We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONT GO THERE AGAIN”
Review of Lake Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lake Side Hotel
Ranked #405 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WONT GO THERE AGAIN”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

location
old quarter is the hub off the city. it is like 5 minutes cab ride away from there. would not prefer to stay there. if u want to do to ha long bay tour. u have to make it to opera house by yourself as all the tour groups only pick u up from old quarter.
expensive
paid 65 aussie dollars for a normal bedroom. not included breakfast.
rooms
big rooms with a nice view but the room smells weird. need a big clean up like a carpet smell.

Room Tip: no swimming pool n gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan K, Manager at Lake Side Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your comment, we will review and improve. As for the old rooms, we are in the progress in refurnishing our rooms, we hope you will have a chance to come again and see our new rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
4
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Large clean rooms, large bath, great service. Older furnishings and Art Deco style but maintained. In room wifi fades on occasion but fixed when you notify front desk. Quiet area with easy access to major attractions. In the Embasies area. Lacks nite life.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Spent 4 nights there on a business trip. Found the room decent and clean, but air conditioner was noisy and not very cold. Could tell that the place was quite old.
Shocked to find a big hole in the wall behind the bedside table, exposing all the loose wiring. Shows the shoddy build quality.
Surprised to find luxury sanitaryware (V&B no less), a sign that this hotel must have been a pretty classy place when it was new. Times have certainly changed.

Would stay again if the price was attractive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is an large, older hotel, the room reflected this with stained carpet and old fashioned wall paper! Otherwise it was comfortable and clean and was close by to our friends house. It is not close to the Hoan Kiem area but taxis are plentiful and are all metered; small taxis are cheaper than bigger ones! Other than eggs, breakfast didn't have much to offer in the hot food range for us as western vegetarians but there was plenty of fruit, yoghurt and toast. Check-in and out was speedy and the hotel has free WiFi and a large convenient foyer. An ideal businessmans hotel and within walking distance of the Lang Ha - Giang Vo Convention Centre. Pity the hotel doesn't have access to the lake, as it is quite a walk around the roads to get to it in order to walk around it!

Room Tip: Rooms with lake views come with a small balcony and are quieter than street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillbreathin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Hotel is in central location, roos are ok, not fncz butclean, WiFi is free, helpful staff, breakfast is included in 66 US$/night,. rated as 4 * hotel, has own shuttle service, has continetal (a little basic) and chinese mornig buffet with ready made eggs and sausages, has also conference rooms available, was my first time in Hanoi, stay was better than I thought, December is a nice time, only 22 - 25 degres C

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I stayed in this hotel together with my mom, aunts and uncle of whom are late fifties and above. We have flown in from Saigon and used this hotel to stay for a night before heading to Halong Bay to stay on the junk cruises. The first night we arrived, even after lowering our expectations, we really wanted to move out to a better hotel. But it was too late. Even then we were already contemplating to look for other hotels to stay when we return for a night after the Halong Bay cruise. Lucky that on our return stay, the rooms given to us seem somewhat newer. The previous rooms were dark and eerie-like. The only plus point is that our rooms had a verandah looking out to the lake. Should you stay here, be prepared for no room service and no restaurant (the one they claim to be a restaurant looks like a make-shift (a function room turned restaurant!). Our breakfast was poor. There were insects flying and landing on the breads and other condiments. The chefs were sitting around the nearby tables chatting away... Oh my...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tye_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Klang
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

I was put up in this hotel for 5 nights by Business associates.

Room: Size OK, air conditioning OK, cleaniness above average, TV programmes OK, overall function OK

Breakfast: Lack of variety, had almost similar choices throughout the five days, found small cockcroaches in 2 of 5 days

Front desk: command average English, friendly, accurate most of the time

Others: Need to pay for internet usage @USD.75/15 minutes. Other camparable hotels are giving free.

Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

  • Liked — Half of those rooms will face the beautiful lake, and these rooms are quiet
  • Disliked — Maybe a little pricier for its class
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kt_malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Kuretake Inn Kim Ma 132
Kuretake Inn Kim Ma 132
#316 of 588 in Hanoi
13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trade Hotel
Trade Hotel
#503 of 588 in Hanoi
5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Luxeden Hotel
Luxeden Hotel
#257 of 588 in Hanoi
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
#200 of 588 in Hanoi
18 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#361 of 588 in Hanoi
24 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
#158 of 588 in Hanoi
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Side Hotel

Property: Lake Side Hotel
Address: 23 Ngoc Khanh Road, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Side Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Side Hotel - A beautiful and peaceful hotel beside the romantic sight of Giang Vo lake. Our hotel is one of the leading hotels in Hanoi. You will be satisfied with our premium services. We recognize that our greatest assets are the continued good will of our customers. We are consistently searching for the best qualified accommodation and excellent service at the reasonable direct to you prices. Staying at Lake Side Hotel, you may be confident that we shall leave no stone unturned to provide you with the comfortable rooms, delightful cuisine and personal attention that you have a right to demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing