We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Nearby Hotels
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel(Hanoi)(Great Value!)
US$37
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa(Hanoi)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,964)
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveller rating
1,047
670
180
45
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,047
670
180
45
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssofitel plazawest lakerooftop barsummit loungeluxury escapes packageretractable rooftruc bach lakelake viewthe club loungeold quarterred rivera short taxi ridebusiness tripbusiness hotelluxury hotelan upgradebuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,161 - 1,166 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel's picturesque Superior Lakeview Room
facing Tru Bach Lake and the bigger West Lake both of which is divided by the busy Thanh Nienh Road. The hotel is located approximately 2km from Hanoi's Old Quarter. Our room located on one of the upper floors was quiet despite the hustle and bustle of the city traffic below.

The furnishings in the room were a bit jaded but it was clean as was the bathroom. There was a small flat screen television in our room. Buffet breakfast was varied and ample with a wide selection of Western and local Vietnamese cuisine.

We had the opportunity to try the buffet dinner at the Brasserie Westlake. Prices per head was quite high in terms of the quality of the food served. It must be noted that there was a limit as to the number of small lobsters each paying guest could have. We find this unsatisfactory, as it is a buffet restaurant, and only after some discussion with the hotel staff did they relent and let us have more than the quota per head. Restaurant management need to review their dinner buffet policy to avoid further confusion with its paying guests.

Having said that overall stay was satisfactory apart from the incident mentioned above.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrekker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear GlobeTrekker6,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. I regret to read that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow me to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconvenience that happened during your dinner. We will look closely into the issue you have brought to light to make sure it will not reoccur in the future. In the meantime, if we can be at any further assistance please contact our Guest Relations Manager, Ms. Marine Parrot at h3553-GR@sofitel.com.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon in Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Great Roof top bar with amazing views. Exactly what you would expect from a top hotel, good clean and good service. Room was a little small but had everything that you would need. Stayed with a friend on route to Halong Bay and great way to relax after an overnight flight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jason1975a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Jason1975a,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review of our property! Your kind comments in regards to our Rooftop bar, the cleanliness and the service are much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I do hope that you will choose Sofitel Plaza Hanoi again the next time you are visiting the city.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We are expats here in Vietnam and got a great rate at the Sofitel Plaza. With an extremely well-trained staff and fantastic facilities including the best pool and a good spa and fitness center, we were well cared for. Rooms are tastefully decorated and have splendid views though are smaller than some other equally priced hotels in the area. However it was quite comfortable and still felt luxurious. Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank capazcoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Capazcoli,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our property. I appreciate all your kind words in regards to our services and facilities. As your satisfaction is always our utmost desire, it is so rewarding to know that our team did their job in creating a great experience for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel en route to Sapa and then back again on our way to Cambodia. We are a family of 4 and now need 2 rooms, so the first night they upgraded us to a Suite with 2 bedrooms - which was very good. and on our return we had 2 rooms with an inter-leading door. No complaints - check in/out, staff were all efficient and friendly and good. Breakfasts were great and rooms generally very comfy with the usual super soft Sofitel pillows!
The Hotel is located over the West Lake and is pretty central - and a short taxi ride to the Old Quarter where all the action happens - so all in all location good. We loved Hanoi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Idleman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of our property. As we always strive to create magnifique stays for our guests, I am so happy we were able to accommodate you and provide you with that experience. I will pass on your kind words the team, and I am sure that it will certainly serve as an encouragement to them in keeping up their good work.

We thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon to Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The hotel is OK, if you are on a business trip but as a tourist you will need to catch a cab if you want to eat out side the hotel or see any of the sites in Hanoi.

The main restaurant only seems to do Buffet and is fairly expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ThorMjolnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear ThorMjolnir,

Thank you very much for taking the time review your recent stay at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. I am delighted to learn that you had a pleasant experience with us. I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that we serve both buffet and a la carte menus in the restaurant, so we do hope that we will be able to better accommodate you the next time you visit us.

We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon in Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews