We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big five stars for all the staff”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #67 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A big five stars for all the staff”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We were collected from the Hanoi Airport by our Guide Quang it took about and hour to get to the hotel because of the traffic how crazy is it!!. My first impression was what have we come to the pollution was like thick mist. But when we woke to be picked up by Quang the day changed very quickly. His expert knowlegde and humour made our outing very interesting. He took us to some amazing places through out the city. Even crossing the roads he would say be like sticky rice and away we would go with the traffic going around you. Thank you Quang for all your wonderful stories.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julz950938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    622
    184
    55
    19
See reviews for
202
569
108
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed here on business. I had an upgraded room on one of the upper floors. The room was large. Definitely comfortable for a couple. Would have been tough to squeeze two double beds.
Bathroom is small. Big enough for one, but hard for two people to use at same time.
Had same issue with slow drainage and no shower enclosure so water goes everywhere.
Carpet is worn thin in some places. However, on the whole, the hotel is very nice and comfortable. Not a lot of character; but when you are far from home, it's nice to be able to come back to a comfortable hotel with modern amenities.
I enjoyed the breakfast buffet (included in upgraded rooms) which has mix of Western and Asian breakfast styles. Their fruit selection is wonderful! Also, coffee is surprisingly good.
Everyone was very gracious, service polite. English is adequate for basic needs (eg booking a tour, restaurant reservations, recommendations for activities) but don't get too complicated. I always find it funny to see travelers making incredibly detailed requests, like,"Ok, we would like to go on a half day tour of the French quarter, but then have a cab bring us to get lunch near a place with a massage place that costs under $20 but then we want to visit the opera house and shop for silks. Oh, before all that we need to drop off a FedEx package to New York...Bu the way, where can we get authentic street food that won't make us sick?" Not cool. The concierge is NOT your personal assistant. Nor can she control the traffic noise from the city, or the construction across the street. But help you find a drug store? Yes.
Gym is small but has towels and headphones and water, treadmills, bikes, and usual equipment and satellite TV.
Outdoor pool is chilly and poorly lit. However has an outdoor hot tub.
Location is ok - next to the Hoa lo prison, walking distance to Hoan Kiem lake.

Room Tip: 16th floor or higher diminishes most of street noise Maybe ask for room away from construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAWorkingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The standard of hotel on our tour was good and this was above average. Room on the 19th floor was comfortable with all the amenities you could want. We only ate breakfast but this was very good and there are lots of restaurants close-by

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This is a nice hotel situated in Ly Thuong Kiet street road where most of the offices are. It's in close proximity to Hoan Kiem Lake, Hang Gai (souvenir market), Old Quarter and couple of other famous and happening places of Hanoi. When there last month, since it was raining most of the time so couldn't get good view of the city sky line (my bad luck). Got a room on 12th floor. Floors are quite and calm, quite contrary to the bustling reception lobby. During my 1 week stay, I could see hordes n hordes of people especially in the evening, I guess some event or the other was happening. Coming to the rooms, they are spacious, nicely done with basic amenities which most of the 4 n 5-star hotels offers. Restaurant's nice serving some good food, though bit expensive.Overall my stay was good, enjoyed it. However had a bad experience, upon checking-in I was made aware of all the facilities etc and was told that breakfast's included in room (being business traveler). First 3-days went fine, 4th day banquet manager asked me my room, which is customary. after I finished my breakfast I was asked to sign breakfast buffet bill. After inquiring I got to know that breakfast is not included!!!. The person who did the check-in gave me wrong information which was quite amusing and annoying. I am sure this would have been one off the incidents. Nonetheless it's a good hotel tad expensive.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on 12th floor and above with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My son and I stayed there during spring break for 5 nights. This is one of our finer hotels. The staff was so courteous and helpful. The rooms were of good size and equipped with a mini bar, in-room-safe, coffee maker, flat screen tv, slippers...all the amentities of a 5 star. It was one of the more expensive hotels but this was our first visit to vietnam we and didn't want to feel unsafe. Good security there also. Location, what can I say? It is located within a block of the Hoa Lo Prison. (Hanoi Hilton) Which is now a museum and a must see. The opera house is a short walk as is the Hoam Kiem Lake. If you have never been to Vietnam the water puppet theater is a short pedicab away. Worth seeing once anyway. We saw another one a 3 months later in Ho Chi Minh City and it was the exact same performance. Hanoi is a fun city to walk around in. The pool was kind of small but nice. The hotel seems to cater more to the business traveler than tourist. Even for the extra dollars, I'd still stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the higher rooms offer a view.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

A very comfortable hotel, well located. The clientele is a mixture of corporate business and tour groups, though the prime minister of Ukraine was in residence while we were there. We only had breakfast in the hotel but there was a very good selection and service was immaculate. Recommended.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Courneuve, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This hotel is quite close to the Old Quarter and you actually can see the hotel standing from anywhere in the city center. I stayed on the 20th floor.

The first impression about this hotel from me is good. The manager and the staff were friendly to us even though we late checked in. The food and drinks in the lounge were free. I think they have similar foods to serve in most 5-star hotels: sushi, tiny cakes, small sandwiches, little sausage and beans, juices....Mostly Western style.

The room service is great. I happened to need my clothes washed to go out at night the first day we arrived. Its 6pm already so I had to ask for express laundry service. They gave my clothes back 1 and half an hour later, cleaned, ironed and smell nice and charged regular price. Still expensive though.

And I don't know why there are lots of big events were held in this hotel. it was so crowded and noisy in the Hall.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARNOUX2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#84 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#23 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing