We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manh Dung Guest house
Ranked #108 of 604 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My partner and I found this place after a horrible nights sleep elsewhere on a main road. The lane way gave us so much peace and quite so was easy to sleep. The bed was good, a large room, bathtub, and tele for $15. The staff were very friendly, and hardly pushed a sale on us as upfront we said we had it all booked. They even helped us translate things for when we went to the station to by the locals cheap train ticket to Sapa, which i found suprising as they never tried to sell it to us. We ended up staying here on 2 different occasions and were very pleased.

The sink in room 302 was broken, however upon notifing the staff we came back later that day to it fixed.

Breakfast with Viet was always great. Its a good meal, cheaper then out, and a good way to meet fellow travellers

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hdegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    38
    5
    14
    25
See reviews for
9
40
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zell am See, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Minimum for a hotel should be reliability in booking. We were travelling with our little son, 15 mths old. Exactly for this reason, we made a reservation 3 days in advance. Everything seemed to be fine. But when we came to this hotel around midnight already - nobody there, no room, not even the house open. After some time somebody showed up and explaned us, we would not stay in this hotel, cause we had a cheaper room reserved. Not to understand, somebody agrees with a price and let you know when you are there, this is too cheap!
So we had to move to another hotel nearby, which was a rather rundown house.
So we did not want to pay the same price, cause we did not get what was the deal.
With a little child on the street infront of the hotel around midnight, you wont start a big discussion about the roomrate, the reservation...
To cut it short: we ended up at the street again, with a big discussion about the whole thing.
So our only good advice can be: hands off from such a kind of business!!!

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Manfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We are travelling South East Asia and like to stay at budget hotels and guesthouses. We found Manh Dung Guest House on a back alley off the main streets and negotiated $12.00 per night for a tiny room with a rough looking en suite, we agreed with air con, tv and fridge which we thought was fair so paid in advance and were told we can check in at 11am the next day. My first alarm bells rang when we were showed around a room that was occupied, they had just showered (it was steamy in the bathroom) and their laptop was switched on and plugged in. Surely this isn't acceptable? Anyway the next day we arrived at 11am to check in but were told that the room was not ready just needed to be cleaned and we saw a few bags in reception so people had checked out that morning, all understandable. They tried for over an hour to sell trips to us, constantly pushing for a sale so we agreed a bus out of Hanoi 5 days later after our boat trip we already bought in Halong bay. I thought this was a sure way of getting our room and have them give us some space, it had been at least an hour so I asked for our room and they replied "It's not ready yet", how they knew that by just sitting there....I don't know? They sat behind us laughing and gesturing towards us talking in Vietnamese then came out with two beers and food, again sittiong behind us they ate and drank like farm yard animals, slurping and slopping their chops, it was disgusting. One of the two women charged me for the bus trip we agreed on and I sat their waiting 5 minutes for my change so I asked for my money and waited a further 10 minutes for this to happen. They obviously knew we would be needing another nights stay following our Halong bay trip, they asked how much would we pay as they were thinking $15.00 but we said $12.00 as thats what we had agreed. I asked again if our room was ready and the answer was NO, I had to wait outside because I couldn't take the noise of them eating, the relentless sales and their treatment of us ONCE THEY'VE GOT YOUR MONEY!!!! They had finished troughing like pigs and without consulting a cleaner or taking a call they said our room was ready and it was now after 1pm. We packed the lift with our bags and as the door closed they said the sink doesn't work in our room, the previous guest had broken it. The room had not been swept or mopped, the tiny balcony had cigarette butts,a dirty ash tray, a dirty old flannel, the bathroom had the previous guests razor, used soap and no evidence of cleaning in a long long time but plenty of mould. The bath had ground in filthy dirt all over and the shower head was not fixed to the wall as it was broken. The bed sheets were dirty with stains and had other guests hair all over the bed. The fridge was unplugged and full of stinking mould, absolutely unusable. The wardrobe had a stack of small Vietnamese clothes in there and didn't smell fresh. The bathroom floor mat was wet and absolutely filthy, soiled with dirt. The Air conditioning didn't work and when mentioned the awful receptionist said that it would cost extra with air conditioning...LIAR. We asked reception that the cleaners replace the bedding and floor mat, who said yes we have yet to change your bedding...LIAR. They had pulled the top sheet over the dirty sheet and placed ragged but clean towels over the bed. The cleaners arrived- they threw on another bedsheet, looked at it and quickly removed it then placed a clean sheet on for us. The new bath mat was possibly wetter and more filthy than the previous one and clearly swapped from the room above us. The bathroom sink didn't work, it was older than me and rusted where it had broken, nothing to do with any previous guest.....LIAR. My girlfriend took the brush from the stairway and swept our room while I pulled out months of hair clogging the bath plug hole. After staying at more than 30 hotels on this trip this is the worst in so many ways, there are great hotels at the same or similar price, we hated staying at this disgrace of a hotel. The older woman at reception would change her clothes 3 times a day and be over friendly with the guests and be so unaware as to walk round in a dress with the cardboard label hanging at the back. When returning to get our bus out of Hanoi the other younger receptionist asked if we wanted to buy any trips not realising we were here to board the bus out of Hanoi that she herself had sold us. Disgusting filthy practices at this hotel with awful staff and management.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shoreysok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I have been treated with great courtesy and friendliness whilst staying at this Guesthouse. They also arranged my tours to Sapa and Halong Bay at a reasonable price and when I had troubles with my Visa, they were the first to help me out.

The staff are great and Thom is a great witty manager. She knows how to treat her guests and make her laugh. I highly recommend this place to use as a base for travelling around Northen Vietnam.

Au Revoir,
Pierre

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We did stay in this hotel since 28th April 2011.It was busy time because VietNamese People started traveling.We were very happy to stay at ManhDung Guesthouse.The Staff is very friendly and helful.They did their best to look after Customers.Of course,Travellers are good people and bad people mixing.But the staff are always smiling and helpful even they met some crazy people.We sat in the living room to use Internet and We saw many customers who behaved badly.They came to ask the room and We saw They did ask discount from 1 or 2 usd.They said they will put in lonely plan net if the Guesthouse not give them discount.They booked the tours when it is very busy time.The Hotel tried very hardly to get the good tickets .When They got tickets They very happy.Because They could not get tickets at the train,bus station even not at black market.They should thank to the Hotel because They got tickets for them.When They finish the trip They tried to make money from This Hotel.They said if the Hotel not give money back for them they would write to lonely plan net,all the guide books.We knew that story from some not good heart customer because We always sat in the living room near the receptionist desk to drink and use Internet.We also booked many trips from this hotel but We were satisfy with the quality and price what We paid.We also understood that that time were busy time because there were too man Vietnamese people who traveling.The tickets were higher price even double.But It is normal.We would not behave rude like many people whom We saw at the Living Room of the hotel.But We also saw many happy Customes when We stayed at that hotel,too.The staffs who got many tips from Customers because they did good services.We will recommend to Our Friends to this hotel.

Room Tip: You should get the room with window and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_goober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This hotel is a NIGHTMARE - I am shocked anyone has given this hotel a good review! I am travelling for ten months with my boyfriend so have experienced some various levels of comfort - this has to be the worse by far!!!!!!! Firstly the staff are smiling assasins and only want one thing from you and that is all your money without actually providing you with a service! We were told to check in at 11am and when we arrived we were told to sit and wait for our room to be ready. Over two hours later we were told by the staff slurpig on the meals next to us that our room was now ready - how they knew this was anyones guess as they had not moved from the sofa all morning or spoken to the cleaners but once we were in the room it was clear that whatever had taken the cleaners over two hours was NOT cleaning our room. The bed was unmade and was clearly used from the previous guest / guests!!! The pillows had grease marks on and smelt really bad and there was hairs in the unmade bed. The bathroom still had the soap that was used from the previous guest and they had left their disposable razor on the glass shelf. We were also advised not to use the bathroom sink as the tap didn't work so we had to use the bath tap instead to wash our hands. We had agreed a price of $12 per night and had booked and paid for three so we were stuck!!!! We were told that we would get air con included but after we checked in we were told that would be at an extra cost even though we had double checked this before we had agreed the price. When we asked for fresh bedding three women came and stripped the bed, they brought in new sheets and when they opened them they quickly closed them as they were also dirty and went to get some more. The new sheets were dirty and smelly too so I eventually opted to sleep on my sleeping bag and travel pillow as the smell made me feel sick from their bedding. The fridge in our room had a lot of smelly mould inside so we couldn't use that at all and the tv wasn't great but improved slightly after I retuned it. The staff ( females ) tried to be overly friendly with the male guests (husbands & boyfriends included ) so overall I really would say do not stay here - there are so many other options!!!! To give a 100% fair review I will say that they do have an elevator which is a plus and the location is good for the old town but they really are the only nice things I can say :(

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fisherwoman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Each smile there....has his price!!!
They will look iony to sell you tours at the highest price they can get from you...and you will pay almost twice of the market price!!!!
They will tell you stories about that you need to hurry because there is no more place in order not to enable you to take the time and check... Specially if you will be in hurry to leave the same day.
Nice service and smiles, Very good english... But only till you have bought tours and at double price!!!!
In this guesthouse, yoy pay for every smile.
Don't go there! Or check every things qnd don't believe their explanations!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pob4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Prince II Hotel
Prince II Hotel
#209 of 588 in Hanoi
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#118 of 588 in Hanoi
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#87 of 588 in Hanoi
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tung Trang Hotel
Tung Trang Hotel
#179 of 588 in Hanoi
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stars Hotel
Stars Hotel
#72 of 604 in Hanoi
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manh Dung Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manh Dung Guest house

Property: Manh Dung Guest house
Address: No. 2 Tam Thuong, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Manh Dung Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manh Dung Guest House Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing