We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Nearby Hotels
US$133
US$125
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pullman Hanoi(Hanoi)
US$122
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel(Hanoi)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
US$69
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,976)
Filter reviews
6,976 results
Traveller rating
5,658
985
235
62
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,658
985
235
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera wingbamboo barold wingbomb sheltermacaroonsspices gardenbunker tourchocolate buffetle beaulieujoan baezgrand premium roomvietnam warbutler servicevietnamese restaurantbeautiful hotelfrench colonial styleclub floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,129 - 5,134 of 6,976 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights back in January 2011 in the older, v. charming part of the hotel. We ate at several restaurants in the hotel (including yummy buffet breakfasts), used their concierge service to arrange Halong Bay overnight trip, were invited to a little wine reception for hotel guests that is organized every Thursday, used Metropole car service to get from and to the Hanoi airport. Overall impression: hotel employees are smiling, polite, helpful smooth operators; our stay at the hotel left many nice memories of being doted on. Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tagged-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback following your recent stay at the Hotel Metropole Hanoi. Your comments are greatly appreciated by us.

Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Metropole Hanoi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed here for 4 days with my wife and 2 teenage kids. Beautiful hotel in great location. Large rooms with big bathrooms beautifully updated. Outstanding breakfast. Great Italian Restaurant. Service excellent and friendly. Would definitely return to this hotel if I were to visit Hanoi again.
Kitchen staff were extremely helpful addressing concerns about our daughters nut allergy.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokalosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This hotel is charming, posh and intimate. Service is top notch from welcome to departure. Had a room in the old wing. High ceiling and period decor. Aircon works well - some other hotels turn it off during winter in Hanoi. The only fault - the room isn't sound proof. Heard honking and traffic at night and shouts from badminton players on the sidewalk in the morning. Ask for a quiet room facing away from the street. Lighting is a bit dim - they need to increase wattage of the bulbs. Each of the public spaces and restaurants is lovely. The Club has good live music at night. Bamboo Bar is quaint. Pool is very small don't expect to swim much infront of lots of guests sitting poolside. Spa is very luxurious. Bakery is useful if don't want to eat the buffet breakfast. The French restaurant is a bit casual looking and a bit pricey. Overall food is very high quality both French and Vietnamese but the buffet at the Spices Garden isn't really that great and is overpriced by Vietnam standards. Just try a la carte items instead. Location is convenient - the Opera is round the corner and the Lake is a few blocks away - but it may be safer not to walk across the street in Hanoi - take a reputable taxi. The only real 5 star luxury option in town right now and not too expensive for the quality. The Hilton looks dated.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

i have been a long time traveller and stayed in many great hotels. the metropole hanoi, however, has something that other places often miss: a lot of caché! they really succeeded in keeping the indochine atmosphere alive, without overdoing it. the rooms are spacious and extremely well done (in the opera wing, where i stayed), simple but cozy and luxurious.
a truly great experience and i would only stay at the metropole if i go back to hanoi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissblitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed at the Metropole for Four nights and we were very impressed. The hotel kicked off our honeymoon in style. Thank you to the hotel for making the start of our stay feel so unique and special to us. Keep up the good work as this is the best hotel we have stayed at

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSpethMetropoleHanoi, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We highly appreciate your comment and contribution.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kai Speth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews