We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #65 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is a great option if you want a little bit of luxury for a reasonable price.

The decor is a little dated, but the service is fantastic.

We booked rooms on the club level, and were greeted by lovely staff who upgraded us to executive suites for no extra charge.

I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the (small amount) extra and upgrade to a club level room. The complimentary afternoon tea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Furthermore, as you probably know, we are now working on the up-grade of our facilities; we hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you in our hotel and show you our up-graded product soon.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    598
    182
    53
    19
See reviews for
187
542
104
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nashik, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Melia is a centrally located hotel in Hanoi. All the major attractions are close by to the hotel. Best part is taxi are very economical in Vietnam. Hanoi seems to be a safe city as well.

What I liked about Melia was

1. Although the staff is not very good at speaking English, their hospitality is extremely good
2. Rooms are spacious and clean
3. The hotel has good conferencing facility, ideal for big meetings
4. Restaurants serve awesome Vietnamese food

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SohamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Regarding the level of English of our team, some English courses are continuously conducted; however, some associates still have some difficulties to improve their level. Thank you so much for your understanding.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights, out and back from HaLong Bay. Got upgraded rooms free both times. Well that's always a good sign! Rooms were well serviced, and 4 star standard.

Tried the disco outside bar on the first visit but the noise was making my ears bleed so on the second trip we stayed downstairs in a quiet corner bar. Drinks by Western standards are cheap, especially when compared to Singapore (Swissotel) our previous residence.

Used the hotel Vietnamese/Thai restaurant for dinner. It was excellent. Portions were very large - that's not a great criteria - but be careful not to order too much like we did. The service was very good and the food was delicious, flavoursome and well cooked.

Breakfasts were good up to the standard of other 4/5* hotels and plenty of buffet choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Melia in July 2013 while touring around Vietnam. This is the place to stay, and the hotel hosted many international and national functions while we were there. The location was superb, and within walking distance of the key attractions of Hanoi. The rooms were of a high standard and the rooftop pool was great for relaxing after a day out in the city. The breakfasts were of a high standard. We had one dinner in the hotel and it was of a good standard with huge choice. The wine list was extensive. However, it was the friendly and efficient front desk and reception service that was among the best we have encountered.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adderleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Yesterday, we had 2 complimentary coupons for buffet dinner in El Patio Restaurant of Melia Hotel. We enjoy all the fresh dishes. They are very delicious. All the public area was quite warm. Unless there have had lack of the staff's smile, that would have been the perfect dinner. They served us unfriendly and unprofessionally, maybe because of the guests used complimentary coupons while everything's opposite for the foreigner.
Looking forward to seeing the better service in the next time when I have a chance coming back the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsJennyLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Ms. JennyLe,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel services.

I am very sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with the service provided in our El Patio Restaurant. The attitude you describe is absolutely not the way our staff is trained and supposed to behave. Your opinion is very important for us and your comments will be used to improve our services. Actions have been taken to fix the issue and to avoid a similar situation to happen in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon. In the meantime, should you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Melia, I love the name firstly. The breakfast was amazing even I don't usually eat breakfast. The Hotel is qualify for that standard they tend to advertise, and at the same time this place give you a lot of privacy which is good to me. The staffs are professional and friendly enough to welcome you. I love the new management! The great location too! Only one little thing is the bathroom needs to be upgrading :)))!. This Hotel suits for any occasions ( my idea).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Mirror L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

In particular, regarding your comments about the bathroom, as you probably know, we are now up-grading our facilities. The bathroom is one the point which is going to be improved.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Liked the room, service and gym/swimming pool. Spa and massage service is better outside. The room carpet needs upgrade. Front desk service is great. I stayed here 3 weeks and was overall very satisfied except the carpet and spa.

Room Tip: Get a room on or above 18 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your review about our hotel.

We are glad to know that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a very nice stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

About the spa, I would really appreciate to get some more details about why our spa service did not reach your expectations. You can contact me personally to gm@meliahanoi.com.vn.

Furthermore, I would like to inform you that we are currently up-grading our facilities, starting by the rooms; the room carpet is one of the points which is going to be improved.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#63 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#88 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Property: Melia Hanoi
Address: 44 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#24 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Meliá Hanoi is located right in the city center of Hanoi, the diplomatic & financial district and close to the main tourist attractions: Quan Su Pagoda (100 m), Hanoi Grand Cathedral (500 m), the Hoan Kiem lake (500 m), the Opera House (500 m) and the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum (1,5 km). The Hanoi Metropole Center and the International Center are located at 500 m distance, the Daeha Business Center is 3 km away. While in Hanoi, visit as well other nearby points of interest, such as: Han (28 km), the Perfume Pagoda (70 km), the ancient capital city Hoa Lu (100 km), Tam Do mountain resort (100 km) or the Halong Bay - one of the world's natural wonders and a UNESCO-designated World Heritage Site -. The hotel is well communicated by train (500 m) and airplane; the International Airport of Hanoi is 28 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Melia, Odigeo, Travelbag and Agoda so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing