We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy hotel, polite staff, not the best location”
Review of Hanoi Daewoo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
Ranked #111 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Comfy hotel, polite staff, not the best location”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel is roughly 40mins from the airport. Hotel itself is grand, looking majestic from the outside. Staff are welcoming, check-in took less than 5mins. Looking around, most of the hotel patrons were Japanese and Koreans making this quite a popular business hotel.

We stayed at the 11th floor, room is very spacious with the view of the lake. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was complete with necessities and the bathtub is a tad bigger than what you will normally get.

Good spread of breakfast. Plenty of sweet pastries, american breakfast as well as pho. The rooftop bar is nicely done up with a pool table, however it was a bit dull when we were there. Maybe it's due to the fact it was a Tuesday?

What was a let-down was the location. Nothing much to do around the area, except plenty of japanese restaurants and lounges. There is however a Vietnamese restaurants called Highway 4 that has some pretty decent fried rice noodle, and they also serve Vietnamese vodka. Once you get bored of the area the Old Quarters is about 15mins away. Pubs and shopping awaits! Taxi from the Old Quarters was 70k Dong past midnight.

In Summary, this will be a good hotel for families and businessmen. For those wanting a party scene, better head on to a hotel near the Old Quarters!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAEWOO H, General Manager at Hanoi Daewoo Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Austin J,

Thank you very much for posting a review from your recent stay with us at the Hanoi Daewoo Hotel.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that our hospitality reached your expectations and that you have enjoyed a great time in our hotel.

Your comments on our restaurants are very much appreciated and you have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve our services. I would like to share with you that we are now planning on an up-grade of our facilities; we hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you to our hotel and show you our up-graded product.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future visit to Hanoi.

Stephen Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    170
    60
    14
    11
See reviews for
39
35
41
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was on a 4 day trip with friends to Hanoi as a tourist. Stay at Daewoo was very continent and comfortable. We liked the service. Food was good and charges very reasonable.
We enjoyed our evenings at the roof top bar, playing pool and sipping on the cocktails. Rooms are good size and beds comfortable. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAEWOO H, Tổng giám đốc at Hanoi Daewoo Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Gaurav G,

Thank you very much for posting a review from your recent stay with us at the Hanoi Daewoo Hotel.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that our hospitality reached your expectations and that you have enjoyed a great time in our hotel. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future visit to Hanoi.

Stephen Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
313 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Location
Located in an area that is en route to the airport- at least the road appeared to be with clients that were driving me. It is not that close to old quarter or much tourist attractions nearby. It is around 15 minutes to get to Old quarter and that area by car. Taxi about 40 minutes by taxi to airport. Within the immediate vicinity, there is a large scenic lake where you can hire cycle boats, some shops surround the area- electronics, salons, clothes, food places such as sushi and a night club next door. The hotel is located next to major roads and so be careful crossing. A supermarket and pizza hut does exist about 5-10 minutes walk away. Its seems very Korean type area looking at food outlets, adjoining Lotte office building & advertisements.
Room
Room was fairly comfortable & spacious but as others have said it is 5 star but quite dated. The double bed had sufficient pillows and was firm and comfortable, bed side lighting is rather plain lamps but some plugs do exist close to bed so long you remove the lamps. A chair (straw base) and small round table existed - say to eat room service or have a drink and sit upright next to a tall standing lamp. a working desk also in the room in which had a good selection of international plugs on the side as well as LAN slot. Noticed behind is a a personal wireless router. Again the chair for the desk is too low and is made of straw/wood- its not very comfortable to work from and looks out of place- they should consider updating with proper desk chairs as the desk is of decent size. A large TV existed with many channel- predominantly Asian and Korean (as it is a Korean Hotel or used to be). Large mirror faces the bed and a luggage rack is in the corner. Large wardrobes with slippers, robes and a easy to use safe exist inside. The bathroom was average size with a large sink and bath/shower combo -shower head had quiet a lot of limescale. Water though was hot and a decent selection of amenities and towels are offered- mini shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion bottles as well as shaver, dental sets and vanity and sewing kits. Two small bottles of water are provided and an extremely expensive mini bar (for Vietnam - compared to other places I've stayed at in the city)- a small Evian is around $5. Bag of nuts $4. A/C is controllable and worked fine. Lighting was ok but dated for 5 star (no dimmer option). The large windows helped bring decent natural light and a nice view.
Overall the room was clean and comfortable - it is five star but aged and properly would have been a top hotel room in the 90's but nothing innovative other than the TV exists. It was though- good value for money due to free late check-out in which Hilton, Sheraton and Intercontinental don't offer.
Facilities
First of all the WIFI is free but is a mixed bag, it kept freezing on me but there are so many open connections, that I would just change to another connection and it would ok for a short while- however it still meant changing a lot but there was never a point where I didn't have access to internet. However it was slowest connection of all hotels i stayed at in Hanoi but was adequate not as bad as say Myanmar but vastly slower than China or Thailand.
There is a large pool- strangely curved & long but good for laps- although did not actually swim in it. There is a gym a little bit of a walk from the main hotel but was ok- I think it is shared with adjoining condo building- full spa/gym facilities are offered- had a massage was fairly good and not too expensive for a 5 star hotel. Also a male and female separate sauna, steam room and a few jacuzzi's in each area with good locker facilities. The gym includes some cardio equipment and weights- much staff there to help- adequate but found the treadmills hard to use but I prefer jogging outside so ran around the lake 3 times instead.
There is about 3-4 restaurants in the hotel (possibly more), I think one is Japanese/Korean, one local, a lounge snack place and another full restaurant buffet style. Only ever had room service and in which the food was good quality and value for money- it arrived quite quickly and the Vietnamese rice noodles were very good choice. Breakfast is a $20 buffet but did not use.
The hotel has a roof top bar open until 1am- went up there but was complelty dead. However it looked quite nice and had an outside area to look out on the city. In addition there is conference centres, business centres and a souvenir shop- but did not use/see these.
There is also a night club next door to hotel, I popped to see as there is no charge - it was quite good actually looked like a NY or London club with its sound system and design but was not in the mood for electro house so left. A lot of bottle service was there as well for the which put me off.
Staff
Staff were nice, whilst it is not on a personal level that you will find in the 3 star hotels of old quarter, the staff were acceptably welcoming and nice at check-in and in around the outlets- its was better service than I have seen in China and Thailand in recent years. Staff are more sincere and warm. I saw some reviews saying they thought staff were not nice, I did not find this although the front desk are quite 'serious" for Vietnam as in lack of smiles and check-in was a little unsmooth- I think because their reservation system went down but they were apologetic & let me have my room earlier than listed as normal check-in time. The SPA and Gym staff are very nice as was the room service.
Overall I stayed here because they offered a great deal on Agoda- free late check-out until 6pm- which is the first hotel I have stayed at to offer this at a reasonable rate of less than $80. My flight was at 1am back to London so this was perfect than having to be out by 12. I did like staying here and enjoyed doing my exercise running around the local lake. However I have seen Hanoi before and stayed previous nights in old quarter and closer to more touristy areas - I would say as a first time visitor for tourism then stay there but this hotel is reasonable for business travellers or those not interested in the tourist sights of Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAEWOO H, General Manager at Hanoi Daewoo Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear docdot,

Thank you very much for posting a review from your recent stay with us at the Hanoi Daewoo Hotel.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that our hospitality reached your expectations and that you have enjoyed a great time in our hotel.

Your comments on our restaurants are very much appreciated and you have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve our services. I would like to share with you that we are now planning on an up-grade of our facilities; we hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you to our hotel and show you our up-graded product.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future visit to Hanoi.

Stephen Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Was pretty ashamed of the service I received here to be honest.
We were a party of 8 adults and 3 kids. We had booked the hotel over the phone. We had to phone again to request for an email confirmation to be sent. Our party arrived on two different days. When we had first arrived and went to check in, they tried to say that the we were under quoted. We did not accept this and requested to talk to the manager. He then came out apologising saying that they thought we weren't charged tax. (They were going to charge us twice for tAx) Bare in mind they were asking for another £1000 or more. We were given three rooms as told we needed this many to cover our party when we booked the hotel over the phone. In one of the rooms we requested a spare child's bed. The next day, the last two people of our party arrived. We went to check in and was told we needed an extra room and pay for breakfast for these two people we had already informed the hotel about. We were confused as to why we had to do this if the room numbers covered our parties stay. After an hour of discussing why we had to pay(in Vietnamese) (bearing in mind the two guests were travelling on a 13hr flight), another of our party members came down and started arguing in English. It was only then they understood our point. The staffs attitude was disgusting. Especially when they were talking Vietnamese to us.
For a 5 star their breakfast buffet was limited and not very nice.
The room was nice though. Although most 5 stars allow you to snack away at the minibar and provide water, this one did not. The location was good and the hotel itself was clean.
On the day we left, we requested help to bring our luggage down. We waited for 30 minutes before deciding we will lug all the suitcases with the kids downstairs. We had 2 pregnant women also. We got out the lift struggling to bring the suitcases out and had found the bell staff just standing around. Even after noticing us struggle he did not offer to help. When he was told to help, we were already by the door.
At a 5 star, you would expect the porter to open cab doors etc. he did not do this unless asked to. He stood even though there was no one else to service.
There are other 5 star hotels worth your money in Vietnam. We know this as we stayed in a few. For the capital, you would expect better.
For the friendly service we did receive, including the cleaners who were very friendly, we tipped. We regretted tipping the bell boy on the first day when he brought our bags up after we dragged our bags downstairs on the last day but hey what can we do.

The spa the women went to looked shabby from the outside but the service was amazing. I had a full body massage and a facial which was brilliant.

At this hotel overall, don't talk Vietnamese if you can. Their service to you is like dirt if you talk Vietnamese. Ironic I know.

Room Tip: You get a nice view if you get a room higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phuong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAEWOO H, General Manager at Hanoi Daewoo Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Phuong75,

I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Hanoi and spending time on sharing your experience, your feedback is important for me to assess how we are meeting your expectations.

I apologize to you for your unsatisfactory experience during your stay with us. Please be informed that action has been taken to make sure it will not happen again in the future and be assured this is not the typical standard of our hotel. Customer care and satisfaction is the key to any successful business and we do get a lot of repeat and regular guests because of this. We would be delighted if you would return and offer us the opportunity to serve you better.

Once again, our sincere thanks for your comment and again my apologies. We wish to welcome you back to the hotel on a future visit to Hanoi.
Yours sincerely,

Stephen Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A big hotel located within reach of the city and old quarters. Good for travelers or stop-over. The rooms are big, spacious and clean. Good selection for breakfast and I like the beef and chicken Pho served hot during breakfast. The Skybar on 18th floor has a wonderful view at night and is very quite. Good for a quiet drink after dinner or chat with some friends. The wine is rather pricey but the view from the 18th floor is priceless.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors. Although the rooms are supposed to be sound-proof, the horns from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAEWOO H, General Manager at Hanoi Daewoo Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear JudC1969,

Thank you very much for posting a review from your recent stay with us at the Hanoi Daewoo Hotel.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that our hospitality reached your expectations and that you have enjoyed a great time in our hotel. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future visit to Hanoi.

Stephen Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This used to be THE big, top-notch modern hotel in Hanoi. It still looks good but it seems like the management have chosen to let it age gradually without the constant, intense upkeep that makes for a true 5-star experience.
The buffet is good, with a Korean-Japanese-Vietnamese feel, but again not luxurious, maybe 3 stars?
The swimming-pool looks really impressive... but it's quite shallow (quite a challenge to swim, in the few areas where there is more than 1m of water) and the cracks and chinks look quite big by now. Outdoor shower really rickety.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANONYMOUS636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAEWOO H, General Manager at Hanoi Daewoo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear ANONYMOUS636,

Thank you very much for posting a review from your recent stay with us at the Hanoi Daewoo Hotel.

Your comments on our restaurants are very much appreciated and you have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve our services. I would like to share with you that we are now planning on an up-grade of our facilities; we hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you to our hotel and show you our up-graded product.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your future visit to Hanoi.

Stephen Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
242 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A large modern hotel. Sky bar on 18th with good views. Clean rooms and public areas main reception areas are fine.

Drinks and food are expensive. Breakfast has a good selection

It really is one for the business traveller. I’ve been around this part of the world for a couple of years now and it still irritates me that you can stand in an orderly queue waiting to check out and then someone just arrives and goes straight to the receptionist and is seen before everybody else who is waiting.

There are a number of other better less expensive hotels around Hanoi most of which seem to have better managed check out arrangement

Room Tip: you cannot heat the main road when inside the hotel so the best place to be is higher up for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightupthedarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaewooHanoi, General Manager at Hanoi Daewoo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Lightupthedarkness,

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review from your recent stay with us at the Hanoi Daewoo Hotel. Your positive comments on our Lakeview Lounge on 18th floor and room are very much appreciated and you have our commitment that all of your comments will be used to improve our services.

I apologize for your unsatisfactory check out experience. Please be assured that action has been taken to reinforce to our staff to follow our standards regarding the check out procedure, it is not the typical standard of our hotel.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Hanoi to enjoy the true Hanoi Daewoo Hotel experience.

Yours sincerely,

Stephen Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#52 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pullman Hanoi
Pullman Hanoi
#99 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#66 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#82 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
2.6 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#70 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Daewoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Daewoo Hotel

Property: Hanoi Daewoo Hotel
Address: 360 Kim Ma Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanoi Daewoo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Daewoo Hotel has been at the forefront of upscale hospitality in the nation’s capital since 1996. Inhabiting a prestigious neighborhood amid embassies and parks, Daewoo has been the hotel of choice for visiting dignitaries and heads of state for more than two decades. Sumptuously decorated in a timelessly classic style, Hanoi Daewoo Hotel continues its legacy of legendary hospitality, welcoming discerning business and leisure travelers from around the world. With state-of-the-art MICE facilities and elegant function spaces, Daewoo is also the preferred venue in Hanoi for weddings, conferences and international events. Offering effortless access to the city’s major business and tourist landmarks, Daewoo enjoys a scenic location adjacent to Thu Le Lake – the ideal address for any Hanoi trip. With our well-appointed guest rooms, an indulgent spa and picturesque gardens with the largest swimming pool in the city, Hanoi Daewoo Hotel promises an exceptional experience, no matter the purpose of your stay. Surrounded by lush green spaces and wide, tree-lined boulevards, Hanoi Daewoo Hotel provides a quiet escape in the city center. Easily accessible from NoiBai International Airport and close to major roadways that link to all parts of the city, our neighborhood is in a convenient position both for conducting business and for seeing Hanoi’s sights. In the area around the hotel, you’ll find Kim Ma Street, with its colorful shop houses and towering trees. Just behind the hotel there’s the peaceful Thu Le Park, a popular attraction for local families. Visitors of all ages can enjoy paddling swan boats on the lake, wandering through the gardens and visiting the park’s zoo. Hanoi Daewoo Hotel offers 416 well-appointed rooms, ranging from the refined comfort of our Deluxe Rooms to the palatial Royal Suite. All are stylishly decorated, featuring elegant wooden furnishings and original artworks by respected local and international artists. Each offers complimentary WiFi and is complemented by far-reaching views of the Hanoi skyline, tree-lined Kim Ma Street and serene Thu Le Park and Lake. Guests staying in club rooms and suites enjoy access to our 16th-floor Club Lounge, with daily complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails and hors d’oeuvres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hanoi Daewoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing