We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for a few nights, but all the extras are pricey”
Review of Hilton Hanoi Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Ranked #102 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2010

The hotel is very spacious and plush, with a lovely grand entrance hall. There is a HSBC ATM right outside and the hotel gives close to pegged USD-dong exchange rate inside. The beds are super comfortable and the rooms are very quiet. This is quite refreshing after the frantic noise of Hanoi. This is a highly visible hotel; it's unlikely that any taxi driver who takes you here will be able to scam you with an alternative hotel. There is also a pretty standard Hilton offering in terms of the Fitness Centre - cardio equipment plus weights. There is also a lovely pool area; but we did not use it because it was winter time during our visit.

That said, the extras in the hotel are pricey. We ordered room service on our first night here as we were too tired to go out. They offer pretty similar stuff to other Hiltons around the world (which you'll either find a bit boring or reassuringly consistent, depending upon your perspective). A burger and a baguette cost us the equivalent of US$22. This doesn't sound a lot, but was actually the most expensive meal we had our entire time in Hanoi, and wasn't anywhere near the quantity and quality of what we had elsewhere. The airport pickup service offered by the hotel uses the hotel's fleet of BMWs and costs around US$60, but you can get a normal taxi at the airport (if you bargain appropriately) for around US$15.

So, the Hilton is a plush hotel; quite similar to other Hiltons around the world. It is "reassuringly expensive and consistent to its brand" but by no means "good value" or reflective of local character.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2010

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed account of your stay at the Hilton Hanoi Opera on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you found the hotel a comfortable respite from the hustle and bustle of surrounding Hanoi and that you found our beds to be very comfortable. I am happy to highlight that we have the only heated swimming pool in Hanoi - but you are right, Hanoi in winter can get very chilly indeed!

With regards to pricing within the hotel we do complete regular market surveys and believe we have a consistent pricing strategy when compared to other 5 star hotels in the city and offer a consistent, high end, hassle free experience. Again it is true that you can get much cheaper meals and transportation etc. outside of the hotel and this is indeed reflective of the quality being offered.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera on your next visit to Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 2,431 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2010

We have visited for the first time in Vietnam. It was very fortunete to stay in Hilton Hanoi Opera. Now we like very much Hanoi.
The hotel is very quiet with eccelent service staff.
At the moment of arrival in the hotel, I heard "Mr. & Ms. XXXX welcome" ! ! ! Is was the first time in my life hotel staffs were informed about my name without telling.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanaHanako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2010

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor and I am very pleased to hear that you name was used by our team showing that our Training efforts are paying off. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We took advantage of Hilton's half price special to stay in a Club Suite on our way to Hoi An. The suite had a separate living room which was great for the baby, and an enormous bathroom. The Hanoi Opera Hilton is a good choice when you have a day or two to see the city. The lobby is very nice. The rooms are a bit old-fashioned with small windows, but otherwise in very good condition. It's a short walk to the lake and other old town sights. The Club Lounge has a good selection of complimentary canapes from 6-8.30pm. The staff are good.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cannotpacklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2010

We were pleased to receive your positive comments and to see that you and your family enjoyed the spacious rooms and the special rates that at we have on offer at the moment. Also pleased that you enjoyed the canapes prepared freshly by the Kitchen team during your visit. We do hope that we will see you again on your next visit to Hanoi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel despite the fact that it was the Tet festival (a lot of shops and restaurants were closed) and the weather was surprisingly cold.
The hotel is very well located just a 10 minute walk from Hoan Kiem lake and the rooms are spacious and modern. The breakfast buffet is a good one with loads of choice Front desk staff were brilliant and rang around several of the restaurants that we wanted to try in order to find one that was not closed for the holidays.They also helped us when we had difficulty getting tickets for the water puppet show and even sent a guy down in person to get tickets for us. Will use this hotel again if we go back to Hanoi

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knightsy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2010

Thank you for your review of the hotel with references to our spacious and modern rooms (which are actually very well maintained from our opening) and that you received our normal high standards of service from our Front Office team. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hilton Hanoi Opera on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We arrived in hanoi and the travel from the airport to the hotel was a eye opener as was to walk around hanoi (crossing streets) etc so we found that the hilton hotel was a good place to escape the hustle. The rooms are a little dated but comfortable enough and large enough. Room service and the food is excellent as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The breakfast once again were excellent with every selection you could want. The hotel is also very quite. The service from the staff can be a little indifferent.
Tip:
Take the day trip to halong bay, the ride there and back is not the best but halong bay is beautiful.
Traffic in hanoi is an eye opener.
The water puppets show is good but gets a bit much towards the end of the performance. Watch out for the fruit ladies who will put the sticks over your shoulders for a photo and then expect you to buy something - quite agressive.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjhandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2010

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the escape from the bustling streets and life that Hanoi has to offer at the Hilton Hanoi Opera. I would thoroughly agree with your tips that a visit to Halong Bay is highly recommended to visitors traveling to Hanoi and to be careful with the bustling and often frantic traffic. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The hotel has a very friendly and helpfull staff. You feel very welcome in the hotel. Good food and excellent cakes. The room included the air condition was very compfortable.

The location was good with walking distance to interesting place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eirikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2010

Thank you for your positive review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the food and cakes prepared under the watchful eye of our Executive Chef Frederic Meynard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The hotel is charming, well located and staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonHanoiOpera, General Manager at Hilton Hanoi Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2010

Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#76 of 607 in Hanoi
2,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 607 in Hanoi
1,927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#94 of 607 in Hanoi
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hanoi Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hanoi Opera

Address: 1 Le Thanh Tong St., | Hoan Kiem Dist.,, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#33 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#34 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £64 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Hanoi Opera 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Hanoi’s CBD, Hilton Hanoi Opera is within easy walking distance of the city’s tourist attractions and bustling shopping areas, providing an ideal home from which to experience the rich textures of Hanoi. Inspired by the character of the famous Hanoi Opera House, the hotel is a fusion of traditions: gentle Vietnamese hospitality, and Hilton’s assurance of reliability, impeccable service and first-class facilities. The hotel’s 268 rooms offer a view of either the City, the Park or the Opera House. All rooms are equipped with luxurious bathrooms, separate working desk and high-speed internet access. While staying with Hilton Hanoi Opera, guests have plenty of food and drink choices: from authentic Vietnamese and international cuisine at Ba Mien & Chez Manon, to homemade pastries at the Bakery, coffee/ snacks/ cocktails at Lobby Lounge and JJ's Sports Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Hanoi Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing