We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think twice. Stay there!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manh Dung Guest house
Ranked #107 of 636 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Our close friends recommended us about Manh Dung (we didn't check on trip advisor this time).
Nhung was smiling towards us from the end of the alley, like she knew that we were looking for her guesthouse.
We stayed in a room no. 501 for 14$. The room was clean, had AC and T.V. , the bed was comfortable, the was hot water and there's an elevator if climbing 5 floors is not for you. Location was perfect- in the ancient city but super quiet.
We booked through the guesthouse bus to Sapa and 2 days trip to Halong Bay.
We can't thank enough for the two lovely sisters who run the place. They were willing to help us without even asking them. Their friendly and kind behavior made Manh dung feel like home!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maayan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

When i first arrived at Manh Dung Guest house I felt very welcome. The staff here are very helpful and very friendly, which you would expect at any hotel, guest house, but the staff here will go the extra mile. The room is clean and ideal for anyone stopping here in Hanoi for a few days. Nhung and Trang the two lovely ladies that work here have been helping me learn Vietnamese and i have also been helping them improve their English. The location is exceptional right in the heart of the old quarter, but very quiet at night. I have enjoyed my stay here and will defiantly be staying again.

The staff are always smiling :) xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Not only is this guesthouse very clean and comfortable, but it is also located in an exceptional location. It is down an alley that becomes a marketplace by day, giving it a vibrant feel and so quiet by night, letting you relax and sleep after a day of exploring the beautiful city. When I was there, Trang assisted me with tips, ideas and also bookings for tours. Their moto is "when youre here, you're not just a customer, but a friend". And I found that to be sure. This is my home when I return to Vietnam. Thank you sooo much Manh Dung Guesthouse!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on two occasions! North were a nice experience with such nice smiles and hospitality!
I would recommend this to anyone coming into town and they are located in a nice area and close to everything! What else can I say? A++++++++++

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Shimon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The location is great in the old quarter of Hanoi in a tiny street. Rooms are clean and staff is very friendly and help us in any kind and at any time! If the room type you want is not available, they also have a second hotel in the same street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nono r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our first night in Hanoi we planned to stay at Thu Giang Guesthouse, but after being told they had no vacancy, TGG shuffled us into the horror story that is North Hotel No.2 next door. There was no way we were staying there for another night, so we checked in to Manh Dung Guesthouse across the lane and were much, much happier.

Manh Dung Guesthouse is staffed mainly by two lovely sisters who always make you feel comfortable and relaxed - they even cook you a tasty breakfast in their cozy kitchenette each morning (included in the price of the room). Rooms are cleaned daily, there's free wifi, computers to use, an elevator, laundry service and they take Mastercard.

Not to mention, the staff went out of their way to help us choose a decent Halong Bay tour, rather than just pointing at the most expensive one like travel agents did. Not only this, they actually remembered what tours we'd been on and inquired on what we liked and didn't like; I was really impressed at this, it showed that we weren't just another faceless client.

The rooms weren't the impressive per se (I did stay in the cheapest one though), but they're sufficient. After all, all a budget tourist needs is a comfortable bed, a working shower and toilet and fresh towels to come to at the end of the day - anything more and you're not spending enough time exploring! One thing that could have been improved would be better blankets as I found mine weren't warm enough.

Overall, for a budget guesthouse, I was impressed.

Room Tip: The top room 503 is the cheapest I believe, but it is a bit smaller... and, during our stay at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadenovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights there. The staff (mainly two sisters) has been so helpful. They helped us a lot to find our iPad that we had forgotten in a taxi, and they succeeded! They also arranged tours for us at cheaper prices tham TheSinhTourist we used before, and the quality was equivalent. The rooms are not luxurious, but clean, with TV, AC and WiFi for 12$.
We recommend!

Room Tip: Not much difference between the different categories, you should take the cheapest one, except if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Tung Trang Hotel
Tung Trang Hotel
#187 of 599 in Hanoi
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince II Hotel
Prince II Hotel
#201 of 599 in Hanoi
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Happy Moon Guesthouse
Happy Moon Guesthouse
#19 of 421 in Hanoi
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#18 of 421 in Hanoi
472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thu Giang Guesthouse
Thu Giang Guesthouse
#76 of 421 in Hanoi
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Old Town Palace Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manh Dung Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manh Dung Guest house

Address: No. 2 Tam Thuong, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 636 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: £11 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Manh Dung Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manh Dung Guest House Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing