We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well placed Hotel in Hanoi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Ranked #88 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well placed Hotel in Hanoi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived at 0530 one morning having just got off the train from Hue. Whilst we had booked we had forgotten to tell them about our early arrival. It was not an issue and we just paid half a day.
Rooms were large
Bathrooms well equipped
Breakfats buffet was excellent both Vietnames and western food
All staff were courteus and unfailingly helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidofTeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear DavidofTeddington,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comment, with reference to the Hilton Hanoi Opera.

Your insight and comments will be shared with all concerned to ensure we continue to fulfill and live up to the expectations of our discerning travelers.

DavidofTeddington, I do hope that we will have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back “home” upon your next visit.

Until the occasion permits,

Kind regards,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    816
    254
    74
    30
See reviews for
323
671
144
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I recently stayed at this property for 2 nights and was pleased upon first impressions. A nice open foyer, and greeted by friendly staff who promptly checked us in. It had been a long day of travelling, and with 6 adults and 3 children in total, we were keen to unload our belongings and head to the pool and bar to relax. Unfortunately this was not possible...

We ventured up to the hotel's sportsbar, which was advertised as televising many live sporting events as well as a billiards table and darts. Unfortunately that is as far as we got...the bar staff informed us that the sports bar was closed to hotel guests as it had been hired for a children's private function, even though the children were not guests residing in the hotel. I was astonished that hotel guests would be excluded from the bar, particularly to children who were using a licensed venue for a function.

We decided to utilise the pool, but unfortunately the children had been given use of this area and were also using the gym to conduct their games. As a result, we were unable to use the gym, pool or bar. I find this unacceptable for a hotel chain with the reputation that Hilton has.

As our frustration grew, staff directed us to the lobby where we could purchase drinks and refreshments. We only lasted one drink as the children were playing running games up and down the stairs and across the open messanine floor above. Numerous guests complained, and the staff seemed genuinely embarrassed, yet the noise continued. Each half hour we were informed that the party was concluding, yet it continued for 3 hours!!

Management the next morning were approachable and understanding, and generous in their offers. Yet this does not take away the poor management decision made, putting visitors needs above those of paying guests.

The very next night we were invited to attend the bar after numerous apologies from staff. We did so and were playing a few games of billiards when staff approached us and informed that a guest had reserved the pool table for the next few hours!! Once again they were apologetic, however...

The hotel for us was in a suitable location, clean and tidy. Yet I couldn't get past the frustrations relating to overlooking guests and excluding them from using hotel facilities.

Overall, very disappointed :(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_JayEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear CLBP,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review subsequent to your stay at our hotel.

We always endeavor to offer the highest level of service and it would appear that on this occasion we failed to meet with your expectations. For which, please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you and your family during your stay.

Despite your disappointment on this occasion, I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera at some point in the future; so that I may personally handle your reservation request and requirements, when you next have reason to visit Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Peter Simson
General Manager
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hilton Opera House has been my home away from home for the last three years whenever I visited Hanoi. It is conveniently located, close to almost all attractions. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. They really make you feel welcome. It remains one of my favorite hotels in Hilton chains.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Feng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birch Bay, Washington
Level Contributor
198 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

As Hilton Diamond members we have stayed at many Hilton properties. The property itself is good, not excellent, but it is well maintained. As others have noted, the location is excellent and the employees made this stay a five-star experience for us.

We had just spent two nights at the rather wonderful HCMC InterContinental before flying to Hanoi. The rather small and classic (sounds better than "dated," doesn't it?) room we were assigned on the seventh floor just down the hall from the Executive Lounge suffered a bit by comparison. On the other hand, the bed is comfortable, the air conditioning works well, and the modern bathroom contains a luxurious tub as well as a large stall shower. We also have a good view of the next-door Opera House from our somewhat smallish window. We're quite satisfied.

We would go as far as to say the evening food offerings in the lounge are not among the best we've experienced, but the lounge employees themselves were absolutely outstanding, full of helpful suggestions and dining recommendations.

Even our room housekeeper greeted us by name. After we left a small monetary thank-you gift on the table, she wrote us a sweet and sincere thank-you note, thanking us also in person the next time we saw her.

We ate breakfast downstairs and the buffet is superb, as is the service.

We've walked twice along the lake and into the center of the Old Quarter from the hotel. Once you get used to crossing the streets slowly and without varying your pace, it becomes quite doable. Today we returned by taxi to the lounge after a very hot walk (32 C.) and rewarded ourselves with delicious Vietnamese iced coffee.

We hope to return to Hanoi, and for the reasons above this will be our hotel of choice. In fact, we're already looking forward to one more night here after our Halong Bay cruise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank No_Fixed_Address
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I spent three days in Hanoi for business and stayed at the Hilton Opera. Comfort and convenience were more important to me than cost when selecting my accommodations, so this may not be the best option for the budget savvy traveler. The central location in the old quarter was great for a short walk to explore some of the cities attractions such as Hoan Kiem Lake and the Opera house.

The hotel car service picked me up at the airport promptly in an air conditioned car (important during monsoon season!) with a local news paper and bottled water. The total cost was ~ $120 USD for a round trip. I'm sure there are cheaper ways to travel, but this was easy and hassle free.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and made my stay a delight. The rooms were modern and clean with no shortage of bottled water or personal hygiene products.

Breakfast at the Ba Mien has a wide variety of options from a local specialty pho, fresh fruit, pastries, and the Americana style bacon and eggs. I ate here each day during my stay and was not disappointed.

My room was on the west side, overlooking the park adjacent to the Opera house; it was rather quiet and I little trouble sleeping.

Prices for additional amenities seemed a bit inflated relative to what you'd pay in local shops or restaurants, but I suppose that's the cost for convenience.

Overall very pleasant experience, would recommend for a business traveler or vacationer looking for an upscale hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the building for a view of the Opera house or west side for a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed 8 nights in an executive room on 7 floor. The lounge is very good with very friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfast. It's a great hotel in a great location. The equipments at the gym could more modern.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andersmaria041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights. The hotel is unfortunately showing its age, especially in the rooms.

We had one of the worst meals during our ten day Vietnam holiday in their ground floor Vietnamese restaurant. I would recommend that you definitely eat out in the many nearby restaurants .

Service in the executive lounge was very good in the evening. We went for afternoon tea on first day and left because the staff were too busy chatting in the kitchen area.

Location seemed to be ok good for all the tours we were doing during the day; also close to shopping district

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#81 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Property: Hilton Hanoi Opera
Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Hanoi's elegant French Quarter, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a short walk from the famous Old Quarter and the city's bustling business district. Recently awarded 'Best Business Hotel in Hanoi 2010' and voted 'Vietnam's Leading Hotel for five consecutive years at the prestigious World Travel Awards, the Hilton Hanoi Opera hotel is a landmark in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing