We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #42 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

6,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,101
    905
    216
    55
    31
See reviews for
1,123
3,185
286
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

charming colonial style;
the best service I ever had in a deluxe property.top professional staff and excellent restaurants
rooms are really deluxe
most ernjoyable stay ever had in a deluxe hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophe6393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We are currently in residence in the Metropole and are enjoying every thing about the experience. Our trip to Hanoi was to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday so we were looking for something special in hotel to enhance the occassion. On looking at previous reviews on TA there was no other choice but the Sofitel so a booking was made 6 months ago to take advantage of lower rates offered.

From the moment we stepped in we were in love with the place, when we were taken to our room that was upgraded to a Suite, 278, we thought we had died and gone to heaven. A very attentive Customer Services Manager, Matte, provided us with a rundown on all the services and restaurants available. Our room in the Opera Wing is one of the best we have ever experienced in the world, great bed, separate lounge area with flat screen TV, Bose Ipod dock complete with Ipod loaded with loads of great music, it is just great to come home to a nice piece of French music to keep you in the mood that place generates. As you move thoughout the hotel the ever attentive staff greet you with a friendly, Bonjour, and at times it is hard to believe that you are in Vietnam.
We have eaten at two restaurants, the Spice Garden where we had a special Valentines Day dinner that was excellent and the French Le Beaulieu where we enjoyed the special Le Grand Cheese Buffet experience that was stunning,.
The pool area is nice but the weather currently is not warm enough for us to go in but the surrounding Le Club bar and Orangerie are very comfortable to have a quick snack and drink.
Business Centre was very helpful in sourcing a Vietnam sim card for my Iphone and even provided me with all the instructions to make cheap calls available on Vietnam's cheap network system. In room internet via cord connection is free and stable.

We have looked long and hard to find one flaw and we did, the inroom fridge was not able to maintain drinks at what I would call cold, which seems to be common in Vietnam. Only a minor point cured by an ice bucket.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Check in & welcome: We arrived at 3am in the morning and were transfered to the reception of the new wing (small minus!), but check in went very smooth and welcome was very warm and friendly
Breakfast: You can have your breakfast in 3 different restaurants! Breakfast was excellent, wide variety of food and drinks, very friendly, helpful and attentive staff
Massage: Best massage in Asia ever!
Gym: Not too big, but good enough, modern equipment, it is a little bit too cool in there
Business Center: Good equipment, very supportive staff
Bamboo Bar at the pool: Enjoyed very good drinks in a beautiful, picturesque and romantic setting
Dinner at Spices Restaurant: Very delicious and recommendable!
Deli: Yummy macarons!
Service level: My husband got sick and the staff cared about him in a perfect way - they brought medicine, tea and cookies, etc. without invoicing anything. This was really the most perfect service level!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Don't be fooled if you somehow end up on the wrong side of this two-faced hotel: one modern, one Old World. We arrived at the hotel late at night -- our first in Vietnam -- and were disappointed to walk into a cold modern hotel lobby that looked like every contemporary boutique hotel in any city in the U.S. But when we were led to our rooms, we were led through a hallway and then courtyard into another era, the much lauded historic French wing of the hotel. Our room was pretty but quite small with lots of Asian influences.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivs317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

This is a great hotel in many ways,perfect location half a block from Hoan Kiem Lake, is a real plus right in the heart of old Hanoi within easy walking distance of all the major tourist attractions.superb service, good breakfast and a very cosy atmosphere.the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and I got the feeling they really cared about the hotel.we only stayed for two nights and got upgraded to an executive club room,Our room was well equipped and you can just imagine some of the history of the place when you relax on the chaise,with fantastic with free cocktails and posh breakfast in the club room. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parker066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We kicked off our Vietnam vacation with the Sofitel Metropole. Our very first night we realized that we would be spoiled for the rest of our trip. Our room in the main building of the hotel was lovingly decorated with period touches, including pencil sketches of daily life in 19th century Vietnam. Our bathroom included a rain shower, whirlpool tub, and L'occitane amenities.

The managers of this hotel deserve credit for getting all of their staff on board with providing excellent service. Although some of the staff had limited English, they all sought to go above and beyond their duties to ensure that we were comfortable.

We didn't see as much as Hanoi as planned as we fell in love with the Bamboo Bar and ended up dining in and staying for a night cap.

This hotel is a destination in itself. My fiancee and I are planning another trip to Vietnam just so that we can stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diplogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 588 in Hanoi
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#14 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, ACCOR, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing