We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi Hilton Opera”
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Ranked #94 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Hanoi Hilton Opera”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Hanoi Hilton Opera is in a great location in Hanoi, near to premium shopping and with a range of eating and shopping facilities nearby. the Executive Lounge on the 7th floor is good value and well worth the additional cost. WiFi is fast and reliable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Terrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Terrence K,

Thank you for your kind comments on this website after your recent stay at our property.

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to be to your satisfaction.

Terrence K, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera very soon.

Until the opportunity permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    876
    277
    79
    32
See reviews for
353
718
155
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights at this well known Hanoi hotel. Staff are very kind and attentive. If you can get up to the executive floors, they do a really nice breakfast at the executive club. Rooms are cold and without any decoration worthy of such a historic location. The hallways are warn out and dingy. Location is great! With staying here if you get a fair price but don't expect the grandeur that the name implies.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank asiatravel4years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear asiatravel4years,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comment, with reference to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am glad to read of your positive impression with respect to the kindness and attentiveness of our Team members. Your detailed feedback will be shared with all concerned so that we are aware of your appreciation and constructive suggestions.

asiatravel4years, on a separate note, I am pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are consistently enhancing our offer to better align with the changing expectations of our discerning travelers.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera upon your next visit.

Until the opportunity permits.

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a potentially great hotel with outstanding service and location, but rooms and facilities that are outdated compared with other Hilton Hotels. The value for money is currently much higher for other hotels in this part of Hanoi. Updating the room decor and getting rid of the mildew-like room odor found in older hotels throughout the tropics would help a lot. Terrific staff and service, though in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank contentonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear contentonthebeach,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comment, with reference to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Please rest assured that we will continue to undergo constant change within our hotel, so that we consistently strive to improve the guest overall experience. Your comments will contribute to this endeavour.

Contentonthebeach, I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back “home” upon your next visit.

Until the occasion permits

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Bit disappointed when first arrived at the hotel as the public rooms were very orange and there was very little atmosphere. The decor in the rooms was also disappointing although you couldn't fault the size of them, the bathroom was great though and probably the best shower during our travels staying in five star hotels. The breakfast was also the best we experienced during our trip.lots of choice and very fresh. The air conditioning in the room was not working sufficiently when we arrived but an engineer was soon sent to fix it, luckily whilst he was in the room I also noted that the plug adapter unit was loose but he tightened this up and it worked no problem after that. The bed was very comfortable and the room had all the usual 5 star extras and was the only hotel that provided an iron and ironing board as standard, all the other hotels I'd had to request one. The hotel was very well positioned for sight-seeing but was a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the old quarter. One other comment is that internet connection is not included in the price of your room and breakfast which annoyed my husband a little (it was included in the other 4 hotels we stayed in during our trip). Maybe this is something Hilton Hotels need to address.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Karen h,

Thank you for your detailed and gracious comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am delighted to note that you and your husband generally enjoyed your experience while staying with us with your positive impression of our bathroom and our breakfast offer. Details of your comments will be shared with all concerned to ensure we continue to fulfill and live up to the expectations of our discerning travelers.

Karen h, once again, thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera in the near future.

Until the occasion permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have just returned from a one week business trip to Hanoi, staying at this hotel for 7 nights. This was a revisit as I also stayed here just over one year ago.

Check in was a definite improvement!!
This time, I opted to upgrade to an executive room, but as there were no king bedded rooms available on the executive floors, I was given a room on a lower level but with the executive benefits. This includes breakfast in the room price, in either the main restaurant or the executive lounge, afternoon tea and evening drinks and canapes, as well as use of the lounge at your leisure.

My room was on the non-Opera house side of the building, but I don't believe the views are anything to write home about, as the windows are quite small. I did note that the room had a funny damp/musty smell throughout the time I was there.
The bed was outstandingly comfortable and the room as all the facilities one would expect from a Hilton.
When my bedroom was visited for the turn down service on the first night I received a hand written welcome back card from the General Manager and some chocolates, which I felt was a nice touch.
The room appeared to be serviced frequently, replenishing towels, bottled water, toiletries etc, but I was only ever interrupted while in my room once. It was like a magic housekeeping fairy.
The only suggestion I would make would be to provide mugs rather than cups and saucers in the bedroom, and to provide milk not just powdered creamer - tea drinkers like myself, while grateful for the kettle and teabags, generally like a lot of the liquid with proper milk!!

The executive lounge is definitely worth the extra. We had breakfast in the main restaurant on the first morning, but after that opted for the lounge as it was quieter, and while it had a smaller range of options, it had everything we required.
It was also great to kick back with a glass of wine and some small bites in the evening after a hard day. If you wished to you could also make the small bites into something more substantial as there are hot options in bain maries as well as cheeses, dips, cake etc.

The weather was mostly foggy while we were in Hanoi so I only went down to the pool area once, to sit and read a book in a biref spell of sunshine. The pool itself was getting a fair amount of visitors swimming laps.

Upon check out there was an issue concerning the bill of myself and my colleague and we had to leave with the matter unresolved, expressing disappointment, as we had to go to the airport. However the matter was quickly addressed and an email sent to each of us correcting the charges as required.

All in all this hotel is in a great location, with great service. If the lingering smell in the rooms could be addressed then it'd be an even better place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear CBMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed response after your recent visit the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

Your insight and comments will be shared with all concerned to ensure we continue to fulfill and live up to the expectations of our discerning travelers. Please rest assured that we are undergoing constant change within our hotel to improve the guest experience, your comments and suggestions therefore most valuable.
.
CBMelbourne, once again, thank you for your truly candid thoughts. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera when your next visit to Hanoi.

Until we have the honor of welcoming you “home”,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in an executive room which had a strong damp smell from the air conditioning and didnt look like it had been updated since the 1980s. However, the room had plenty of space, the bed was up to the usual high standard that you expect in a Hilton. The executive lounge is worth paying the extra amount for if you make use of it in the evening. Breakfast was included in the main restaurant which is decorated in a very bright green which is a bit much first thing in the morning but there was a substantial selection of breakfast items and an egg station. Its position in the french quarter was great for exploring Hanoi and the surrounding areas and is not as hectic as much of the old quarter hotels are. If you want to come out of your hotel and be greeted by someone squatting on the pavement cooking a meal then stay in the old quarter, if you prefer some home comforts then stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truby1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Truby1970,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback post your recent visit the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

I am delighted that you found our guest room to be spacious and our bed to be of a high standard while enjoying the facilities and location of our hotel.

Truby1970, feedback is always important for us as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and offer that we provide our guests so as to make continuous service and product improvements.

Once again, thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera in the near future.

Until time permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were very impressed with the outside of the hotel and the lobby but it was downhill from there. The room was the poorest we stayed in on our trip (we stayed in seven different five star hotels). On the plus side the rooms are very big and the bathroom is great (typical Hilton style).

The pool area is lovely and we enjoyed relaxing there for a while after sightseeing. The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Hanoi, within walking distance of so many great sights. We loved walking around Tortoise lake on our first evening.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing - the fruit juice tastes very artificial. We ate breakfast in the club lounge on our second day and although the choice was more limited, it was very quick service.

Check out at the club lounge was poor, I had to wait about 20 minutes. Food served in the club lounge during the day was not great - only a couple of things and afternoon tea was not worth returning to the lounge for.

One of the highlights of the hotel was our housekeeper Thuey - so friendly and she even arranged flowers for our room as we were on honeymoon. She's a real star.

There's no spa at the hotel which is not the end of the world (although fairly unusual) so the concierge recommended a spa nearby. This was a really bad decision, the massage beds in the spa were dirty (hairs on them) and the massages were terrible (both my husband & I were in agony) - we expected something better if the hotel is willing to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear JT22,

Thank you for taking the time to write a very detailed response after your recent visit the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

While taking your candid feedback, I am pleased to hear of your appreciation to Ms Thuy, our Room Attendant who went the extra mile to ensure you had a wonderful “Honeymoon stay”.

JT22, feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

Once again, thank you for your truly valuable comments. I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera when your next visit to Hanoi.

Until we have the honor of welcoming you “home”,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 588 in Hanoi
1,802 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 588 in Hanoi
1,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#87 of 588 in Hanoi
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Property: Hilton Hanoi Opera
Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#37 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing