We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (923)
Filter reviews
923 results
Traveller rating
256
468
162
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
468
162
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel old quarter lobby bar opera house vietnam tour stayed here for nights the air conditioning breakfast buffet is french quarter comfortable stay halong bay pho hoan kiem lake taxi minibar map asia
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 923 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here with a girlfriend. Booked this trip through a tour agency.

This is a very basic hotel with everything you expect from a hotel - service, cleanliness, food variety for breakfast. Everything was up to standards! We also visited the gym. It was quite empty and there were a few basic machines. The staff there was extremely friendly!

In all, it was a pleasant experience. No complaints about this hotel at all.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minghui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your impression of Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
We are delighted to hear of your pleasant experience and are happy that we have been able to contribute towards making your holiday in Hanoi a memorable one. Your comments are a great encouragement to all of us.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

Yours sincerely
E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Sunway on two separate occasions. We arrived from Saigon on July 20th and stayed for two nights. We had two rooms booked, unfortunately both had view of a brick wall and made the room feel claustrophobic. We did mention it, but it was turned into a joke. Staff were extremely helpful and the checking in process was very speedy. Sometimes it felt though as if staff were too helpful, like at 8.30 in the morning when they rang the bell on the room asking if we had any laundry. The breakfast buffet was alright, nothing special, having travelled for the best part of two weeks by now, this was the least interesting. The coffee was cold and the bread rolls were so hard that it wasn't worth eating them. I had an omelette which was very rubbery and totally overcooked. Perhaps this was because it was a weekend. We checked out on Monday morning to go to Halong Bay and then checked back in on Tuesday night. The breakfast seemed to be a little better midweek, at least the coffee was hot and the bread fresher! Again the staff were very helpful, helping us with taxis etc. and this time after we complained we did get two rooms with a view. What difference this made! The location of the hotel is as far away from the centre of Ha Noi as one can imagine, just as well the cabs are cheap. The surrounding area is fairly remote and we didn't really want to walk outside after dark.
There is a nearby Park and Shopping Centre, but we were discouraged to go there by the hotel staff as only local people would go there. Well, we went anyway and were glad we did. The Park was lovely and the shopping centre was brilliant with a clean and very well stocked supermarket and lots of nice restaurants at the top. All in all our family voted that the hotel was ok, but not really 4*, more like a 3*. We would not stay here again as we really missed not having a swimming pool to cool down in after all the sightseeing. Perhaps we were spoiled by the other hotels we stayed in during our visit to Cambodia and Vietnam.

Room tip: Make sure you don't get the brick wall outside your window!
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Hanoi.
We regret we were not able to live up to all your expectations. However, we thank you for your comments and will take the necessary actions to spur us on to do better for all our future guests.
Your comment about the location is a matter of preference as we have also received comments from guests who prefer the quiet and peaceful location we are in. The renowned Hoan Kiem Lake and the Old Quarter are a mere 25 minutes walk or 5 minutes by taxi.
English is not the first language in Vietnam and hence with this limitation, sometimes staff lack understanding and may give less then accurate advise on shopping etc. However, as you have rightly said, they are helpful.
We thank you again for staying with us and wish you well.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our overnight trip to Halong Bay was cancelled because of a cyclone.....the bay was shut down for 4 days so with time to spare we opted for an extra day in Ha Noi and an extra day In Mai Chau. We also asked for a change of hotel needing more space and more light than our accommodation in the Old Quarter provided. And so we arrived at the Sunway.
The foyer set the tone for our stay. The front office staff were able to direct us to nearby ATM machines. Our room had a fine view across the city and for the first time since our arrival in Vietnam we were able to get a sense of the size of the city and its layout.
After a full day of sight seeing we chose to eat in the hotel and enjoyed a beautifully presented memorable meal in a near empty restaurant. Other guests didn't realise what they were missing.
After such a lovely meal we were curious about breakfast - would we be eating alone? We were surprised to find the restaurant full and the buffet didn't disappoint.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cromwellwandercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
It was indeed a pleasure serving you and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our services, facilities and two excellent meals.

It is our goal to continue to provide this excellent service to all our guests

We thank you and look forward to serving you again soon. Do tell your friends who are coming this way about us so that we can enjoy this same good service

Yours sincerely

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Sunway Hotel for two evenings. We arrived at the hotel at 8.30 a.m., following a long flight from the UK. There were several other parties checking in at the same time, however there were a number of staff available to help speed up the process. Although check-in is not until 2.00 p.m., we were offered an early check-in for $20. Our room was spotlessly clean, extremely sound-proof and very comfortable. Breakfast was impressive – a vast array for all tastes – and all food was of impeccable quality.
I do understand where people are coming from, regarding the location of the hotel. However, as a tourist I enjoyed the steady ‘mooch’ to the Old Quarter – taking in the sights and sounds, and a taxi back was very reasonable.
To conclude a very happy and comfortable two nights at the Sunway, made even more so by the extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StefEverill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

We thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review to Tripadvisor about our excellent service & breakfast. Your comments are a tremendous encouragement to all of us at Sunway Hotel.
We are glad that we have been able to contribute positively towards making your holiday in Hanoi & Sunway a memorable one

Thank you and looking forward to serving you or your friends again soon.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager– Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The location of the hotel is quite far away from the city, but good if you want to have a quite & good rest. The room is just standard, but the breakfast buffet is fortunately excellent. The facilities are reasonable.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write such a good and fair report about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments about the location being quiet and peaceful are spot on although it is a mere 25 minutes walk or 10 minutes by taxi to Hoan Kiem lake & the city. Location is a matter of perspective and preference as you have correctly pointed out.

We are happy that you enjoyed our excellent buffet breakfast spread.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Ecommerce Manager – Sunway Hanoi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews