We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice facilities, room for improvement.”
Review of Pan Pacific Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Ranked #82 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice facilities, room for improvement.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have written a novel because if you're going 5 star, the devil is in the detail.

I had been travelling S/E Asia for 3 months and my mother decided to come over to Hanoi for a while before we both returned home. She booked 3 nights at Sofitel Plaza for the both of us. Because we were to meet at the hotel I checked in seperately and felt a little uncomfortable initially due to the staff. Now I was well groomed and dressed in lovely tailored clothes I picked up in Hoi An but did have a backpack (I mean it's S/E Asia, how else would you travel) and as I got out of the taxi staff seemed puzzled as to what I was doing there. Upon check in I informed reception that I was a guest listed under my mothers booking, showed them my passport and they seemed to confirm despite looking confused. However they then went on to question why we don't have the same last name and I found this a little invasive, especially from a 5 star property. 

When I entered the room I wasn't overly impressed because it was quite small and after 3 months I'd learnt alot about the value of a dollar in vietnam, it was impecabley clean though and had all the trimmings you'd expect of a Sofitel such as designer toiletries, crisp soft bedding etc. The view wasn't great from the room but was enjoyable from the rooftop bar and suprisingly, the elevators. We ate at the restaurant once which was mediocre to be honest, for the prices you pay I expected alot more particularly from the Pho', you could find the same if not better for a fraction of the price on any street corner. The buffet breakfast was good and reflected the hotel in a far better light.

 Now there were a few minor things I'd figure I would mention since it appears managment do read these reviews and take them into account. I was in room 731 and twice the power short circuited, possibly due to maitence going on which was quite irritating. The hair dryer we were given didn't function properly and when we asked the concierge to get us a taxi to St Josephs Cathedral the driver (who spoke no english) appeared to get the wrong directions since he took us elsewhere. The staff were friendly but we did find they would often just take a guess at what we were asking rather than reaffirming to avoid seeming incompetent, we completely understood but often their guesses were wrong which just confused things more than they should've. Also the 'twin bed' arrangement meant that my mother and I may as well of shared a bed since the two singles were touching and there was not enough room for proper seperation. Did think the goodnight chocolates were a nice touch and the coffee lounge in the lobby had lovely staff.

Overall a good experience at the Sofitel Plaza however 5 star should mean a flawless experince from start to finish, so as stated above room for improvement. Also I think there's a bit of a tongue-in-cheek attitude towards the pricing of food etc in the hotel, yes we are willing to pay higher for good accomodation but we aren't fools... we know a simple beverage shouldn't cost $5 in Vietnam, or anywhere in fact. I think the excessive prices left me with that all too familiar,  'rip off the ignorant westerner, they don't know left from right' feeling. Also the taxis that run from the hotel often take the oportunity to go 'the long way' and short change you but that isn't controlled by Sofitel. 

Room Tip: Perhaps ask to be on a floor without work being done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss-n-Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Miss-n-Lola,
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

We will look closely into the issues you have brought to light and allow us to get back to you very shortly.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    583
    160
    43
    17
See reviews for
219
645
117
440
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hard to fault this hotel or its staff in any way. Everyone is friendly and professional. Ms Hien Nga at reception in particular stood out, the food is top quality and the lake views fantastic. The only slight downside is the walking / distance to the old quarter. Some people may feel the need to take a taxi - particularly in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Mark T,

Thank you for spending your time sharing your experience at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. We are delighted to hear that we were able to create magnifique memories for you.

At Sofitel, we strive everyday to create memorable experience for each and every guest. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our Ambassadors have gone extra miles. We will make sure to pass on your compliment to Ms. Hien Nga as well as F&B team.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

The Sofitel Plaza Hanoi is a beautiful hotel, with excellent location, staff, and facilities. Our room was excellent, as well as the pool area, and the Club Floor was exceptional! The views, decor and food were excellent, and the staff were wonderful. We were so welcomed, assisted, and made to feel 'at home' by Mr. Hoai (executive potential), Ms. Ha, and Ms. Hoa.
We travel a lot, and this was one of our best hotel experiences!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sam b,

Thank you for your kind words! We are so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time here. At Sofitel, our team always thrive to create magnifique memories for each and every guest. Your compliment will be such an encouragement to them, letting them know that their work is not going unnoticed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Very happy with my room here - amazingly comfy bed and everything as it should be.

The hotel is currently conducting some refurbishments, and I had to change rooms due to the noise during the day, but the staff were very good about it.

The gym currently has no showers due to the works. I was lent a treatment room to use to shower before my room became available as I arrived early in the morning.

The location of the hotel is some way away from the old quarter, where I spent much of my time, but proper taxis are cheap (beware of those with rigged meters - I had one once from a taxi I took from the street - good to get a hotel or restaurant to hail you one from a company they trust).

Breakfast was very good indeed.

A perfect place for a couple of nights if the price is right.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Toady1664,
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on your recent stay at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

We are delighted to hear that our services and facilities have been up to your expectations. I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that the works on the floors and in the fitness centre are now finish, thank you again for your patience during this period.

We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you again soon to Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. We had booked a suite but were pleased to find we had been upgraded to one of the new 1 bedroom apartments. This had a full kitchen and laundry which was handy for washing gym clothes each day.
The service at the plaza was wonderful and all staff were very friendly and efficient, especially in the club lounge.
The location of the hotel was good for local walking around westlake which was very pleasant. It was also walking distance to ho cho minhs mausoleum (20 mins) The walk to the old quarter was further but quite doable. Alternatively a 5 minute taxi ride cost about $4.
The gym/pool facilities were excellent with separate cardio and weights rooms. The equipment was modern and in good order.
The westlake brasserie served a wonderful breakfast with a good range. However, the evening buffet was a bit limited.
We organised return transfers to Ha Long Bay through the hotel which made the trip very easy.
Im very pleased to have chosen the sofitel plaza and would definately stay there again if in Hanoi. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selliot64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Selliot64,

Thank you for spending time sharing your experience at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. It makes our day knowing that you were happy with the hotel facilities and the efficient service from our team. We will definitely pass on your kind words, which would be such an encouragement to them.

Once again thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived from Da Nang a bit early and proceeded to check in. It turned out the room I booked with double beds had 2 twin beds instead of 2 queen beds which were not very clearly stated on their website. The receptionist not only did not apologize for the mix-up but proceeded to corner us into upgrading to a suitefor a price of $150 a night in addition to what we already paid. When asked if there was any other option, she said we could get a room with 1 king size bed for an additional $130 a night. How does this option helpful when we have 4 people in our party. We had traveled to Saigon and Hoi An where all the hotels and staff were extremely friendly and helpful.....we just didn't expect such a cold and uncaring reception from Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. They made us wait for 3 hours before we could get a room with no apologies. Even the hotel manager was rude and pretentious. Granted that the room was very nice and the view was spectacular, this initial interaction in Hanoi left us with a sour taste. The concierge and other staff members were wonderful though. This is more of a businessman's hotel....it has an air of pretention and snobbery....I don't recommend it if you're looking for a nice hotel with a personal touch. There is no complimentary breakfast buffet provided, and everything costs 5 times more than anywhere else from booking tours to buying a simple baguette in this hotel. NOT HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!! Stay at the Essence Hotels (there's one in Hanoi and also Hoi An)....their buffets were to die for and the staff were the best!!!

Room Tip: Get one on 16th floor or higher with view to either Truc Bach Lake or West Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quynh-Nhu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide an exclusive service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused.

We will look closely into the issues you have brought to light and allow us to get back to you very shortly.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a nice hotel and well placed at the lake. The local restaurants and bars near the hotel/lake are friendly and fun. The room prices are very reasonable for this level hotel. Most importantly, the staff are helpful and friendly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Magda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Magda K,

Thank you for spending time writing this wonderful review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. Your satisfaction is our utmost desire.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.7 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#68 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#52 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Hanoi

Property: Pan Pacific Hanoi
Address: 1 Thanh Nien Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Plaza Hanoi)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#26 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#31 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Hanoi offers 273 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, which boast breathtaking views of West Lake, Truc Bach Lake and the Red River. The hotel also has an impressive collection of 56 fully equipped serviced suites catering to the needs of extended-stay travellers. Savour a diverse range of international dishes from the all-day-dining restaurant or indulge in exquisite cuisine at our Chinese restaurant. Our lobby bar provides a relaxing ambience for guests to unwind after a long day. With 12 versatile meeting spaces, including a pillarless ballroom that can host up to 450 guests, the hotel provides the ideal venue for corporate meetings and grand banquets. Complete with an indoor pool with natural skylight, well-equipped fitness centre and rejuvenating spa, Pan Pacific Hanoi offers a refreshing new experience in the capital of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Plaza Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing