The buffet breakfast in the hotel was excellent... we dined in the main restaurant. Lunch in the bar was very stylish... including the buffet lunch - grab a seat in the glass atrium area. We opted to have dinner at the local restaurants... as for Bobby Chin... don't bother. Wild Rice was very good... not outstanding but worth the trip outside the hotel.
The gym was excellent with the latest cardio equipment.
The hotel is central to the wonderful old quarter - the best shopping in Vietnam we thought. Take note of the wonderful shops highlighted on the hotel's map from concierge - this was our guide and it was spot on for quality Vietnamese shopping. One ceramic shop was outstanding and so cheap - we stocked up on stunning, cheap Hanoi ceramics. We bought a lot of flatware and loaded our suitcases.
We would definitely stay here again - a charming hotel in a charming city.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClassyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

This is one of the more breathtakingly beautiful hotel I have stayed at anywhere in the world. The historical context and deco creates an incredible ambience. Also, the free fruits and daily chocolate nibbles go down a treat :)

The room I stayed in was amazing but I have given one without a view. Maybe it was the cheap internet rate I booked at.

Absolute luxury.

  • Liked — The ambience
  • Disliked — A bit too pricy in my humble opinion.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank satif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

I was really excited to stay at the Metropole because it's always listed as the best hotel in Hanoi. Upon arrival, we were told our room would not be ready for 2 hours. So we left our bags and headed into the city. When we were finally able to check in, we were very pleased with the design and layout of the room. At night, the hotel provides turn down service, which was a pleasant surprise at the end of a long day walking around the city. Unfortunately, the staff was not up to par with staff at other hotels around Vietnam. When we asked for some tailors nearby so we could have clothes made, they made us walk from the Opera Wing over to the historic wing just so the concierge could give us a map to a store that we already received when we checked in. Another night we had dinner in the Bamboo Club and must have waited at least 15 minutes before we could get someone's attention for dessert and the bill. Also, when I bought some cookies at the bakery on my last night, the clerk put them in a previously used, and obviously wrinkled, cellophane bag! I was really turned off by that but was too tired to walk all the way back downstairs to ask for an exchange. Also, the soundproofing of the rooms was really poorly done. We heard neighbor's doors slamming, TV sets on, laughter late at night. These are things one really should not expect to deal with for the high prices paid at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baby8684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

There is no question that the Metropole is a beautiful property. We stayed at the newly-renovated wing, and it was really nice. The room was renovated to resemble the style and period of the hotel, and I had no quibble with any aspect of the room at all.
The hotel is also centrally located, and I found it easy to walk to the Old Quarter, Hanoi Hilton, etc.
My beef is that the staff is terrible. Like others below, I found them rude and unhelpful. Whenever we asked them for anything, they looked at us like, "if you are really going to make me do this, I will." If this were an ordinary hotel in the US, I would care less, but it purports to be the best hotel in Hanoi. In a foreign country, it is important to have staff that will help you navigate the city (make dinner reservations, get tickets, etc)--and the Metropole did not deliver.

  • Liked — Gorgeous room
  • Disliked — Terrible and unhelpful staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We stayed the the Metropole for 3 days in december. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff is very nice, the room was great and the breakfast was wonderful! It is very well located. It was a bit noisy at night since it is located close to a fun fair and a square.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

We stayed many times in Hanoi and tried many hotels. The colonial era Sofitel Metropole is the most famous place to stay in town.

Also one of the most expensive, but... The Sofitel Metropole has a quality in service, room amenties, food, public spaces, etc. that would be charge at least the double in Europe / America. For people seeking elegance and refinement, it is absolutely in higher standards than other chain hotels in the country (aka Hilton Opera, Hyatt Saigon, etc.).

The lobby is an absolutely gorgeous post art deco space with beautiful flowers, the corridor leading to the rooms (in the old wing) has been redecored with original linear patterns, rooms are flawless and extremely comfortable. Last but not least, The Sofitel Metropole holds two of Hanoi's best restaurants that must be tryied, at least for breakfast.

One of the best places to stay in Asia

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BaronBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 591 in Hanoi
1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 591 in Hanoi
2,188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#16 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing