We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Fabulous Room Service, Pool, and more!”
Review of Pan Pacific Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Ranked #81 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Fabulous Room Service, Pool, and more!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Do not be put off by people telling you that staying out near the West Lake is a long way from the action. It is a lovely spot. There are many good restaurants and coffee shops near by but if you want to see the sights and then relax by a pool in the afternoon when the heat is stiffling...this is a great place to stay! Very attentive service. I have now moved from the American food on the menu but if you are tired of the delicious and fresh Vietnamese food, this hotel will please you. Room service. 20 minutes. Everything is perfect except the toast. But you won't care because they also send a basket of other pastries. Don't be temped by the mini-bar. Buy your water and treats elsewhere! Ask for a room facing the lake! Bring your bathing suit.
The hotel will pick you up at the airport in their BMW. It is costly but you don't have to worry after a 30 hour flight and an arrival late at night.
The tour desk can arrange for a car for a half day for $35.

Room Tip: Do not pay for the buffet breakfast with your room. Order room service and look out over the lake i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganeshWinnipegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear ganeshWinnipegCanada,
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for the amazing review about your recent stay with us. Clearly you had a fantastic experience and appreciated our lake view room. We are also delighted to read that you enjoyed our room service and the swimming pool.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager 
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    600
    168
    44
    17
See reviews for
227
671
121
448
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Comfortable bed. Quiet room. Amazing view in the bar. Extremely clean. The staff were fantastic and assisted us with any requests that we had, or any directions that we needed. We stayed for 2 nights before going to Halong Bay for 2 nights and then returning to the hotel, and the staff offered to keep our big bags for us so that we only had to take a small overnight bag which was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobartite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Hobartite,
Bonjour,

We would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Hanoi Plaza as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Hanoi.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here. The rooms are very comfortable with great views overlooking the lake. Took the walking street food tour from here, old quarter walking distance so it's in a good position. Breakfast in the room was very good. Delicious white sangria cocktails at the roof top bar. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sarah M,
Bonjour,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us following your recent visit at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

We are pleased to read that our facilities and service provided have met your expectation, and you enjoyed our lake view room as well as our Summit Lounge – the rooftop bar. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here because our travel agent recommended it and because we wanted a hotel with good air conditioning, comfortable beds and a fitness centre. Certainly the room was very comfortable. The pool and fitness centre is ok - not the best equipment but it's hard to find high tech gym equipment in Vietnam. Breakfast was very good & the Concierge staff were exceptionally helpful. However, some of the staff at Reception lacked experience & English skills and were not easy to communicate with regarding a minor defect with our bath drain. It was a relatively cheap taxi ride to get to the old quarter for shopping & restaurants, but If I return to Vietnam I will probably choose a hotel that is located closer to these attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Sally A,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the assistance of our Concierge team and enjoyed our breakfast.

However, we apologize for the incident you had with the bathroom and our reception service during your stay. Please rest assured that English class has been organizing for our Ambassadors. It is feedback such as yours that enables us to adjust and better serve our guests and meet their satisfaction.

We sincerely hope that this experience will not impair your confidence in the Accor hotel network.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I'm travelling on business trip, booked and confirmed by the company. Upon check in, i was requested to pay a deposit, since the company will not pay for mini bar and other services. This is not my first stay at the hotel, and i was mildly annoyed.
I'm not sure this policy applies only to this specific case, this specific company, or to all guests in general, but i must say it is not a very tactical move. Maybe you can find other less direct means than requesting a deposit on the first step in the door, i feel like i have to pay for a bail, and i have done something terribly done.
Anyway, after my protest, the staff did let me go freely.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank blurrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear blurrose,
Bonjour,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

With regards to the matter you have mentioned, it is our hotel policy to ask guests for deposit for any incidental charges upon check in. However, we apologize that we did not explain this clearly to you and that we should have handled the situation in a proper manner. We ask for your kind understanding and assure you that your comments have been of value to us. It allows us to ensure and improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again in Sofitel Plaza Hanoi. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halluin, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is certainly one of the best located Sofitel hotel in the world : beautiful view of the lake, and ideal distance from -electric - downtown.
We had a wonderful welcome, very... welcome after our long trip : very friendly, caring and professional Reception, Concierge and Guest Relations team.
Breakfast in Main Restaurant was very complete, and both bars (floor and top) provide a unique atmosphere : don't miss a drink on the floor at sunset to enjoy both lakes and skyline!
Truly recommended destination for your next stay in Hanoi.
Thanks to all the staff for this excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for lake side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hervé D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Hervé D,
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on your recent stay at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

We are delighted to hear that our services and facilities have been up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as the bar.

I will share your comments with our Front Desk team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager 
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
1.9 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 588 in Hanoi
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#88 of 588 in Hanoi
1,417 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Hanoi

Property: Pan Pacific Hanoi
Address: 1 Thanh Nien Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Plaza Hanoi)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#26 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Hanoi offers 273 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, which boast breathtaking views of West Lake, Truc Bach Lake and the Red River. The hotel also has an impressive collection of 56 fully equipped serviced suites catering to the needs of extended-stay travellers. Savour a diverse range of international dishes from the all-day-dining restaurant or indulge in exquisite cuisine at our Chinese restaurant. Our lobby bar provides a relaxing ambience for guests to unwind after a long day. With 12 versatile meeting spaces, including a pillarless ballroom that can host up to 450 guests, the hotel provides the ideal venue for corporate meetings and grand banquets. Complete with an indoor pool with natural skylight, well-equipped fitness centre and rejuvenating spa, Pan Pacific Hanoi offers a refreshing new experience in the capital of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pan Pacific Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Plaza Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing