We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Pan Pacific Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Ranked #82 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Spent 4 nights at the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi late June 2014.

Service, food, and location were top notch. There are many many choices for hotels in Hanoi.... if you want excellent service, consistent positive experience, and good Asian & Western food, stay here at the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

We opted for the club level room since my husband needed a few hours each day for conference calls. Highly recommend the club level rooms if you are considering spending a little extra. The views are spectacular. And wifi is included (I believe).

The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets at Brasserie restaurant were fabulous with good selection and quality items. Mr Nguyen Chi Nghia (Breakfast/lunch manager) has a keen eye for details, always making sure you feel welcomed (yet never intrusive).

Our experiences with the concierge, the Ming Restaurant, and the Spa were very good. The room itself was clean and comfortable.

Overall, service was impeccable. Staff was friendly and quick to assist with requests with good English skills. This place was a welcomed relief after long days of sight-seeing in the crazy humid Hanoi heat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank half-life2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear half-life 2,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the complimentary Wifi throught the hotel.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    593
    165
    43
    17
See reviews for
222
659
120
446
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nambour
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Two weeks ago I spent a week around Hanoi and we stayed at the Sofitel Plaza Hotel. The reception upon arrival was friendly and we were all (a group of 6) made to feel welcome.

Of note was my dietary issues that I had previously emailed the Head chef about - they had asked for recipes as I had had a LOT of dietary problems and at breakfast on the first day, the restaurant manager - Mr Nghia sought me out to introduce himself and give me some specially made food. I was looked after and pampered every time I entered the restaurant. due to some major intervention at home, I didn't need things to be quite so restricted, and the restaurant handled the change without query.

There were several requests made of the Concierge and front desk staff. At not time, were we made to feel we were being a pain and if they could, they met our requests with a huge smile and terrific service.

I would like to note the following staff - Ms Loan, Mr Dung, Ms Nga, Ms Hoan and of course the restaurant manager and head chef.

one final note - the Vietnamese coffee is to die for and not to be missed at breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Lee P,
Bonjour,

We would like to express our appreciation to you for a glowing review. We are more than delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with us.

Sofitel Plaza Hanoi is considered t be one of the most scenic hotels in the city with the breathtaking views of the nearby lakes and the Red river. At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests, so thank you very much for mentioning a few of our great Ambassadors. We are pleased to have them. Your kind words shall be conveyed to our team, and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Sofitel Plaza is great place to stay and explore the surrounds of Hanoi. Location is excellent with fabulous views of Truc Bach and Westlake or the Red River, depending on your room.

I stayed here for three weeks in January this year and was very reluctant to depart! Rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious. The spa was a nice place to retreat to after a long day of getting out and about, as was the rooftop bar with views overlooking the Hanoi skyline. The pool is large and a great place to relax or do laps. I used the gym and for me it was more than adequate.

The buffet breakfast had an array of tempting dishes to cater to a variety of tastes and of course the choice of omelette to your liking or the traditional Pho. The brasserie at the entrance to the hotel is also a favourite place to eat with a huge buffet choice or alternatively al a carte. It's a great place to dine for either lunch or dinner, it's not inexpensive, however it is good value and an innovative menu.

Whilst a lot of people like to be staying in the Old Quarter, I found that for me the Sofitel Plaza allowed me to explore and get amongst the hustle and bustle of the frantic pace of Hanoi and when I'd had it, I was able to jump in a taxi for around 50,000 dong ($2.50) And in 10 minutes I was back in a sanctuary of peace, quiet and could watch the chaos of the traffic from my room. Perfect.

The staff here are exceptional! Every one of them. From the doorman organising taxis, to crossing me over the road safely because I thought I would die without their help, to the guest service relations officer who continued to astound with her knowledge of things to see and do in Hanoi and places of interest that don't always show up in the brochures. Congratulations to all for getting it so right.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear SuzieBK,
Bonjour,

We do appreciate your time and effort giving us extensive feedback.

It is such a pleasure to read that you had a fantastic stay with us. Indeed our location around the Westlake offers a fantastic view overlooking Hanoi city. We are also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, and the rooftop bar – the Summit Lounge.

It is rewarding to read that our team welcomed you with their usual hospitality and really went the extra miles to provide excellent service. Your comment will be shared with the whole team and this will encourage them to keep up their good work.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon in Sofitel plaza Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager 
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very good hotel and very good service.

I stayed 5 nights in this hotel for business, it was a very good experience.

Rooms are greats greats and you have a very good view on hanoi from the room and even better from the rooftop.

The breakfast was very good too and and very various. staff was very friendly during breakfast and propose you some special food to try for breakfast.

The laundry service is efficient and worked perfectly.

For me , the best service was the concierge service : always ready to help you, with good adresses and very efficient !

Globally, a very good destination, also for turim as the hotel is well located, you can easily go by walk to the old quarte, to the pagodas, to the lotus temple, ....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerFamilyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear travelerFamilyFrance,
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to read that you had a fantastic experience with us.

Thank you for mentioning our great team and we are delighted to learn that our staff provided you with their usual great hospitality. Your comments will be conveyed to them and this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Do not be put off by people telling you that staying out near the West Lake is a long way from the action. It is a lovely spot. There are many good restaurants and coffee shops near by but if you want to see the sights and then relax by a pool in the afternoon when the heat is stiffling...this is a great place to stay! Very attentive service. I have now moved from the American food on the menu but if you are tired of the delicious and fresh Vietnamese food, this hotel will please you. Room service. 20 minutes. Everything is perfect except the toast. But you won't care because they also send a basket of other pastries. Don't be temped by the mini-bar. Buy your water and treats elsewhere! Ask for a room facing the lake! Bring your bathing suit.
The hotel will pick you up at the airport in their BMW. It is costly but you don't have to worry after a 30 hour flight and an arrival late at night.
The tour desk can arrange for a car for a half day for $35.

Room Tip: Do not pay for the buffet breakfast with your room. Order room service and look out over the lake i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganeshWinnipegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear ganeshWinnipegCanada,
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for the amazing review about your recent stay with us. Clearly you had a fantastic experience and appreciated our lake view room. We are also delighted to read that you enjoyed our room service and the swimming pool.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager 
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Comfortable bed. Quiet room. Amazing view in the bar. Extremely clean. The staff were fantastic and assisted us with any requests that we had, or any directions that we needed. We stayed for 2 nights before going to Halong Bay for 2 nights and then returning to the hotel, and the staff offered to keep our big bags for us so that we only had to take a small overnight bag which was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobartite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Hobartite,
Bonjour,

We would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Hanoi Plaza as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Hanoi.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here. The rooms are very comfortable with great views overlooking the lake. Took the walking street food tour from here, old quarter walking distance so it's in a good position. Breakfast in the room was very good. Delicious white sangria cocktails at the roof top bar. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntoineLhuguenot, General Manager at Pan Pacific Hanoi, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sarah M,
Bonjour,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us following your recent visit at Sofitel Plaza Hanoi.

We are pleased to read that our facilities and service provided have met your expectation, and you enjoyed our lake view room as well as our Summit Lounge – the rooftop bar. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Antoine M. Lhuguenot
General Manager
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 586 in Hanoi
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#88 of 586 in Hanoi
1,403 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.7 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 586 in Hanoi
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Hanoi

Property: Pan Pacific Hanoi
Address: 1 Thanh Nien Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Plaza Hanoi)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#26 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#29 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Hanoi offers 273 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, which boast breathtaking views of West Lake, Truc Bach Lake and the Red River. The hotel also has an impressive collection of 56 fully equipped serviced suites catering to the needs of extended-stay travellers. Savour a diverse range of international dishes from the all-day-dining restaurant or indulge in exquisite cuisine at our Chinese restaurant. Our lobby bar provides a relaxing ambience for guests to unwind after a long day. With 12 versatile meeting spaces, including a pillarless ballroom that can host up to 450 guests, the hotel provides the ideal venue for corporate meetings and grand banquets. Complete with an indoor pool with natural skylight, well-equipped fitness centre and rejuvenating spa, Pan Pacific Hanoi offers a refreshing new experience in the capital of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pan Pacific Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Plaza Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing