We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and easy access to places of interest and airport”
Review of Pan Pacific Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Ranked #80 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Situated at the outskirt of Hanoi's old quarters, it is easily accessible to places of interest. Getting to the airport is a breeze with main roads linking to expressways. Stayed here for 3 nights and I booked a room with river view overlooking WestLake. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. This hotel has one of the best lounge in Hanoi. The Summit lounge located at the 20th floor of this hotel has one of the most amazing view and selection of drinks and food are very good. Rooms are large in size and it has a all-year siwmming pool with an adjustable roof that closes when the weather is too hot or too cold.

Getting to places of interest requires a taxi ride and it is easy to get a taxi here as there are parked at the lobby. Note that only Mai Linh and Hanoi taxi are reputable in Hanoi city, assuming that there are large taxi companies and do not overcharge. This hotel only allows Hanoi taxi so you know that you will not be overcharged when getting around town. Taxi fares to old quarters cost around VND 70,000 to VND 90,000 which is pretty affordable.

Transportation to Ha Long Bay was a breeze where the bus from the cruise company came to the hotel and picked us up in the morning. Another couple which stayed further away from us was not given free transportation although we are on the same cruise. I am assuming Sofitel is the furthest hotel that they will pick even though cruise website states 'hotels around old quarters'.

Overall, a very memorable stay and recommended to 1st timers in Hanoi who wants to stay slightly further away from the hustle and bustle of old quarters.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the westlake are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear Knox D,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. As we strive to continuously improve our quality of services, it is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedbacks. I will share your comments with our team, and I am sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of them in keeping up their good work.

We thank you again for sharing your experience, and hope your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Friendly staff and clean hotel. However, the house keeping staff keep on knocking the door to give me some chocolate, fruits during the day may be distributing. Putting it upfront when the room is set is more preferable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Alvin123456570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Alvin123456570,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to know that you found our hotel clean and the service from our team friendly.

I thank you for your additional comment in regards to the Housekeeping service which we will definitely have it reviewed with our team.

Once again, we thank you for your feedbacks. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon in Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Service from reception was lovely, they are very accommodating.
Westlake restaurant has outstanding variety and service.
Rooms are small but nice.
We found it impossible to enjoy our time in the lobby bar, due to the old fashioned, out of date smoking policy. The bar actually offers cigars on the menu. As non smokers- there is nowhere to escape the stench. It even pervades the whole reception foyer, spoiling an otherwise nice hotel. Even one smoke free area would suffice.
For some odd reason, all the comfortable seating and couches were occupied by many shoeless, feet on the couch students, giving the appearance of a college internet cafe, rather than a 5 star international hotel. This happened for each day we were there, from morning until evening. I would have spent more time and money there, but instead I took my custom to places providing the environment I paid for.
This hotel is detached from the 'action' in Hanoi, which can be a nice respite. Cheap cabs take you to the major tourist attractions and restaurants, only minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM1960Merci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Dear JM1960Merci,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our services at the reception and the Brasserie Westlake restaurant.

However, please allow me to apologize on behalf of the team for the unfortunate incidents that occurred during your stay. Please rest assured that your feedback on the ambiance of the bar has been shared within our Executive Team and actions will be taken to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

We do hope that your latest experience with Sofitel will not alter your trust in our hotel and look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Lovely decor, good facilities, clean and helpful staff. I loved the pool and was often the only person in the pool. The buffet breakfast had a huge amount of choice. I thoroughly enjoyed a long leisurely breakfast at a table near the window, watching the traffic mayhem and the bikes/ scooters, smothered in flowers on their way from the flower market. (You can also get al a carte breakfast) the staff were helpful in ensuring we didn't get ripped off by taxi drivers. The tour organiser (separate company) in the foyer of the hotel, was very helpful in helping us plan our days. The view of the lake, at night, from the bar on the 20th floor, is wonderful.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room with a view of the lake if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveladventures2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Mary T,

Thank you very much for such a nice review of our property . We are delighted to know that you had a enjoyable stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

This is an old hotel, walls need a paint, bedroom floor and areas need a good clean!
We checked in and as I had booked a river or lake view room, I asked whether I could have a lake view room. To be told none were available, but if I paid an extra $92USD per night, I could be given a room larger by 8square metres, have a lake view and a separate shower and bath tub in the bathroom. We declined to do so as we had already paid a lot for the 4 nights we were to stay. When we reached the room, the windows had head and hand prints on them, the floor was dirty and it did not look like a 5* hotel room! I called reception and complained, to which she came up to the room and then offered us another room which had a lake view (which at check in was said to NOT be available!)
This room had a better view, but did in no way look like the pictures on the internet, I was still not happy. She then explained that "the internet pictures will not always be the same as a room you get"! To which my husband explained was total rubbish, and we weren't having this room either. We eventually went to their "upgraded" room which was only SLIGHTLY bigger and cleaner........ Not going to be staying at a sofitel again if the pictures on the internet aren't the same as the actual rooms, and definitely WILL NOT BE RECOMMENDING THE SOFITEL PLAZA HANOI!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apatel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear apetel84,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

We will look closely into the issues you have brought to light and allow us to get back to you very shortly.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A great & warm welcome from the start to the finish, of our stay.
The hotel lobby is amazing & there are two great glass sided lifts, so you can enjoy the view on the way & from your room. The rooms are well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. There is a brilliant swimming pool with a sliding roof, unfortunately we did not have sufficient time to use it.
We were very well looked after by all of the staff, especially the Deputy Manager & the Bell Captain, who were very helpful, as were the room maids who do a brilliant job.
The food, that we had, was extremely good
A great location overlooking West lake, with plenty of taxis available to get you into the action of the Old Quarter.
We will definately return to this Hotel next time we visit Hanoi & the experience has encouraged us to use the Sofitel Hotel group in other locations, tht we travel to.

Room Tip: An obvious one, but the higher the floor the more amazing is the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Bobby767,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. I am also grateful that our staff succeeded in going above and beyond and were able to ensure that you had an enjoyable stay! Your satisfaction is always our utmost desire.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon in Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Thought would write a long overdue review of what is in my opinion one of the best hotels i have had the pleasure to stay in. I pretty much travel constantly and see way too many hotels, both in Asia and all around the world. Most make me feel just jaded and fed up. Sofitel Plaza is a rare exception where there is genuine warmth and not just the ususal 'have a nice day'.
The quality of the hotel is very good on every level. Rooms, food and most of all service. Location is not in the old town. Three cheers for that. Everywhere you are likely to want to visit is accessible for a taxi ride costing less than $5 USD. The location is great for the airport, nice restaurants nearby (as well as in the hotel) and great walks around and views of the lake. Old town is ok but would not want swap for the noise and bussle.
Reading reviews here about sizes of rooms and other stuff makes me smile. What do people need that space for? Golf practice? Rooms here are very decent size and if there is any problem the staff will do whatever they can to make it right in my experience. Never been left feeling short changed or disappointed and i am not easy to please.
So there you have it. Doubt are many people stayed here so often or know the place so well. Three outstanding people wanted mention by name, Marine the customer care manager, Miss Huong (who used to work in the longe but now is in reception and is the nicest and happiest person i ever met) and Mr Hoai, who is in the lounge and just tries very hard and always knows what i need before i do.
Another recommendation is spend a little extra and take a club room with lounge access. Very nice place to just chill and the free cocktails and evening nibbles are the perfect start to any evening.
Sorry if this seems a little OTT but is rare to find such a place and just wanted to let others know who like me, really appreciate the people who try very hard to make you feel welcome and more than just another passer by.
Hope some of you try Sofitel Plaza and your experience is as good as mine.

Room Tip: Go for club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear prmny,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. It makes me very delighted to know that you were happy with the hotel facilities and the efficient service from our team. I appreciate your kind words regarding to Ms. Marine, Ms. Huong and Mr. Hoai, and I will pass on your compliments to them as it will certainly motivate them to keep up their good work.

We thank you again for your beautiful comments and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
1.9 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#73 of 600 in Hanoi
1,964 reviews
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#87 of 600 in Hanoi
1,514 reviews
2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#44 of 600 in Hanoi
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Hanoi

Address: 1 Thanh Nien Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Plaza Hanoi)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#26 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#30 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £82 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Hanoi offers 273 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, which boast breathtaking views of West Lake, Truc Bach Lake and the Red River. The hotel also has an impressive collection of 56 fully equipped serviced suites catering to the needs of extended-stay travellers. Savour a diverse range of international dishes from the all-day-dining restaurant or indulge in exquisite cuisine at our Chinese restaurant. Our lobby bar provides a relaxing ambience for guests to unwind after a long day. With 12 versatile meeting spaces, including a pillarless ballroom that can host up to 450 guests, the hotel provides the ideal venue for corporate meetings and grand banquets. Complete with an indoor pool with natural skylight, well-equipped fitness centre and rejuvenating spa, Pan Pacific Hanoi offers a refreshing new experience in the capital of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Plaza Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing