We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #66 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel instantly. Such friendly smiley staff, very well appointed room on the 20th floor, the best breakfast I have had anywhere in the world - what a selection! I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaCrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review about our hotel service and our Team members.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    618
    184
    55
    19
See reviews for
202
567
108
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Avery well placed hotel for the old town.lovely hotel large rooms, very clean. Excellent breakfast everything you could possibly want. Ate in the restaurant one evening, good meal excellent service.good tour desk, not busy had two private tours after we booked group ones.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planner25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Melia hotel is centrally located, close to the lake and old town. The rooms are very comfortable but a little tired.
We had dinner at the restaurant on our first night but were the only ones dining which was slightly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLou22297701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that we have not covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services.

Regarding your comments about our rooms, we are now up-grading our facilities. Our first newly decorated floor actually opened some weeks ago. The entire hotel should be completed in some months. I understand your opinion and I hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us and enjoy our new product soon.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I used this hotel twice this month. The breakfast is excellent and worth the stay on its own. The stay are friendly and helpful but the bathrooms and bedrooms need updating. The pool is freezing cold and the jacuzzi is broken which was a shame. When we visited they had a metal detector and security staff that spoilt the experience for us as guests, it felt more like a airport security hall than a hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank merlin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not really covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services.

In particular, I have shared your comments regarding the Jacuzzi with our Chief Engineer. Actions have been taken to fix the issue and to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future.

Regarding the metal detector, as you noticed, we hosted a VIP delegation during your stay and we were requested to install this detector. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused. This is not something usual.

Furthermore, I would like to inform you that we are now up-grading our facilities; our first newly decorated floor opened some weeks ago. The entire hotel should be completed in some months. I understand your disappointment. However, I still hope that you will give another chance to our hotel and enjoy our new product soon.

I really look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

So impressed with the Melia wonderful service, buffet to die for, such a wonderful selection. Up grade room was fantastic, and location excellent the pillow selection was amazing. Tour desk very helpful arrange Halong Bay tour with English speaking tour guide..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Olaser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The staff win hands down for their efforts to attend to their guests, in some cases even over-servicing, like in their main restaurant where there seems to be more attendants than necessary. I stayed for nine nights and my room was always promptly cleaned. The pity of this hotel is that it is past its prime, it is tired and worn and the room furniture and carpets are old. I would not stay here again just because there are newer options in Hanoi within the same price range. As well, and this is definitely a downside: this is a conference hotel. So if you're an independent traveller or in a small group, expect to face large crowds in the lobby and public spaces. In summary: the staff get an A+ but the hotel itself is not compelling -- stay elsewhere until they complete their much needed renovations.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. The "Level" category of rooms is nothing special at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryitoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel facilities and services.

I am very sorry to hear that we have not covered your expectations. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us; all the comments we receive are analyzed and used to improve our services.

In particular, I would like to inform you that we are now up-grading our facilities; our first newly decorated floor is opened some weeks ago. The entire hotel should be completed in some months. I understand your disappointment. However, I still hope that you will give another chance to our hotel and enjoy our new product soon.

I really look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingelmunster, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

very warm welcome, very friendly people, impressive lobby...
Rooms are good! large, enough place, and all the facilities you would expect in a 5* Hotel.
Laundry service is fast and cheap.
breakfast is just amazing... I travel a lot in Asia, and it's rare to get breakfasts of this quality.
nice bar, the food they serve is great...

people are spontaneously helping if you need to get stuff translated etc... thumps up!

Ok, maybe one thing they should definitely improve on, is the shower... I'm probably just unlucky with mine, but the fitting is not done all that well, so water is escaping from a lot of different places, so the actual water coming out of the shower head is kind of limited...

the room cleaning is done very nicely (they all have an impressive level of english too), although could be done a bit earlier in my opinion... they would usually get a around somewhere at three PM... mostly at a time when I'm just in my room doing my mails ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBBBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Regarding your comment about the shower, it has been shared with the executive housekeeper in order to be more attentive on this, as well as the time to make-up the room.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#68 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#92 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#22 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing