We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent up market hotel with lovely food and staff”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #73 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip around Northern Vietnam and were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a huge suite and the complimentary wifi was excellent and fast.

The rooms were very clean and well appointed with excellent showers and very comfortable beds. We did not have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was certainly excellent and had a fantastic choice including Asian and Western choices. The staff were very friendly and spoke great English.

Only slight downside was the street noise (which you would get anywhere in Hanoi) and the building sounds coming from somewhere, but these did seem to stop at about 21:30 so not too bad.

Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Seeing that we paid a ridiculous price for our stay here, everything was better than we had expected. We were here 1-5 Jan & we only paid a measly 368 USD.

The location was central, within walking distance to the Old Quarters.
Staff were polite, friendly & very helpful.
Our rooms were not stuffy despite the fact that the windows could not be opened.
You had a selection of the kinds of pillows you wanted!
Breakfast buffet was good enough for us to eat for 4 days straight without tiring.
Room service cleaned the room the best they could without moving our belongings.

Perhaps the only fault I can find is that the exchange rate offered is lousy. But who doesn't know that?!

Did not get to try the spa myself, although my friend said it was good. Prices look okay though.

Room Tip: Request for rooms above 10 floors if you cannot bear club music. They have a really happening club o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainee-XQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had come from a 3 star Hanoi local chain hotel to stay in this international brand establishment and were sorely disappointed, We thoroughly enjoyed the ME experience in Madrid, Spain but unfortunately this could not be replicated in it's sister establishment in Hanoi. We stayed at the Level (the executive club) and I must say that the people service was fine but the amenity and calibre of the executive club fell way short of what should be expected. The hotel itself was fine but when you compare executive clubs between chains of hotels this one somehow doesn't match. Quality of wines and availability of foods was not in accordance with others we have previously indulged in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank jcarp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services. We will keep working on the area of improvements you mentioned. However, I would like to highlight that within Melia Hotels International group, you will find different brands with different standards; ME and MELIA being two different ones.

In addition, as you probably know, we are now up-grading our facilities; even I understand your disappointment, I still hope that you will give another chance to our hotel and enjoy our new product or any of our hotels around the world.

I really look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel was good, no frre wifi for us, and that was bad for the kids. The room was a bit worn down, but OK.Everything was clean, but worn out. Brekfast was great, good restaurant at the hotel, but more fun In the streets around it. Easy to move around everywere.

Room Tip: We had room sin the 9th floor, good rooms but a bit warn down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nils W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of them will be used to improve our services.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the food in our hotel.

Regarding your comment about the internet service, I would like to inform you that following the suggestions of our guests, from 1st January, we have decided to include complimentary wi-fi internet everywhere in our hotel.

Furthermore, regarding your comments about our rooms, we have started to up-grade our rooms. We hope that you will have the opportunity to come back in some months once all are completed and enjoy the improvements done.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. I chose the hotel for its location. It's nominally 5 star but be prepared for the rooms lacking 5.star furnishings and decoration. It look tired and we even had iron marks on the carpet. However can't fault the service and the breakfast was excellent and was included in the room rate. The beds are very hard but we asked for softer mattresses and toppers were put on the bed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foote11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review about our hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Regarding your comments about the room, I would like to inform you that we are not up-grading our facilities including our rooms to be able to offer a better and nicer product.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Melia for 3 nights and were pretty satisfied. Service is great, the staff are all quite friendly and helpful. The location is good, walking distance to both old quarter (15 mins) and the lake. Our room was on the 18th floor with a city view which was nice and the room itself was really clean and comfortable. Indeed, the rooms could use an upgrade but this didn't effect our stay. Breakfast buffet was amazing, so many options. All in all it was a good stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nataliethomthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We got an excellent internet rate for our stay so on the whole we were pleased with the hotel. The location is good for central Hanoi and the room was spacious. Service was on the whole pretty good. On the negative side of things the facilities are fraying around the edges a bit. The bathroom fittings are showing signs of age and the door lock system jammed from time to time. The breakfast buffet was underwhelming. They are trying, but shortcuts were in evidence at every turn. They are charging premium prices in the cafe and restaurants, and they probably can't get away with that much longer. There was some construction noise during the day. I would say if you can get a competitive internet rate then the Melia is a good option for central Hanoi. Better than a mini hotel but can no longer really claim to be a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all of them will be used to improve our services.

In particular, your comments regarding the breakfast have been forwarded to our Executive Chef. However, we are really surprised you were not satisfied about it as our selection is huge. I would be very pleased if you can provide us some more specifics comments about it.

Finally, regarding your comment about the construction noise, we have been doing some maintenance works recently. We have tried to find the most suitable time for most of our guests. I am sorry to know that it has been an inconvenience for you.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. I remain at your disposal for any other suggestion you wish to share with me.

Best regards.

CelineGuyomarc’h
General Manager
gm@meliahanoi.com.vn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#98 of 599 in Hanoi
2,269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 599 in Hanoi
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.4 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#42 of 599 in Hanoi
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Address: 44B Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £77 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located in the heart of Vietnam’s capital, Meliá Hanoi welcomes all who are looking for splendid accommodation, first-class facilities, and warm service. Luxurious rooms and a wide array of facilities, from a state-of-the-art business center to an outdoor swimming pool, make the hotel a perfect choice for business or leisure. The Meliá Hanoi also offers diners a world of culinary delights to explore, from the international themed buffets of El Patio to the local flavors of El Oriental. Strategically located in Hanoi, the hotel stands a short distance from many key districts and major attractions such as the Hanoi Opera House, Old Quarter, Temple of Literature, and Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum. Celebrating the nation’s rich culture and traditions, including the natural wonder of Ha Long Bay, the hotel’s tour desk offers guests many ways to explore Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing