We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Melia Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Hanoi
Ranked #77 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic, the location just a short cab ride or stroll to all main attractions. And the lobby with its spacious layout is fantastic. You should really opt for a suite, which is so spacious, and the bathtub is like a small swimmingpool! and so spacious to, bed are really comfortable. And you will have access to the lounge with concierge service, check in and check out. they serve snacks which are devine, do not eat to much or you will not be able to venture out for dinner. The staff and service are excellent and very helpful. Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: go for the "v-level" rooms or a suite, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank plummer074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review.

It is a great pleasure to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us and had such a wonderful experience. Our goal is always to make sure that your stay was graded 10. We really appreciate your comments.

Once again, thank you very much and we will be very pleased to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Melia in July 2014. It is centrally located and just a stroll or short cab ride to all of the main attractions. The first 2 days were in a standard room on level 20 so we were well clear of any street noise and had a wonderful view across to Hoan Kiem lake near the old quarter. Whilst the decor was a bit tired, at least it was in our room, I still loved the art deco style throughout the building, it just needs a freshen up. The room was clean and comfortable and met our needs. The WiFi was fast and free which made communication with the rest of the world easy and hassle free. The breakfast buffet was adequate without being being sensational but I must say the girl at the egg station made perfect poached eggs. We left after 2 days for an overnight trip to Halong Bay. We were able to leave our suitcases at the hotel free of charge and on our return we were upgraded to an executive suite for the last 2 days of our holiday which was a very nice touch. The executive room was very spacious with large TV's in both rooms, one with a DVD player. Again, the views from the three large windows were spectacular. The service throughout the hotel was very friendly but never seemed forced. My only complaint would be the cost of the laundry service which would keep a small family fed for a week. Unfortunately due to time constraints I had no choice. The price for the mini bar and and downstairs bar drinks was pretty high but fortunately there was a small corner shop just next door to the hotel that sold everything from soft drinks to Johnie Walker at very reasonable prices so we stocked up there. Overall we loved the Melia and would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I appreciate your comments regarding your stay in Melia Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are proud to know that you had a very nice stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the Executive Suite; as our goal is always to make sure that all our guests feel comfortable like home.

Regarding your comments about our rooms, I am pleased to inform you that we are now up-grading our facilities. Our first newly decorated floor has actually opened last month and the entire hotel should be completed in some months. I hope you will soon come back and notice the changes.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in two legs at the Melia and left major parts of our luggage there. Thanks to a very competent and friendly staff all related operations went very smoothly and professionally. The hotel is very well located as major sightseeing spots are in walking distance. The rooms are well equipped and clean. Though not huge they met all our expectations. Breakfast was very good. Swimming pool and gym are definitely above average and are highly appreciated after pretty exhaustive tours through the country. Good value for money that can be recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Urs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Hanoi, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor. These kinds of comments are always very motivating.

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt warm welcomed by Melia Hanoi team. Our aim is always to assure a pleasant stay for our guests.

Thank you very much again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed in an executive suite which was very spacious with separate lounge/office room offering a different angle view of the city. Room was clean, well equipped and had great views across the city. Bed was very comfortable and bath was huge. I suspect this would have only been a 4 star review had we not been in the suite. Breakfast was good. Staff always attentive and eager to assist with any queries we had regarding the city attractions. Glad we stayed at this hotel as only a few mins walk to the main tourist sites around the city centre. Would certainly recommend to other tourists looking to explore the city.

Room Tip: If you can, book an exec suite. If not, try to get a room as high up as you can. It's relentless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TouringMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that our Executive Suite fulfilled your expectations. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team. As you mentioned, location for exploring the city is ideal as we are close to all main attractions of the city

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a night on jul 4. Tks for free upgrade to suite. It was raining heavily and could hear the noise quite loudly. Room design is dated and needs a major renovation. Its not comfortable watching TV sitting at sofa as the position of TV is a bit high. Breakfast is average. Its in hear of the city and close to ho kiem lake

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTravelPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your comments about our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us and you have our commitment that all your comments will be used to improve our services.

We are pleased you acknowledge our effort to make you feel comfortable in our hotel. Regarding your words about our rooms, we are now up-grading our facilities. Our first newly decorated floor has actually opened last month and the entire hotel should be completed in some months. We hope you will enjoy the upgraded rooms on your next stay with us.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Out the front is the hot and dusty hustle and bustle of downtown Hanoii.
Inside is the cool, cosy, comfortable lounges in the waiting room with complimentary wifi.
Staff are courteous and eager to please with a sensational swimming pool to cool off and on a scale of 1-10 the gym is a 8. It's really well equipped for a hotel gym.
Breakfast is varied and first class with lots of quality choices.
Rooms are comfortable and blessing in the oppressive heat.
We were there for a conference and the facilities were excellent.
Would definitely stay here again!
Directly opposite is a western style bakery - great for snacks.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your great review.

We are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Once again, our most sincere thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is a great option if you want a little bit of luxury for a reasonable price.

The decor is a little dated, but the service is fantastic.

We booked rooms on the club level, and were greeted by lovely staff who upgraded us to executive suites for no extra charge.

I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the (small amount) extra and upgrade to a club level room. The complimentary afternoon tea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaHanoiHotel, General Manager at Melia Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us as your “home away from home” and for your nice comments about our hotel facilities and staff members.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is always to make sure that all our guests have a wonderful stay with us; to have achieved this goal is a real satisfaction and a great motivation for the Team.

Furthermore, as you probably know, we are now working on the up-grade of our facilities; we hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you in our hotel and show you our up-graded product soon.

Once again, our most sincere thanks for your comments.

Best regards,

Celine Guyomarc'h
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.4 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#41 of 607 in Hanoi
854 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 607 in Hanoi
1,926 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.6 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Hanoi

Address: 44B Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hanoi 001235, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hanoi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#25 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £66 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located in the heart of Vietnam’s capital, Meliá Hanoi welcomes all who are looking for splendid accommodation, first-class facilities, and warm service. Luxurious rooms and a wide array of facilities, from a state-of-the-art business center to an outdoor swimming pool, make the hotel a perfect choice for business or leisure. The Meliá Hanoi also offers diners a world of culinary delights to explore, from the international themed buffets of El Patio to the local flavors of El Oriental. Strategically located in Hanoi, the hotel stands a short distance from many key districts and major attractions such as the Hanoi Opera House, Old Quarter, Temple of Literature, and Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum. Celebrating the nation’s rich culture and traditions, including the natural wonder of Ha Long Bay, the hotel’s tour desk offers guests many ways to explore Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Sol Melia Hanoi
Hanoi Sol Melia
Melia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing