We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Hanoi”
Review of Pan Pacific Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Ranked #79 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is simply a stunning hotel. There is excellent customer service, facilities, and it's centrally located so you can walk everywhere. There is a great gym and a wonderful pool with a skylight. The hotel lobby is wide, expansive and there's a great lobby bar. The restaurants are lovely, with delicious breakfasts. The decor inside each room is quite sophisticated and chic - very Sofitel, altogether, with a hint of Vietnamese design.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saismbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Bonjour

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our property! I appreciate your kind words and detailed response regarding our services and facilities. As your satisfaction is always our utmost desire, it is so rewarding to know that we did our job in creating a great experience for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Hanoi.

Sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
There are newer reviews for Pan Pacific Hanoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a good hotel to stay when you like to be at distance from the hassle of Old Hanoi's City center. There are several good international restaurants within walking distance. The room and bathroom were spacious and very well equipped. The view to the West Lake and the Red River was fabulous. The breakfast buffet is a rather modest for a 5-star establishment, with respect to variety as well as quality. The butter was rancid and so were the croissants. The choice of fresh fruits and cheeses was limited. Whilst the local markets showed that the orange season was in full swing, there was no fresh orange juice. The service was slow and somehow unfriendly. The Bistro Restaurant certainly has room for improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Bonjour

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi for your accommodation and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are currently working on our new breakfast menu, and your detailed feedback is much appreciated as it will help us in improving our offers to all guests. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon in Hanoi.

Sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Location great with a nice lake view and very quiet when you are in the room.

We were upgraded for the room. Bedding is still amazing ! We had welcome chocolat waiting us in the room.

Breakfast : a lot of choice and really tasty ! Fruits are great !

Easy to take a cab from the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MademoiselleAmandine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Bonjour

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property! Your kind comments regarding our “My-bed” bedding, the room and our breakfast are much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming again the next time you are visiting Hanoi.

Sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I was booked at this hotel for a 4-day business trip. Everything from the front desk to the dining to the check-out services were impeccably quick, efficient, and courteous at the same time. The only quibble I have is maybe they should have a better English conversant for Housekeeping. When I called for an extra bar of soap on the first night, Housekeeping transferred me to a person in the bar who was expecting me to order soup. It's funny, in hindsight, but frustrating at the time, as it took time to explain what I needed. Check-in and out processes were superb, too.

The inclusive breakfast buffet we had, though, for all 3 days, were the same. I love pho and I could eat it everyday, but I've had enough of the oily fried rice, chicken sausage, and bacon for breakfast.

Overall, for business trips in Hanoi, I strongly recommend staying in Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. Not really for personal leisure trips, though, as it's quite far from the Old Quarters, tourist spots, and shopping area (it took us $9 to get from the Old Quarters shopping area back to the hotel) and taxis are a bit expensive in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmie1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Bonjour

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. It makes me very delighted to know that you were happy with the speed and efficiency of service from our team. However, please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay with the housekeeping service and our breakfast. Your mention of these issues helps us to know what areas we need to work on, and I am thankful to you for letting us know.

Once again, thank you for your kind comment. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The hotel is nice, presentable and clean with good service and a perfect location. 1 of our rooms was not ready till checkin at 2pm reception kindly let us into one of our rooms at noon without an extra charge very much appreciated after a long haul flight on an old rickety Vietnamese aircraft (please do not use them long haul).

However the food quality needs reviewing! most people these days have an desire to enjoy good cuisine and it makes up a large percentage of your holiday experience, this is our 2nd time visiting Vietnam in which 6yrs ago we were spoilt rotten in the south with amazing food.

The hotel has quick turn around of guests, you are encouraged to have the buffet which is the same buffet at lunch and in the evening reheated left out for hours half cooked and then finished off and mainly luke warm!

Hanoi is an experience of trickery! be aware that the fruit girls over charge as do the cab drivers, only pay a quarter of what they are charging, They have yet to realise tourists will buy so much more for a fair price they want souvenirs ect..

Room Tip: Facing the lake
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaso13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Bonjour

Thank you for your detailed comment following your recent stay at the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed the hotel location and our reception team was able to quickly assist you with the room arrangement after the long flight.

However, please accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of the team for the situation regarding the food. Please rest assured that we will look deep into your feedback and actions will be taken to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel during your next visit to Hanoi.

Sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

From the hotel you can reach the city center by foot. There is a nice panoramic view from the hotel rooms over the lake. If you book the executive floor you will get nice high quality food and good service.
There are some nice restaurants around the hotel and you can go for a walk near the water. The breakfast is good with lots of different kinds food to choose.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVBBaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Bonjour

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, especially with the Club Sofitel benefits and our breakfast.

We thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeljim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
1.9 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#69 of 598 in Hanoi
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#86 of 598 in Hanoi
1,464 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Hanoi

Address: 1 Thanh Nien Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Plaza Hanoi)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#26 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £80 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Hanoi offers 273 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, which boast breathtaking views of West Lake, Truc Bach Lake and the Red River. The hotel also has an impressive collection of 56 fully equipped serviced suites catering to the needs of extended-stay travellers. Savour a diverse range of international dishes from the all-day-dining restaurant or indulge in exquisite cuisine at our Chinese restaurant. Our lobby bar provides a relaxing ambience for guests to unwind after a long day. With 12 versatile meeting spaces, including a pillarless ballroom that can host up to 450 guests, the hotel provides the ideal venue for corporate meetings and grand banquets. Complete with an indoor pool with natural skylight, well-equipped fitness centre and rejuvenating spa, Pan Pacific Hanoi offers a refreshing new experience in the capital of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pan Pacific Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Plaza Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing