We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pan Pacific Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Ranked #79 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

The style of the building is not impressive, but the atmosphere is extraordinary. The location is superb, the view over the city center across the lake is unforgettable. Service is impeccable and even the internal restaurants are good, something you would not expect in a place like Hanoi with plenty of ggod restaurants. A paradise for an European pocket, even with a devalued Euro.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank konos55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    560
    151
    42
    17
See reviews for
212
612
116
428
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Sofitel Plaza Hanoi is centrally located next to a lake. Its room rates are reasonable compared to other 5-star products but that may be because its offering is limited. Service quality varies a lot depending upon the staff you interact with.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_too_enjoy_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

You enter the lobby of this high rise hotel in a great position on the Lake minutes from the old town..and you wonder "what numbskull designed this?" With zero personality it feels almost like a train station or public building BUT everything else is standard quality Sofitel..from the reception staff to the rooms. Exceptionally comfortable and medium large with great picture post card views over the lake and Hanoi, Their deluxe rooms are the place to stay if you want to spend allot of time staring out the window and writing poetry. Great! The beds and linen are the usual super comfortable Sofitel standard and pillow choices are sublime. Food is excellent but we found the breakfast and home made pastries in the lounge area not quite up to scratch but those are minor details in the sum total of things. Ease of access as its so close to the tourist spots and its position overshadow most negatives and I highly recommend this mainly business oriented but also tourist welcoming hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

We had been staying at a small hotel in the middle of the Old Quarter and felt the need to escape the madness of the noise and traffic which is the Old Quarter. The Sofitel Plaza was just fabulous, we decided to splurge on our last couple of days in Vietnam and booked a room on the executive floor with access to the executive lounge for breakfast and cocktails and nibbles. The staff were all very professional and friendly, from the moment we entered the hotel until we walked out, and the room was roomy, comfortable and lovely. The hotel was accommodating the Singapore contingent of the ASEAN Summit at the time and was surrounded by massive security including machine guns and xray machines, but the staff made sure our entrance and exit from the hotel was quick and easy. I would highly recommend the executive level rooms, the drinks were lovely and even french champagne with canapes. Breakfast was excellent too. We really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel and would highly recommend this hotel to friends and associates for its style, staff and location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyColly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

It was clean, with impeccable service. Wide spread of breakfast and comfy beds.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyJeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Stayed here three times and every visit has been top class. Staff are friendly, efficient and always seem to be smiling. Helped us in so many ways as we were having a family wedding on one visit and required many additional services. Loved the selection of food at breakfast and late evening drinks and snacks in the rooftop bar.
While it is a little distance from the town centre it is easy and inexpensive to get there by taxi - the concierge staff always found us suitable transport though we needed seven seats at times. Watching the roundabout in front of the hotel is the best entertainment in the district!
Wish I was back there now!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianphot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel Plaza in Hanoi for 2 nights. 1st night we were in a basic room. Nice and clean, bed comfortable, bathtub small, room service good, free internet in room.
We went to Halong Bay for a night and then returned to the Sofitel Plaza for another night. This time we were upgraded to a better room. Basically same layout, but just a higher floor and better toiletries. It was very nice.
Staff were friendly enough. Breakfast was nice and adequate, not as much choice as we've experienced in other hotels, but it was a nice breakfast.
Location was a bit far from the old quarter. Not a nice walk there, have to rely on public transport (cyclo or taxi). Traffic is horrendous in Hanoi and the corner where the hotel is situated is pretty hectic.
Altogether a nice comfortable haven in a hectic city. Would be better to be more centrally located.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenbeanpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#49 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Hanoi

Property: Pan Pacific Hanoi
Address: 1 Thanh Nien Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Plaza Hanoi)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#26 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#31 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Hanoi offers 273 elegantly furnished rooms and suites, which boast breathtaking views of West Lake, Truc Bach Lake and the Red River. The hotel also has an impressive collection of 56 fully equipped serviced suites catering to the needs of extended-stay travellers. Savour a diverse range of international dishes from the all-day-dining restaurant or indulge in exquisite cuisine at our Chinese restaurant. Our lobby bar provides a relaxing ambience for guests to unwind after a long day. With 12 versatile meeting spaces, including a pillarless ballroom that can host up to 450 guests, the hotel provides the ideal venue for corporate meetings and grand banquets. Complete with an indoor pool with natural skylight, well-equipped fitness centre and rejuvenating spa, Pan Pacific Hanoi offers a refreshing new experience in the capital of Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Pan Pacific Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Plaza Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Plaza Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing