We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent renovation”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #67 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Cleveland, Ohio, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent renovation”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We ( me and my business partner were staying at two rooms on a 7 floor, on which we were staying before remodeling quite a few times. This time it was completely different - After recent renovation Melia Hanoi is offering one of the most impressive hospitality experience in Hanoi. Change in appearance of everything from corridors and rooms to furniture and bathroom amenities is very visible, modern, nice and, once again, impressive. I always like solid service offered at Melia, but now the whole stay experience reached a new level. I compliment Melia team for shoosing great decor, furniture, quality of remodeling work and especially quite a unique experience in bathroom amenities. Now it is on a pair with most exceptional world level.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Valeriy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are pleased to read that you liked our newly renovated room. We are also glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    621
    184
    55
    19
See reviews for
202
569
108
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Melia is perfectly placed in Hanoi within a few minutes walk of the French Quarter, Old Town, "Hanoi Hilton" (POW prison museum), Hoan Kiem lake and many restaurants and cafes. The hotel itself is 5 star according to the Vietnam government rating.

The chaos and heat of Hanoi immediately fade when you walk into reception. Staff are welcoming but not in your face. There is a large, impressive foyer and seating area cum coffee lounge cum bar lounge. By Hanoi standards the beer and coffee prices are high (as expected in an international hotel) but by western hotel standards very cheap (beer is around $3).

Our room was perfectly acceptable - good size, views over the city, comfortable and clean but was a little tired and needed redecorating. However we travelled with a group tour and it seems we were just unlucky - everyone else's seemed fine. There was a shower over the bath. In a five star hotel, I expect a separate shower. The tiling and grouting In the bathroom was, like the room, a little tired. On a more positive note the free wifi was much faster than I can get at home, never mind in a hotel (my iPad recorded it at 9.49 Mbps)

I did not use the fitness centre, but visited it. It is very well equipped and contains everything you would need to exercise on a trip. The swimming pool was clean, well maintained and supervised, but a little small, and lacking in sun beds. It also seemed to allow glass drinks containers, which seemed like a disaster waiting to happen.

Breakfast was OK - fairly standard for an international hotel. A wide range of hot and cold food, all of it done to a fair standard but, as with most international hotels that try to cater to too many tastes, none of it exceptional.

I am conscious that I may appear to be running the hotel down. I really don't want to do that. It is a very nice hotel, and if I return to Hanoi, I would have no hesitation in staying here. However, it carries a 5* rating but it certainly would not be that in North America or Western Europe. It is a solid 4*, no more no less. If it carried a 4* rating I would probably be raving about it. If you base your expectations on that, I am sure you will have an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review about our hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Regarding your comments about our rooms, we are now up-grading our facilities. Our first newly decorated floor is actually opened some weeks ago. The entire hotel should be completed in some months. I understand your opinion and I hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us and enjoy our new product soon.

For the rest of your comments, all are very constructive and will be taken into account to improve our services and facilities.

Once again, our most sincere thanks. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Wonderful room Wonderful lobby Wonderful breakfast Wonderful location , miss here, Wonderful Wonderful room Wonderful lobby Wonderful breakfast Wonderful location , miss here, Wonderful Wonderful room Wonderful lobby Wonderful breakfast Wonderful location , miss here, Wonderful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_long88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you had a WONDERFUL stay with us. This our goal and to have achieved it, is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Large modern hotel in good location. Even the standard rooms are large and comfortable with all the usual facilities, including fairly fast wifi. Attentive service in the lounge and restaurant. Breakfasts were very good, but for the other meals there is very little on offer for vegetarians and nothing for vegans, which is disappointing for a Buddhist country. Good restaurants nearby though.

The conference facilities vary from a massive ballroom to a smaller function room with no windows. The hotel itself is impressive enough to invite high level government officials, if that is what you need! There is a large gym and an outdoor pool (not that i had the time to use them).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mr. Chandler,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Your comments regarding the need of more vegetarian options have been forwarded to our Executive Chef. We actually do have some vegetarian dishes included in our different buffets and menus but we might need to indicate those dishes more clearly.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I am often a visitor of Melia hotels and like the others also the Hanoi Melia is a Grand Hotel. The service is extraordinary and the staff is very friendly. The breakfast buffet is one of the best which i have ever seen and the Melia has also an extensive gym and a nice spa. Also the outside swimming pool has an adequate length to make a good swim and to refresh when it is hot in Hanoi. From my perspective, the Melia Hanoi has definitively 5 stars.

The upgraded me also to a vast suite room which is really very generous. But also the other rooms are relatively large.

One may say that the room fittings are relatively old, but i think that they have still taste and differ from all the uniform refurbished hotel rooms of other large chains. Opportunity for improvement is also the room menu card, I think that there should be a bit more vegetarian and vegan options.

Overall, i think that the ratings are unfair of the Melia. I think it deserves something between very good and excellent. I round it up to an excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmarBacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for always choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great comments about our hotel.

We are glad to know that you really enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to achieve this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

In particular, I have shared your comments regarding the need of more vegetarian options with our Executive Chef. We actually do have some vegetarian dishes included in our different buffets and menus but we might need to indicate those dishes more clearly.

Furthermore, I would like to inform you that we are currently up-grading our rooms. For your next stay you will definitely stay in one of them.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Really great hotel in good city position. Our bedroom was on the 17th floor and was really spacious with a very wide bed. Unfortunately I found the bed too hard. The bathroom was excellent but the bath was chipped and the sealant around the bath was awful. The breakfast was amazing and the staff were very attentive.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

However, I am sorry to read that the bed was not comfortable enough for you. Indeed, most of our guests prefer hard beds. However, for your next stay, please do not hesitate to inform us, we have the possibility to add a soft pad on top of the mattress. This option would make the mattress softer and more suitable for you.

Furthermore, I would like to inform you that we are currently up-grading our rooms. The bathroom is one of the areas to be improved.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed three nights whilst on tour of Vietnam & Cambodia. Really good location with easy walking distance to old quarter/city centre and close to very good restaurants. The staff are very friendly and helpful. For some reason we were allocated a Level Deluxe room, which was really spacious very clean and beautifully appointed. Excellent buffet breakfast with with a mixture of Asian and Western food on offer. Overall we felt we were in a good quality 5* hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trejan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#83 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#23 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing