We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best hotels i know” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #41 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“one of the best hotels i know”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

i have been a long time traveller and stayed in many great hotels. the metropole hanoi, however, has something that other places often miss: a lot of caché! they really succeeded in keeping the indochine atmosphere alive, without overdoing it. the rooms are spacious and extremely well done (in the opera wing, where i stayed), simple but cozy and luxurious.
a truly great experience and i would only stay at the metropole if i go back to hanoi.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,876
    870
    213
    54
    29
See reviews for
1,078
3,052
277
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed at the Metropole for Four nights and we were very impressed. The hotel kicked off our honeymoon in style. Thank you to the hotel for making the start of our stay feel so unique and special to us. Keep up the good work as this is the best hotel we have stayed at

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We highly appreciate your comment and contribution.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riberac, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We had two nights at the Metropole, in a spell of cold grey weather that coincided with a Monday when the museums were all closed. The Metropole became our haven. We were in the old part of the hotel, and the room was extremely comfortable, with excellent soundproofing. The hotel boutique had nicer things in than any of the shops, and the Club Bar (as I think it was called) had good value food. Hanoi itself was somewhat disappointing, but the Metropole was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonym1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate your contribution and support.

We are very happy that you like our boutique shop and the club bar and we will share your comment with our team working in these areas.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

charming colonial style;
the best service I ever had in a deluxe property.top professional staff and excellent restaurants
rooms are really deluxe
most ernjoyable stay ever had in a deluxe hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christophe6393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

We are currently in residence in the Metropole and are enjoying every thing about the experience. Our trip to Hanoi was to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday so we were looking for something special in hotel to enhance the occassion. On looking at previous reviews on TA there was no other choice but the Sofitel so a booking was made 6 months ago to take advantage of lower rates offered.

From the moment we stepped in we were in love with the place, when we were taken to our room that was upgraded to a Suite, 278, we thought we had died and gone to heaven. A very attentive Customer Services Manager, Matte, provided us with a rundown on all the services and restaurants available. Our room in the Opera Wing is one of the best we have ever experienced in the world, great bed, separate lounge area with flat screen TV, Bose Ipod dock complete with Ipod loaded with loads of great music, it is just great to come home to a nice piece of French music to keep you in the mood that place generates. As you move thoughout the hotel the ever attentive staff greet you with a friendly, Bonjour, and at times it is hard to believe that you are in Vietnam.
We have eaten at two restaurants, the Spice Garden where we had a special Valentines Day dinner that was excellent and the French Le Beaulieu where we enjoyed the special Le Grand Cheese Buffet experience that was stunning,.
The pool area is nice but the weather currently is not warm enough for us to go in but the surrounding Le Club bar and Orangerie are very comfortable to have a quick snack and drink.
Business Centre was very helpful in sourcing a Vietnam sim card for my Iphone and even provided me with all the instructions to make cheap calls available on Vietnam's cheap network system. In room internet via cord connection is free and stable.

We have looked long and hard to find one flaw and we did, the inroom fridge was not able to maintain drinks at what I would call cold, which seems to be common in Vietnam. Only a minor point cured by an ice bucket.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Check in & welcome: We arrived at 3am in the morning and were transfered to the reception of the new wing (small minus!), but check in went very smooth and welcome was very warm and friendly
Breakfast: You can have your breakfast in 3 different restaurants! Breakfast was excellent, wide variety of food and drinks, very friendly, helpful and attentive staff
Massage: Best massage in Asia ever!
Gym: Not too big, but good enough, modern equipment, it is a little bit too cool in there
Business Center: Good equipment, very supportive staff
Bamboo Bar at the pool: Enjoyed very good drinks in a beautiful, picturesque and romantic setting
Dinner at Spices Restaurant: Very delicious and recommendable!
Deli: Yummy macarons!
Service level: My husband got sick and the staff cared about him in a perfect way - they brought medicine, tea and cookies, etc. without invoicing anything. This was really the most perfect service level!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#17 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing