We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bolt hole away from the motor cycles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pan Pacific Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Ranked #79 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good bolt hole away from the motor cycles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Just the sort of hotel you need to escape from the frenzied motor cyclists of Hanoi. Good rooms, helpful staff, but a bit far from the city centre (a good 30 mins walk). Restaurants, particularly the Chinese, disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newportboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    560
    151
    42
    17
See reviews for
212
611
116
428
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

Hotelier myself since more of two decades now, I always try to be fair in my judgement however i must say the true and how I was so disappointed by the Management of this property especially by the General Manager and the Director of Rooms.

During my first sta therey, it took more of 50 minutes to change the batteries of the safety deposit box in my room with a total of 6 persons including the Director of Security and the Director of Engineering (certainly they wanted to provide me a kind of VIP treatment and welcome!!!!).
My room was at the Executive Floor and it is quite obvious to confirm that the room was not inspected by Housekeeping prior to my arrival.

During my second stay, at my arrival at the hotel, I forgot and left in the taxi from the airport my Iphone, quite new expensive toy in Viet Nam at this time, realizing just few minutes after my arrival my stupid mistake, I asked to the Executive Floor to contact their Security department and to report it.
The executive Floor team completely lost and after repeating many times I forgot the precious toy in the taxi, the finally called Security.
I called several times my number but for sure nobody pick up my call.
Finally after 30 minutes, the Director of Rooms came to ask me some additional questions (between us totally useless as: why I left my phone in the taxi.?...)
Starting to lose my patience after one hour spend for nothing, I asked them if it will be possible thru their CCTV system to check my arrival, to get the taxi registration and to contact the taxi company.
No one from the Management got or proposed me this possibility, quite a shame for some professionals who are pretending working in hospitality and services industry.

After 20 minutes, the General Manager (French national) came to meet me in the lobby, trying to minimize the problem, he escorted to me to their control room of the hotel where is located all the system of security of the hotel.
Unfortunately after more of 45 minutes of waiting and talking for nothing, the General Manager confirm me that they have a technical problem with the camera requested and they cannot read the registration of the car (problem of zooming as per he said)....

In total I spent more of 2 hours for nothing, trying to explain my disappointment to the General Manager, he replied to me in a very rude way a kind of it is not my problem/business...

These last words was certainly the cherry on the top of the cake for the day, I decided to leave this place in a second...

Thank you very much Mr the General Manager for your great help, for sure you impressed me....
in the poorest way you can imagine...

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Lovely hotel with indoor pool. Several places to eat in the hotel- good but pricey. However location is such that you do need to eat in the hotel. Summit bar has great views across Hanoi.
The walk to the old city is about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint pierre
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

This is a very good hotel, the rooms are not very large but the bathroom is just perfect. I advice you to take the rooms situated on the upper floors,. The staff is very polite and helpfull and the food just amazing, will return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaSaintPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

The Sofitel Plaza in Hanoi was a nice place to pamper oneself for a few days. We usually travel in the low- mid range hotel types but had this hotel pre booked by our friends. At just over $100 AUD a night it was affordable luxury and a nice change (for a while at least) to our normal digs.
But we can only stay in places like this for a short while, and after we came back from Halong Bay we stayed in the centre of Hanoi at a much cheaper, and much, much more atmospheric hotel and surrounds, which brought us back to our senses and sanity.
I'd recommend this hotel to those who want to indulge, or those who are used to the finer class of travel, as this place would be their haven after negotiating the chaotic world that is Hanoi.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

We stayed in this hotel after coming back to Hanoi from Ha Long. We had already stayed in the city centre at the Hilton, so choose this hotel to see some of the sites slightly north of the city centre.

The hotel was spotless, well maintained, with very friendly staff. One highlight is the bar at the top of the hotel that allows magnificent views across the city, and even has outside seating.

The location is only a short walk from the mausoleum, a number of temples, and plenty of restaurants for a good evening out. If you want to go further the concierge was helpful in arranging reliable taxis, which cost the same as any other taxi in Hanoi.

Hanoi is a great place to visit and I would recommend this hotel for anybody that doesn’t have to stay right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

We stayed here for the first week of January in Club rooms, which I strongly recommend; ourselves, a couple in our 60s, and my son, his wife and their five year old daughter. I am struggling for anything to mar the memory of our stay but there is nothing. Absolutely perfect !!

The service, food and ameties were all impeccable and what you would greatly desire in all hotels of this class. The smiling ever-responsive staff are a credit to themselves and the hotel's training. Our Granddaughter had her fifth birthday while we were there and will probably never forget the singing choir bringing her a strawberry-cream birthday cake for BREAKFAST.

The view alone is more than worth the stay. A magic vista over two lakes and, from some points, also the Red River. And the huge heated glass-roofed pool is great fun in a Hanoi winter.

Christy thanks for all your help.

We will be back and so will our Grandaughter.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — A little far from town but only by 5 minutes or so
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thaipete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#50 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#65 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Hanoi

Property: Pan Pacific Hanoi
Address: 1 Thanh Nien Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Plaza Hanoi)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#26 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#31 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Hanoi offers 273 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, which boast breathtaking views of West Lake, Truc Bach Lake and the Red River. The hotel also has an impressive collection of 56 fully equipped serviced suites catering to the needs of extended-stay travellers. Savour a diverse range of international dishes from the all-day-dining restaurant or indulge in exquisite cuisine at our Chinese restaurant. Our lobby bar provides a relaxing ambience for guests to unwind after a long day. With 12 versatile meeting spaces, including a pillarless ballroom that can host up to 450 guests, the hotel provides the ideal venue for corporate meetings and grand banquets. Complete with an indoor pool with natural skylight, well-equipped fitness centre and rejuvenating spa, Pan Pacific Hanoi offers a refreshing new experience in the capital of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Pan Pacific Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Plaza Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing