We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #110 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were booked into the Sunway by the tour agency so had no say in choice of hotel. It was clean and the room spacious. All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient and the hotel was a quiet haven from the craziness of downtown Hanoi. As a couple in our 60's the remoteness didn't worry us except for the fact that we had to eat in at the hotel in the evenings as we were too tired to go outside after busy and exhausting day tours. They left a brochure in our room advertising a buffet at night and we were disappointed as the menu was a la carte and the food very western, rather than the wonderful Vietnamese food that we had wanted to eat. The breakfast buffet was wonderful each day with a great selection and very attentive staff. The public areas have been recently refurbished and are very attractive. The room was good although the view was the wall of the hotel next door, but we were too tired to care. Our only complaint was that the bed was too hard for tired older bodies and my wife had to sleep on top of the donna folded over. However, beds are a personal thing and others might like them that way. Would have loved a swimming pool too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Standsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying at the Sunway Hotel Hanoi on your recent holiday to Vietnam..
We are glad that you liked our clean rooms and the wonderful buffet breakfast. We thank you for highlighting the outdated information about our buffet promotion which was inadvertently placed in your room and apologize for the inconvenience caused...
Glad that you like our refurbished lobby too. As a matter of information our restaurant and bed rooms have also been refurbished.
Thank you again for staying with us and for your comments..
Yours sincerely,

Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here with a girlfriend. Booked this trip through a tour agency.

This is a very basic hotel with everything you expect from a hotel - service, cleanliness, food variety for breakfast. Everything was up to standards! We also visited the gym. It was quite empty and there were a few basic machines. The staff there was extremely friendly!

In all, it was a pleasant experience. No complaints about this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minghui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your impression of Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience and are happy that we have been able to contribute towards making your holiday in Hanoi a memorable one. Your comments are a great encouragement to all of us.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Yours sincerely
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Sunway on two separate occasions. We arrived from Saigon on July 20th and stayed for two nights. We had two rooms booked, unfortunately both had view of a brick wall and made the room feel claustrophobic. We did mention it, but it was turned into a joke. Staff were extremely helpful and the checking in process was very speedy. Sometimes it felt though as if staff were too helpful, like at 8.30 in the morning when they rang the bell on the room asking if we had any laundry. The breakfast buffet was alright, nothing special, having travelled for the best part of two weeks by now, this was the least interesting. The coffee was cold and the bread rolls were so hard that it wasn't worth eating them. I had an omelette which was very rubbery and totally overcooked. Perhaps this was because it was a weekend. We checked out on Monday morning to go to Halong Bay and then checked back in on Tuesday night. The breakfast seemed to be a little better midweek, at least the coffee was hot and the bread fresher! Again the staff were very helpful, helping us with taxis etc. and this time after we complained we did get two rooms with a view. What difference this made! The location of the hotel is as far away from the centre of Ha Noi as one can imagine, just as well the cabs are cheap. The surrounding area is fairly remote and we didn't really want to walk outside after dark.
There is a nearby Park and Shopping Centre, but we were discouraged to go there by the hotel staff as only local people would go there. Well, we went anyway and were glad we did. The Park was lovely and the shopping centre was brilliant with a clean and very well stocked supermarket and lots of nice restaurants at the top. All in all our family voted that the hotel was ok, but not really 4*, more like a 3*. We would not stay here again as we really missed not having a swimming pool to cool down in after all the sightseeing. Perhaps we were spoiled by the other hotels we stayed in during our visit to Cambodia and Vietnam.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the brick wall outside your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Hanoi.
We regret we were not able to live up to all your expectations. However, we thank you for your comments and will take the necessary actions to spur us on to do better for all our future guests.
Your comment about the location is a matter of preference as we have also received comments from guests who prefer the quiet and peaceful location we are in. The renowned Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter are a mere 25 minutes walk or 5 minutes by taxi.
English is not the first language in Vietnam and hence with this limitation, sometimes staff lack understanding and may give less then accurate advise on shopping etc. However, as you have rightly said, they are helpful.
We thank you again for staying with us and wish you well.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our overnight trip to Halong Bay was cancelled because of a cyclone.....the bay was shut down for 4 days so with time to spare we opted for an extra day in Ha Noi and an extra day In Mai Chau. We also asked for a change of hotel needing more space and more light than our accommodation in the Old Quarter provided. And so we arrived at the Sunway.
The foyer set the tone for our stay. The front office staff were able to direct us to nearby ATM machines. Our room had a fine view across the city and for the first time since our arrival in Vietnam we were able to get a sense of the size of the city and its layout.
After a full day of sight seeing we chose to eat in the hotel and enjoyed a beautifully presented memorable meal in a near empty restaurant. Other guests didn't realise what they were missing.
After such a lovely meal we were curious about breakfast - would we be eating alone? We were surprised to find the restaurant full and the buffet didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cromwellwandercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
It was indeed a pleasure serving you and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our services, facilities and two excellent meals.

It is our goal to continue to provide this excellent service to all our guests

We thank you and look forward to serving you again soon. Do tell your friends who are coming this way about us so that we can enjoy this same good service

Yours sincerely

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Sunway Hotel for two evenings. We arrived at the hotel at 8.30 a.m., following a long flight from the UK. There were several other parties checking in at the same time, however there were a number of staff available to help speed up the process. Although check-in is not until 2.00 p.m., we were offered an early check-in for $20. Our room was spotlessly clean, extremely sound-proof and very comfortable. Breakfast was impressive – a vast array for all tastes – and all food was of impeccable quality.
I do understand where people are coming from, regarding the location of the hotel. However, as a tourist I enjoyed the steady ‘mooch’ to the Old Quarter – taking in the sights and sounds, and a taxi back was very reasonable.
To conclude a very happy and comfortable two nights at the Sunway, made even more so by the extremely friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StefEverill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

We thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review to Tripadvisor about our excellent service & breakfast. Your comments are a tremendous encouragement to all of us at Sunway Hotel.
We are glad that we have been able to contribute positively towards making your holiday in Hanoi & Sunway a memorable one

Thank you and looking forward to serving you or your friends again soon.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager– Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The location of the hotel is quite far away from the city, but good if you want to have a quite & good rest. The room is just standard, but the breakfast buffet is fortunately excellent. The facilities are reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a good and fair report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments about the location being quiet and peaceful are spot on although it is a mere 25 minutes walk or 10 minutes by taxi to Hoan Kiem lake & the city. Location is a matter of perspective and preference as you have correctly pointed out.

We are happy that you enjoyed our excellent buffet breakfast spread.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I am a business traveller and i just checked in to sunway hotel at 7pm

Asked for recommendations for dinner and was led to the excellent indochine located 5
Mins away by taxi.

Thereafter, spent an hour in the gym, had my tea at the lounge, sent my wet gym gear for laundry service, took my 2 bananas and biscuits from the minibar. Guess what? Its all complimentary.

Sunway is beautiful in its way. It serves to delight. It may not be your flashy ferrari, its your dependable toyota. It performs consistently and the management over performs by throwing in freebies akin to sports rims, body kit.

I am sure that sunway tailors their customer retention program accordingly and you may not enjoy the same freebies as i do. I would like to assure you, that the beds are comfy and the service is top notch.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy-KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience with us and are happy that we have been able to contribute towards making your holiday in Hanoi and Sunway Hotel a memorable one. Your comments are a great encouragement to all of us. We will continue to deliver the same excellent service to all our guests as it is a joy & privilege to be able to do this.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi. We’d love to look after you again & your friends who may be coming this way

Yours sincerely,

General Manager – Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.4 mi away
Hanoi Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#102 of 600 in Hanoi
564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#105 of 600 in Hanoi
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#95 of 600 in Hanoi
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#74 of 600 in Hanoi
428 reviews
0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#137 of 600 in Hanoi
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#58 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#64 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £38 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is the first all Club Room concept French Boutique Hotel in Hanoi, with easy access to the capital's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing