We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
880 results
Traveller rating
238
450
158
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
450
158
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelold quarterlobby barstayed here for nightsopera housebuffet breakfastfrench quarterhotel restauranttour companycomfortable stayday tourhalong bayclean roomsphocentral locationhoan kiem laketaxi
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 880 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

We stopped at the Sunway for three nights recently and while we enjoyed it, there was room for improvement.

We were greeted by friendly staff at the door on every occasion when entering/leaving the hotel. Upon arrival, one of the staff members took us to the lounge area and made us a cup of coffee. Their english was good and we never had a problem communicating with them.

She sat down with us and showed us all the local places to visit on a map and answered any questions we had.

Our room was lovely and clean, but the view was a wall next door. Obviously there's nothing they could do about that (it is what it is). Certainly not the hotel's fault and it wasn't a major issue for us.

The breakfast was 3/5. It tasted great, but there wasn't much variety.

The location was good too, within 10 minutes walk of the old quarter. Initially we thought it was a bit far away, but it was much quieter than in the busy areas so it worked out well. We didn't mind the walk as it wasn't far.

The room service was the biggest let down. Not the service itself, the quality of food.

We ordered nachos, a sandwich and fries. The nachos basically came as some tortilla chips, with a small amount of guac, salsa and sour cream. Considering it cost nearly £7 we were disappointed. The sandwich and fries were okay but nothing special.

In comparison, the hotel we stayed at in Hoi An provided considerably better quality room service food at the same (slightly lower) cost. That's why there's no excuses with the food quality here.

A lovely stay and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves but room for improvement with the food. Would still recommend to anyone visiting Hanoi

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Chris G,
We would like to extend our gratitude for giving your time to share your experience in Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
All your kind comments are certainly flattering and we are extremely happy that you appreciate our services.
On the other hand, we truly regret to learn that our room service did not meet your expectation. Let me express my sincerest apologize for any inconvenience caused.We greatly appreciate your feedback as such information is vital for us to achieve the standards of service that we strive for.
Please rest assured that your comments have been communicated to our Executive Chef and Kitchen Team so they could look further and and do the best to continue our improvement.
Chris G,Thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to warmly welcome you back to the hotel for a more satisfactory stay.

Kind regards,
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Nothing exceptional, but clean and tidy. Staff are friendly, even though their knowledge of English is sometimes very limited.
The bar has a good choice of drinks and a nice seating area. Drinks are a bit on the expensive side though.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear BartLibert,
Thank you for having spent time sharing your review about the Sunway Hotel Hanoi.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.We appreciate your encouraging comments and feedback.
If at any time you have a suggestion or there is anything we can do to make your next visit more memorable , please let us know via shhn.executive@sunwayhotels.com
Once again we thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you.
Best regards,
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel and was happy with the fast check in service. The front office speaks English and the doorman is very helpful.
Compared to other 4 star hotels I must say that the rooms are a little outdated. Amenities are allright, but the mini bar was empty and since I arrived very late I found this very inconvenient. They put a lot of flyers on the bed, little too much to my opinion.
Overall a good hotel to stay for a night in Hanoi.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Pepijn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Pepijn A,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Hanoi! Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Hanoi.
We are grateful to read that you had an overall enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that you are satisfied with our services. Please rest assured that your comments have been communicated to our Hotel Management Team for a better improvement
Pepijn A,thank you again for sharing your feedback. My team and I hope to warmly welcome you back to the hotel for a more satisfactory stay.

Kind regards,
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

The staffs are very helpful. Room was great. Breakfast was okay. Not many choice for muslims but i was okay with it because they serve fresh croissants and i enjoyed it a lot. The area is also quite. About 15-20 mins walk to the hoan kiem lake.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank ghah29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear ghah29,
We appreciate you have spent time giving us a great review on your recent stay at Sunway Hotel Hanoi
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel facilities and services were up to your expectation
ghah29, thank you very much for your great comments and look forwards to have you back soon for another great stay experience

With warm regards,
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

While touring Vietnam we stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. The bedroom we had was of good size.The bathroom was spacious.. Good central location. Walking distance to the Hanoi Opera House Theatre.The buffet breakfast catered for everybody. So much choice. Staff helpful and polite. The exchange rate we got for exchanging money from £ Sterling was the best we had received all tour.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NitaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelHanoi, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear NitaLancashire,
Thank you so much for your great review for Sunway Hotel Hanoi.

We appreciate your comments and very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the service to the buffet breakfast in our restaurant.

We look forwards to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Hanoi soon.

With warm regards,
The Sunway Hotel Hanoi Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews