We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manh Dung Guest house
Ranked #91 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really welcoming!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our first night in Hanoi we planned to stay at Thu Giang Guesthouse, but after being told they had no vacancy, TGG shuffled us into the horror story that is North Hotel No.2 next door. There was no way we were staying there for another night, so we checked in to Manh Dung Guesthouse across the lane and were much, much happier.

Manh Dung Guesthouse is staffed mainly by two lovely sisters who always make you feel comfortable and relaxed - they even cook you a tasty breakfast in their cozy kitchenette each morning (included in the price of the room). Rooms are cleaned daily, there's free wifi, computers to use, an elevator, laundry service and they take Mastercard.

Not to mention, the staff went out of their way to help us choose a decent Halong Bay tour, rather than just pointing at the most expensive one like travel agents did. Not only this, they actually remembered what tours we'd been on and inquired on what we liked and didn't like; I was really impressed at this, it showed that we weren't just another faceless client.

The rooms weren't the impressive per se (I did stay in the cheapest one though), but they're sufficient. After all, all a budget tourist needs is a comfortable bed, a working shower and toilet and fresh towels to come to at the end of the day - anything more and you're not spending enough time exploring! One thing that could have been improved would be better blankets as I found mine weren't warm enough.

Overall, for a budget guesthouse, I was impressed.

Room Tip: The top room 503 is the cheapest I believe, but it is a bit smaller... and, during our stay at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadenovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    38
    5
    14
    24
See reviews for
9
40
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights there. The staff (mainly two sisters) has been so helpful. They helped us a lot to find our iPad that we had forgotten in a taxi, and they succeeded! They also arranged tours for us at cheaper prices tham TheSinhTourist we used before, and the quality was equivalent. The rooms are not luxurious, but clean, with TV, AC and WiFi for 12$.
We recommend!

Room Tip: Not much difference between the different categories, you should take the cheapest one, except if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for for $12 for a fan room with ensuite. For an extra $2 you can upgrade to aircon. The room was big and bright with a tiny balcony and it own bathroom with a bath and shower. It was cleaned everyday with fresh sheets and towels and the owners were really friendly and helpful. They have a lift and it down a quiet alley, near the old town and lake. We walked to all the attractions from our guesthouse with ease. We booked a one day tour to Halong Bay with our guest house which cost $25 each. We don't normally go on tours as we don't enjoy how restricting they are and it was the same with this one. We were herded like cattle onto buses and boats and the guide was not particularly friendly or informative. The lunch included was nice however and the bay is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I spent 12 days at this guest house and there was a reason: it was clean, cheap, friendly and in a great location. We especially enjoyed the hospitality of the owner, Mrs. Hoi, who gave us all kinds of advice not just about Vietnam but about life :). And she wasn't trying to sell us anything, though if we were interested, she was able to help there, too. Two examples: when we arrived, the girl at the desk gave us the wrong price for our room-cheaper than it should have been. When the owner realised the mistake, she let us have the cheaper price anyway. Second; I had to have a visa extension and had arranged a price of $50. She told me she could have it done cheaper-and she delivered my extension for only $30. The rooms are simple but clean with all the necessary amenities and the price is cheaper than many other hotels in the area-I know because I checked. There's breakfast if you want it and wifi in the rooms. It's also quiet at night since it's located in an alley off the main roads. 12 days and no complaints! Well done, and I'll be coming back. It will be like going home.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all the rooms were good-we saw several and they mostly looked the same so ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJW2012HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here one night to bridge a room becoming available in another hotel. In a nutshell you get what you pay for. Our rate was 7+7 USD for two persons in an aircon room.

The guesthouse is very much a budget hotel/guesthouse. Cleanliness needs to improve as do certain renovations need to be undertaken. Main surface areas are clean but areas such as under the bed and in cupboards and the fridge had not been cleaned in a long time or adequately. The fridge smelt strongly of durian.

The hotel is on a quiet side street but the lower floors are very close to other buildings on the street (i.e. 2m away). Location in the old quarter is excellent. They have a lift which is very good if you are staying on an upper floor.

The bathroom was the worst part of the room. They had installed a shub shower unit which was completely unnecessary. It was propped up on blocks in one corner and collapsed sideways when I went to shower. The shub unit also meant that they could not clean properly in the bathroom.

I also have to agree with comments about the over-friendly hotel owner. While that may just be a management style thing, I do prefer to come and go without a whole lot of interation with the staff.

The WiFi was on and off and in an effort to reduce their power consumption (which under normal circumstanes is fine) they turned off our AC from the reception area while we were out for the day despite us turning if off in the room before we ledt. When we returned we had to enquire why it did not work and get them to switch it back on from downstairs.

This is a guesthouse and therefore is not 24/7. Roller doors come down in the evening and therefore you have to bang on the door and hope someone is awake and downstairs if you are coming back to your room at 11pm.

While rennovation is an expensive exercise for any business, this guesthouse seriously needs to consider replacing broken cabinetry and updating bathroom fixtures which is circa 80s and is well worn and/or broken.

Spend $4 USD more per night and you will find much better options locally, with breakfast included and flat screen TVs and satellite channels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aiden75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Guest House is located in a small side alley in the Old Quarters of Hanoi.It is very quiet - you can even sleep with the windows open!The rooms are basic but adaquate for the price:
8,- to 12,- US $ for a fan room with TV and bathroom.Use of the computer is included.The staff and the owner are very friendly and trustworthy.You can store your bag there for free as well, when you are planning on going on a tour.While I have been in Hanoi pretty often this is still me favoured place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudie_Rudeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stay in this lovely place now evry time i come to Hanoi for the last 4 years now . The service is more than well . Viet is singing while fixing your breakfast and the room are well kept clean . Fresh towels every day . Wifi is working very good . The elevator takes you up and down .Located in a small quiet street witch is rear near the Hoan kiem lake . I can advise everybody who needs a room for a fare price to check this place out .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Prince II Hotel
Prince II Hotel
#225 of 586 in Hanoi
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#112 of 586 in Hanoi
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#147 of 586 in Hanoi
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#89 of 586 in Hanoi
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stars Hotel
Stars Hotel
#66 of 601 in Hanoi
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manh Dung Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manh Dung Guest house

Property: Manh Dung Guest house
Address: No. 2 Tam Thuong, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Manh Dung Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manh Dung Guest House Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing