We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #106 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I loved this hotel! The rooms were big, clean and pretty. The staff at the reception more than friendly and always helpful. I stayed for three nights and cherish the experience. The staff at the reception gave me a map and easy directions how to walk to attractions. It takes 30 minutes to walk to the lake, 35 to Old Town and 35 to the Hanoi Hilton. I took a taxi to go to the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum at 7.30 a.m. because I wanted to be first in line, but I walked back to the hotel after the visit. The breakfast buffet is delicious, especially the selection of fresh fruit. This hotel is as friendly as the people of Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frauke Elisabet... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast buffet and good facility and service.
We are glad to have contributed positively towards your memorable Hanoi holiday in Hanoi.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    367
    129
    18
    10
See reviews for
84
288
49
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very nice hotel just off the main area in Hanoi. Had three nights here.
The breakfasts and other meals we took here were more than adequate and of good quality. All were buffet style so you can have as much or as little as you choose.
Reception and other staff were efficient and cheerful. The hotel is situated just a short walk from the main areas and other amenities.
The downside to this hotel for me was the room smelled damp as if it had not seen proper ventilation for a while. The view from the room window looked onto a neighbouring brick wall. We weren't too bothered as we weren't spending too much time in the room.
Walking out might not be every-one's cup of tea. Pavements are in shocking condition and often blocked by mopeds. Walking into the road requires some care! Not for the faint hearted.
Free wi-fi worked well and was consistent
Not the best hotel we've stayed in but not the worst by a long chalk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeromeozeroone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments on our food, staff and facilities are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated these.

Your comments on the poor condition of the pavements have been noted and we will continue to highlight this to the local authorities for improvement

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our Vietnam tour. This hotel is quiet, away from the main streets and the old town. The service was good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good and lots of varieties, catering for all nationalities, but it can get very busy on 2 morning we had to wait for a table and on the other the restaurant was completely empty. The rooms are adequate, comfortable and clean and good WiFi signal. It was not too far to go to the old town, with a taxi costing about $3, the surrounding areas also have some good local restaurants, but walking the local streets at night can be a challenge.(Wear some sensible shoes) The pavements are not very even and some streets are dark, but not in a bad way, it was peaceful and we had no problems walking out for dinner.
If you have a late night flight as we did, we asked the hotel if we could keep the room on, rather than have to check out at 12:00. We were informed that we could keep the room on until 18:00, but there would be a $60 charge and if we wanted to keep it on until 21:00 when we were to be collected it would cost $120. My wife & I decided rather than pay $60 or $120 we would check out at 08:00 and do a day trip around Hanoi to take in all the sights that we hadn't seen and spend our money that way.
That morning we checked out at 08:00 and informed the reception of our intentions and we would return around 19:00 to take a shower in the spa prior to getting our transfer. We were told that this was not a complimentary service and there would be a $10 fee to use the shower, my wife then stepped in and spoke to the manager, who after some persuading waivered the $10 fee.
I am glad he did because the Spa is in need of some TLC and I would not have been happy if I'd paid $10. One other slight negative about the hotel is there is no swimming pool, having stayed at 3 other hotels in Vietnam with pools we did miss this, so if a pool is an essential must, then perhaps consider somewhere else.

That being said it did not taint our view of this hotel and we would stay here again if we returned to Hanoi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated our buffet breakfast and services.Due to space constraints we are unable to provide a swimming pool. However during winter this is soething that’s often not missed.
We are happy to have contributed positively towards your memorable Hanoi holiday in Hanoi.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights before starting a tour of Vietnam. This hotel was chosen by our tour operator and was a nice surprise. The dining room was lovely, busy for breakfast but able to cope with the many tourists. Food was fresh with a good selection. We also dined in the evening and enjoyed a buffet dinner. We also enjoyed a massage which was good but didn't seem to have private massage rooms. One room, 2 massage tables.
Hotel was a cheap taxi ride from the old quarter but do take the hotels advice on taxi companies. We took a different company by mistake and it ended costing quite a deal more money. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated our good buffet breakfast and dinner, massage service and transportation.
We are glad to have contributed positively towards your memorable Hanoi holiday in Hanoi.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel with Gate 1 tour group. Typical business style hotel with the amenities (wifi, ok breakfast buffet, decent sized rooms, ok air conditioning). Plenty of food choices near hotel - but be aware of traffic and uneven sidewalks. Better to take taxi to old quarter - a long walk otherwise. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Be aware bottled water is only free on first day (you pay for any you take thereafter).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregongirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Guest Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff, good facility and service.
We are glad to have contributed positively towards your memorable Hanoi holiday in Hanoi.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

My son booked us in here for 4 nights as a quick excursion from Hong Kong. Visas cost $45 US each at the airport and you must pay in cash!! Got a taxi from the airport in Hanoi, at a cost of about 550,000 dong, which is around £15-16. Rate we got was 34,000 to the £. Trip took around an hour. Reception staff were very helpful and obliging. We were given adjoining rooms which was great. Rooms were spotless and well equipped. Tea and coffee making facilities which were refreshed every day. Wifi in rooms which was great, you are given a password to use for each person. Maid service every day with clean towels etc, newspaper delivered every morning. The beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, everything possible to eat from cold meats to sushi, cereals, omelettes freshly cooked to order. Lovely service. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night which as a customer of the hotel you are given 50% off the price which was really good. Again the food was excellent, with a good choice all round.
Hanoi city is around 20-25 walk from the hotel or you can get a taxi, but we walked most days as it gave you a real feel for the city. I have never seen so many motorcycles on the road in my life!!! Apparently you have to slowly walk into the roads and let the motorcycles weave around you!! It does work but scarey!!! Some amazing places to visit in Hanoi so get a good map and explore.
We did a daytrip to Halong Bay, you can book through the hotel but we did it in a local shop at a cost of around $45 US each but be warned it is a long way - 4 hours in a minibus then 4 hours on the boat trip then 4 hours back to hotel. The weather wasnt too great that day so glad we only did one day, as it was cold and miserable. Halong Bay was lovely but as I said the weather was a bit iffy, but very enjoyable and glad we went. We tried the Egg Coffee which was lovely but very sweet, and ate the Pho Bo. Lots of coffee bars all over the place.
Would definitely visit Hanoi again the people are great, very helpful too.
We got a taxi back to airport from hotel which cost 650,000 dong, around £18. You can prebook transfers through hotel for a little cheaper but we forgot to do this so make sure you book the night before.
Overall the hotel was fabulous, could not find any faults with it. So thank you to all the staff there for making it a great visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Your comments are great motivation to all of us and we are glad that you appreciated our helpful staff, execellent clean rooms and service.
We are glad to have contributed positively towards your memorable Hanoi holiday in Hanoi.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
E-commerce Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the tail end of our tour. This hotel is really very quiet, away from the main streets and the old town. The service was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They arranged a public taxi for us to the Airport cost us around $15 instead of using the hotel taxi that may $25The breakfast was also very good and lots of varieties. Room size was adequate, comfortable and clean and strong WiFi signal. It was not far to go to the old town with taxi only $3. But the surrounding areas also have some restaurants, but walking the local streets at night could be a challenge. The pavement were not even and dark and some could be deserted. But it was peaceful and we have no problems venturing out for dinner. The Spa in the the hotel need to be improved desperately. To take a shower you need to walk across the Gym after the scrubbing and cover with only a tower, there is no privacy. There is a much much nicer and better facility in a Spa called Saigon Smile Spa, which is about 2 blocks away. Overall, we enjoyed our stayed here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlKo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the facilities, service and the peace and quiet in the rooms which was a result of the double glazed windows.

It has been our pleasure serving you and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Guest Relations Manager.
Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#62 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
#124 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#157 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hanoi La Gare Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
Hilton Garden Inn Hanoi
#81 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#82 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Hanoi

Property: Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Address: 19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#42 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#57 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#65 Family Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi is an award winning international 4-star hotel, with easy access to Hanoi's commercial and business districts. Located at the quiet end of the French Old Quarter, away from the hustle of the busy city and yet only 28km away from the airport, Sunway Hotel Hanoi is also an excellent choice to explore this beautiful city. Together with our style of small yet meaningful personalized service, you will enjoy a pleasant stay with us every time. You are always more than "just business" to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Sunway Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Sunway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing